PDA

View Full Version : G74SX-NH71 vs. G74SX-AH71



Ralisk
02-26-2012, 05:50 AM
Hi all,
New to buying laptops... soon being deployed and in need of a good gaming laptop.

While browsing through Best Buy looking for ideas I saw an ASUS G74SX-BBK9 which I liked, but I told myself I would look around before I make a rush decision. I've been looking on Newegg for another G74SX model and there are so many... and now I find myself here.

I was about to pull out the wallet and order a G74SX-NH71 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834230142).

But then while looking for any kind of discount code for Newegg I ran across this on Amazon G74SX-AH71 (http://www.amazon.com/Republic-Gamers-G74SX-AH71-17-3-Inch-Gaming/dp/tech-data/B005UUS6MO/ref=de_a_smtd)

I was hoping someone could explain a little more about these models to me, they both seem very good and 40$ difference for 4 more gigs a RAM sounds good.

My goal is to play StarCraft 2 on highest setting 100% of the time if that helps. :)

Thanks,
Ralisk

Gustavo
02-26-2012, 03:30 PM
Can't reply concerning AH-71. However, I do have an opinion concerning NH-71. I like you did much research prior to making my recent purchase of the NH-71, on newegg, surfing for hours I'm sure though many of the same offers you have encountered. My experience led me to the dicission of the nh-71, ram at a difference of $40 should not bea conerning factor as 4GB of ram will only cost $25-$39 depending on brand and retailer.

Read the reviews on NH-71 on newegg. (128 bit VS 192 bit). I was a little concerned about negativity in some of the reviews, but after recieving my machine and playin around a bit, I would attribute most of these to user error. This machine put me in a confortable place for value VS performance, as well as reasonable options for future performance upgrades.

My opinion, the NH-71 will easily handle your goal, straight out box, with a BIG, BRIGHT, 1080p picture. Near future upgrades for me include - Win 7 Ult. to add upto 32 gb ram, SSD ('s) , and Blu-ray.

Out of the box, WEI scores where all 7.2 and better except HDD which was 5.9. This (5.9) is about as good as it gets with a single conventional drive.

Hope this helps with your decission.

Ralisk
02-27-2012, 01:11 PM
Thanks Gustavo! I've been reading a little more and it seems that the AH71 just has more ram. Think I will get that just for the added RAM, just 40 bucks over the NH71 can't beat that in convenience. :)

dogla
02-29-2012, 10:19 AM
Hi, The AH71 also has a 750GB harddrive whereas the NH-71 has 500GB.....I recently bought a AH71 and don't mind not having a BD player, I can eventually buy an external one for $50.

rp33
03-02-2012, 03:41 AM
Does the AH71 also have an extra open bay for a second HDD or SSD? If so, that's a good deal, 250GB HDD and 4GB RAM for $40...I have been considering the NH71 also, but I may take a closer look at the AH71.

ColonelS
03-02-2012, 06:14 AM
yea you can add in SSD / HDD but the thing is I'm not sure does it comes with the additional bracket for you to install another SSD/HDD.. typically it should

correct me if im wrong :/

dogla
03-02-2012, 06:35 PM
Came with everything to mount a second HDD (at least mine did and I was worried about that too). I swapped the original 750GB drive with a 90GB SSD and now Windows boots up in 7sec..... :D

rp33
03-02-2012, 07:00 PM
Would someting like this be big enough for Win7?

I'm going to be using Adobe CS5.5 Production Premium as well, but I will install that to the HDD - just need the SSD for the OS and a few other progs...

Crucial 64GB m4 2.5in SSD SATA
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004W2JKWG/ref=ox_sc_act_title_3?ie=UTF8&m=ATVPDKIKX0DER

BrodyBoy
03-02-2012, 07:28 PM
Would someting like this be big enough for Win7?

I'm going to be using Adobe CS5.5 Production Premium as well, but I will install that to the HDD - just need the SSD for the OS and a few other progs...

Crucial 64GB m4 2.5in SSD SATA
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004W2JKWG/ref=ox_sc_act_title_3?ie=UTF8&m=ATVPDKIKX0DER
Yes....definitely big enough for Windows, and for most people, that's also big enough for most of your program files as well.

dogla
03-02-2012, 08:20 PM
I already used up 45GB of my 90GB SSD (and you know you won't get exactly 90GB so your 64GB will likely end up having only 58GB or something). That 45GB has just been for Win 7 ultimate and the necessary Drivers and apps (no xtra softwares). Dunno what's eaten all the space....

edit:
Oh wow: 12 GB for Hiberfil.sys and 16GB for pagefile.sys......damn....
Can those be moved to the other HDD?

rp33
03-02-2012, 09:39 PM
I've read threads here where people suggest turning off hibernation, and I think moving the pagefile, but someone knowledgeable will have to weigh in on that, I think I'm going to pull the trigger on the AH-71 plus 64GB SSD.

BrodyBoy
03-03-2012, 04:53 AM
I already used up 45GB of my 90GB SSD (and you know you won't get exactly 90GB so your 64GB will likely end up having only 58GB or something). That 45GB has just been for Win 7 ultimate and the necessary Drivers and apps (no xtra softwares). Dunno what's eaten all the space....

edit:
Oh wow: 12 GB for Hiberfil.sys and 16GB for pagefile.sys......damn....
Can those be moved to the other HDD?
Yes...definitely. The pagefile can also just be made much smaller....1-4Gb is plenty.

dogla
03-03-2012, 06:37 PM
Oh wawww, thanx Brody.....I'm back to 60GB free :D
I've put pagefile 4GB on D-drive and disabled Hibernation.... Just wondering, If I look in Disk management I see there's 100MB System Reserved BEFORE my C-drive. Does it actually do something to move it AFTER C? Is that even possible?

BrodyBoy
03-03-2012, 07:16 PM
Oh wawww, thanx Brody.....I'm back to 60GB free :D
I've put pagefile 4GB on D-drive and disabled Hibernation.... Just wondering, If I look in Disk management I see there's 100MB System Reserved BEFORE my C-drive. Does it actually do something to move it AFTER C? Is that even possible?
No, leave it there....during installation, Windows Setup creates that partition puts some system files there (including those F8 recovery files). I believe BOOTMGR is also placed there when systems have that partition. It's only 100Mb, which is nothing in the grand scheme of things....the grand scheme being your 90Gb SSD. ;)

dogla
03-04-2012, 12:44 PM
Ok (y)....