PDA

View Full Version : Gladius II Wireless mode bricked...



Bushmaster78FS
05-02-2020, 05:20 AM
Recent firmware update bricked the RF mode of the mouse. Is there any way I can fix this at home? Or does it have to be sent to ASUS for repairs? I'd rather return to Amazon because who wants to wait on ASUS for days to get this fixed?

Stiglitz26
05-11-2020, 02:19 PM
Any fix for this issue? I just received my brand new Gladius II wireless, what should I avoid into getting into the issue above? I want to use the mouse trouble free.

Bushmaster78FS
05-12-2020, 03:24 AM
I returned it to Amazon and ordered myself a Spatha. Gladius is an awesome mouse but I can't believe how ASUS marketed this product like this with terrible firmware update issues. I'm still an ASUS fan as Spatha is a badass but come on man. So what I'm going to recommend to you is that you avoid automat firmware updates via the Armoury software. Just do whatever is published on the support page. The issue isn't the mouse itself it's the dongle. Dongle gets corrupted and there is no reset switch or special way plugging it to reset the firmware to scratch. There's a chance you may get it corrupted too at some point. Pay a little extra and get a Spatha.

MasterC@ROG
05-12-2020, 03:34 AM
Was the Gladius II wireless plugged in (using the cable) while performing the live update?

Bushmaster78FS
05-12-2020, 06:34 AM
No it was wireless and the update started before I could react as soon as I opened Armoury. It hung up, constantly trying to flash but midway ending and starting over. I made sure I turned off auto update for my Spatha

Stiglitz26
05-12-2020, 07:34 PM
Was the Gladius II wireless plugged in (using the cable) while performing the live update?

So it is safe to update firmware with the cable?

I didnt install anything as this mouse plugged to my ROG G731GU and Armoury Crate already installed in the laptop. No option for auto-update firmware but it does gives the option to check for update.

If the firmware is broken, then I shall make sure the mouse wont get/do any updating of firmware for now.

Bushmaster78FS
05-13-2020, 02:36 AM
Armoury Crate isn't as good as it appears on some other ASUS counterparts compared to my Z370G board. So I stuck with Armoury II and AURA. Previous firmware update had installed just fine but the most recent one messed up the RF dongle. For the firmware update, the software asks you to have the dongle and cable connected. I would avoid the firmware update with Gladius wireless at the moment. You mess up that RF dongle, it is done, there is no way to reset the dongle.

Gofran
05-15-2020, 07:07 PM
Armoury Crate isn't as good as it appears on some other ASUS counterparts compared to my Z370G board. So I stuck with Armoury II and AURA. Previous firmware update had installed just fine but the most recent one messed up the RF dongle. For the firmware update, the software asks you to have the dongle and cable connected. I would avoid the firmware update with Gladius wireless at the moment. You mess up that RF dongle, it is done, there is no way to reset the dongle.

Hey wich version is this
I had update bothe cable way and wirelless all seems fine

And if you go to device manager wich version does it show 1.0.19.0 or 1.0.20.0 even when using spatha

Thanks for checking in advance

Bushmaster78FS
05-16-2020, 04:27 AM
Hey wich version is this

Which version of?


And if you go to device manager wich version does it show 1.0.19.0 or 1.0.20.0 even when using spatha

1.0.20.0

Gofran
05-16-2020, 02:43 PM
so i see version 2.28.32
And when i check for an update it says there is 2.33.37 was this the version was causing an issue for you because mine give me a error use bundle usb and dongle cant not update


Did asus rog remove this Version 2.33.37 or is this mous not updating

Bushmaster78FS
05-20-2020, 02:51 AM
I am not really sure man, I moved on to Spatha. I would say though, if your Gladius is working fine, avoid firmware updates from the Armoury

MasterC@ROG
05-20-2020, 08:53 AM
Gladius II Wireless should be updated with both the dongle and USB cable connected, there should have been a notification. Did this not pop up? Can you recall?

If anyone has this issue, let me know. I will provide the FW directly.


I am not really sure man, I moved on to Spatha. I would say though, if your Gladius is working fine, avoid firmware updates from the Armoury

Gofran
05-20-2020, 12:34 PM
Gladius II Wireless should be updated with both the dongle and USB cable connected, there should have been a notification. Did this not pop up? Can you recall?

If anyone has this issue, let me know. I will provide the FW directly.

it worked i needed to plugin usb also but armoury did not mention it that its needed both connected
the only issue i am having is that i read on places that on device manager Asustek computer inc version is out 1.0.20.0
but i dont have that one can you upload that firmware please because windows is not updating it at all
keeps on 1.0.19.0

thanks in advance

Bushmaster78FS
05-22-2020, 02:40 AM
Gladius II Wireless should be updated with both the dongle and USB cable connected, there should have been a notification. Did this not pop up? Can you recall?

If anyone has this issue, let me know. I will provide the FW directly.

What happened with mine was that as soon as I opened ROG Armoury, it started an update, I then realized that Gladius was in BT mode but FW update had started, no cable warning or anything. Then it got stuck and kept repeating itself, I had to exit out of it and that's when the dongle got bricked. I was able to update the mouse with the cable easily, but couldn't reset the dongle. I love Spatha but Gladius II was awesome.