PDA

View Full Version : Z590 & Memory Support



Micas
03-12-2021, 04:15 PM
Hello all,

I've just completed building a new system with the Maximus XIII Hero, and I'm having a problem with the memory. I'm using the same kit that worked with the Maximus X. It is 4 DIMMs of G.Skill F4-4133C19-8GTZR. It's not on the QVL list, but similar to G.Skill parts which are on the list. The issue is that the memory works when using 2 DIMMs in single channel, but when trying dual channel, the system fails to post with a code 55. That happens with both standard timings and XMP 1. I've tried all the currently available bios' with the same result. The CPU is a 10700K.

Is there some solution to getting it to work, or will I need to buy a new kit of memory? Quite a bit of cost associated with that. Thanks in advance.

EncodeGR
03-12-2021, 04:31 PM
Hey there, do you have the latest bios flashed ?
Try flashing or even re-flashing (0402) bios, and the do a cmos clear.

Micas
03-17-2021, 09:50 PM
I've not had any success getting the memory to work in dual channel. It doesn't appear that the bios allows re-flashing 0402. Clearing CMOS doesn't help. I've tested each stick individually and they work fine, both standard timings and XMP 1. It works with 2 DIMMS in single channel. It's really quite baffling.

I could buy a new kit from the QVL list, but if there is a flaw in the motherboard, it would be wasted money. The memory should work in dual channel. I have no idea what to do now.

Lotzi
03-18-2021, 11:28 AM
Try this Bios Version from here

https://www.dropbox.com/s/t8l30zudba0amrk/ROG-MAXIMUS-XIII-HERO-ASUS-0610.rar?dl=0

EncodeGR
03-18-2021, 12:10 PM
Try this Bios Version from here

https://www.dropbox.com/s/t8l30zudba0amrk/ROG-MAXIMUS-XIII-HERO-ASUS-0610.rar?dl=0

Is this another Beta Bios (0610) for Maximus XIII Hero ?

I wouldn't recommend flashing anything that is not officially confirmed by ASUS. I mean i don't know, could be just fine. It's just... Last time i tried to upgrade from Bios (0402) and flash the Beta Bios (0603) it completely broke my computer, couldn't even post and had to do a roll back to 0402 with Flashback.

Lotzi
03-18-2021, 02:13 PM
The Bios 0610 runs much smoother then other ones

EncodeGR
03-18-2021, 02:34 PM
The Bios 0610 runs much smoother then other ones

alright i'll give it a try, thanks ! :)

Shamino
03-18-2021, 03:29 PM
it sounds like pin connection issue, reseat the cpu in the socket

Legolas
03-18-2021, 05:39 PM
Hello Micas, I like to provide some tips.
The IMC memory controller on CPU is running at 2933Mhz with CPU so you are actually overclocking when it runs above 2933Mhz.

First of all, DId you buy the F4-4133C19-8GTZR as a dual channel kit or single memory module? Usually the F4-4133C19-8GTZR comes in 2 which is F4-4133C19D-16GTZR
For dual channel, please install A2 and B2. If it doesn't work, please try these steps:
1) run at 2133Mhz with A2 and B2 and see if it works
2) If it works, please try XMP
3) If XMP profile doens't work alone, please keep XMP enable but manually lower the DRAM frequency until it boots properly and no qcode 55
4) If you want to go higher than step 3, for 4133Mhz or higher ,it requires increasing CPU VCSSA voltage to give the processor it needs to boot propery and be stable. If you want to keep the step 3 DRAM frequency if you want less stress on the memory

ThomasRhin
03-24-2021, 06:02 PM
Try this Bios Version from here

https://www.dropbox.com/s/t8l30zudba0amrk/ROG-MAXIMUS-XIII-HERO-ASUS-0610.rar?dl=0

I've flashed this BIOS and the MB runs great. It updates a lot of stuff inside the MB. Can i ask how did you find this updated version of BIOS ?
It doesnt appear in the official support pages of the ASUS website.

Micas
03-25-2021, 10:03 PM
An update on this:

I've tried the suggestions in this thread without success (success being able to run the memory in dual channel). I updated the bios to 0605 without first updating to 0610. I'm not sure the sequence of bios releases and the naming convention. If it is safe for me to try 0610 (assuming it's newer than 0605), I'll do that. 0605 has a lot of firmware updates.

