PDA

View Full Version : Ram upgrad for G1 possible?



Munga
01-06-2011, 12:54 AM
I have a G1-AK024C gaming laptop.....yes its a G1 not a G1s or n or p or any others. Its the original G1 and I am the original owner.

I would like to upgrade my ram from 2 gb to 4gb. I know the motherboard can take it, but the bios won't recognize more than 2 gb.

I am running Win 7 64bit OS, so I know its not an OS issue. When I go to the bios setup, there is no way for me to change ram settings.

I also know ASUS will not be offering a bios update, although that would be nice as numerous people have requested it across the internet. My current bios is G1AI.209.

I have searched for 2 days now on across the internet using google and the asustek forums and cannot find anywhere this is addressed, but was referred here.

Some help would be very much appreciated.

Brian@ASUS
01-12-2011, 09:51 PM
does it show up only as 2Gb in the bios? its possible a memory stick could be bad. i would try the memory 1 at a time in each slot to make sure both are working if its due to a bios limitation im not sure how much we can help you out there but i can try and ask our R&D team.

Munga
01-17-2011, 12:16 AM
I tired that. Shows only 2gb in bios no matter what I have in there - 2 x1gb - 1 x 2gb in either slot or 2 x 2gb. I have heard that some people did this successfully but all those threads on the ASUS forums were deleted and can't find them via google but they were way over a year old. and now I can only find the G1s threads. Wondering if there is any difference b/w the G1 and G1s mb and if maybe the G1s bios will work with the G1.

Mason@ASUS
02-01-2011, 01:35 AM
Have you tried (1 x 1GB stick) + (1 x 2GB stick) for a total of 3GB? Give that a try and let us know how it goes.