I again tried 2 DIMMs in dual channel using A2 and B2 which failed with code 55 with the memory at 2133Mhz. It also doesn't work with the XMP profile.
I re-seated the CPU without effect. I did see that the bios identified a new CPU was installed, but that's probably due to removing the CPU. I inspected the CPU pins on the MB and they look fine. Seems pretty unlikely that the CPU isn't seated correctly.

With regard to the question of the memory itself, this is the description. I bought 2 identical kits. They worked fine in a Maximus X Hero. I tested each DIMM individually and they're fine.
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 4133MHz (PC4 33000) Desktop Memory Model F4-4133C19D-16GTZR

I'm hesitant to buy new memory from the QVL if the problem really isn't the memory.

Legolas
03-25-2021, 11:18 PM
Hello Micas,

I think you have to test each memory to find out if it is defective or not. Please install each memory at A2 and download memtest86 - https://www.memtest86.com/ find out if there are any errors and repeat same test for the rest of the modules.

ThomasRhin
03-27-2021, 02:40 AM
An update on this:

I've tried the suggestions in this thread without success (success being able to run the memory in dual channel). I updated the bios to 0605 without first updating to 0610. I'm not sure the sequence of bios releases and the naming convention. If it is safe for me to try 0610 (assuming it's newer than 0605), I'll do that. 0605 has a lot of firmware updates.

I again tried 2 DIMMs in dual channel using A2 and B2 which failed with code 55 with the memory at 2133Mhz. It also doesn't work with the XMP profile.
I re-seated the CPU without effect. I did see that the bios identified a new CPU was installed, but that's probably due to removing the CPU. I inspected the CPU pins on the MB and they look fine. Seems pretty unlikely that the CPU isn't seated correctly.

With regard to the question of the memory itself, this is the description. I bought 2 identical kits. They worked fine in a Maximus X Hero. I tested each DIMM individually and they're fine.
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 4133MHz (PC4 33000) Desktop Memory Model F4-4133C19D-16GTZR

I'm hesitant to buy new memory from the QVL if the problem really isn't the memory.

ASUS has just published the newest 0703 beta BIOS . Maybe you can give it a try. Or you can try 1 DIMM first to boot to BIOS. Configure the CAS latency to higher value(for example CL=18) and save it. If sucessful boot ,then install another DIMM for dual channel mode.

Micas
03-30-2021, 08:27 PM
Hello Micas,

I think you have to test each memory to find out if it is defective or not. Please install each memory at A2 and download memtest86 - https://www.memtest86.com/ find out if there are any errors and repeat same test for the rest of the modules.

I installed bios 0703 and tried again. It's still not working. It's quite an odd situation.

I tried the simplest thing first. I tried all 4 DIMMs in A2 alone, which resulted in a post code 55. Then I tried all 4 in A1, again 55. Then I tried one DIMM in B1 and it posted fine. With 1 DIMM in A2, the MB seems to realize that there is a DIMM installed as it cycles through a bunch of numbers. When there are no DIMMs, it goes straight to 55.

I don't know what to make of that. A1 and A2 are failing while B1 and B2 work. Is it really possible that the CPU isn't installed correctly, causing A1 and A2 to malfunction? That a DIMM works in B1 and B2 would seem to indicate the memory is compatible. Everything else with the system works properly. It's just A1 and A2 can't seem to sync up with the installed DIMM.

Very much appreciate the advice.

Falkentyne
03-30-2021, 09:08 PM
I installed bios 0703 and tried again. It's still not working. It's quite an odd situation.

I tried the simplest thing first. I tried all 4 DIMMs in A2 alone, which resulted in a post code 55. Then I tried all 4 in A1, again 55. Then I tried one DIMM in B1 and it posted fine. With 1 DIMM in A2, the MB seems to realize that there is a DIMM installed as it cycles through a bunch of numbers. When there are no DIMMs, it goes straight to 55.

I don't know what to make of that. A1 and A2 are failing while B1 and B2 work. Is it really possible that the CPU isn't installed correctly, causing A1 and A2 to malfunction? That a DIMM works in B1 and B2 would seem to indicate the memory is compatible. Everything else with the system works properly. It's just A1 and A2 can't seem to sync up with the installed DIMM.

Very much appreciate the advice.

Please carefully remove the CPU and inspect both the bottom of the CPU and the socket pins for both damage and foreign material residue. Even if the pins are not bent, artifacts or any kind of foreign particles or substance sitting somewhere can cause problems with training. I had a problem like this with my retail 10900k and Z490 Aorus Master until I very carefully cleaned the entire bottom of the CPU and made sure the socket was free of random thermal paste remnants, then the training worked perfectly.