PDA

View Full Version : network card problem i225-v



boumboum56
03-15-2021, 12:15 PM
Hello,

Following my recent change of equipment, I have lags in full games on warzone (call of duty)
This happens every game randomly in the game and lasts between 3 to 4 seconds or I am frozen and it resumes, my in-game teammates see me "skating".
In addition I very often take control of my remote PC and when I request the bandwidth (video for example) it disconnects me.

So I clearly have a network problem but I don t know where it comes from, I have already tried a few things like updating the network card drivers and its firmware as well as changing my RJ45 cable but it does not change anything ....

I understood that there were problems with the I225V chipset maybe that comes from there?
I specify that my internet box is connected in optical fiber at 10Gb / s.

I saw that it was a network problem and I think it is clearly related to the intel network card i-225v integrated in my motherboard.
Outside of the game I noticed blackouts (only on my pc).

My hardware configuration:

ASUS ROG STRIX Z490 F-GAMING
INTEL I7 10700K
32GO DDR4 CORSAIR 3600
M2 SAMSUNG 980PRO 1TO
M2 SAMSUNG 970 PRO 512 GO
CG : NVIDIA1070 ASUS ROG STRIX

It s really annoying, thank you for your help

MacClipper
03-16-2021, 12:56 AM
Yes, the I225-V can be problematic.

Isolate the issue/s, maybe trying doing the packet loss test 1st.

https://packetlosstest.com/

Legolas
03-18-2021, 05:49 PM
I have some tips for you:
What router do you have?
Please ensure to use Cat 7 or Cat 8 cable from modem ot the router and router to the modem to have extreme low latency and fast performance.
If the router LAN port is 1Gbps, please auto negotiated/full duplex. If you have router's is 2.5Gbps LAN port, please set it to 2.5Gbps/ full duplex. Ensure to have latest drivers 1.0.0.14.
If you done all that and it still have the issue, you can update the firmware https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/04LAN/I225V_Intel_Gigabit_Ethernet_Driver_V1.0.1.4_WIN10 _64-bit.zip

To update firmware, After finishing necessary firmware update, please shut down and unplug the power cord then reboot the system normally. For more information, please refer to the firmware update guide.

dondk1
03-19-2021, 04:48 PM
I have Comcast 1Gbs to my home, had a tech come out today.
we found the following speeds:

To the modem 1400 up/ 100 down tech's equipment
from the modem 1200 up/ 90 down tech's equipment

modem to I225 card 600-650up/42 down varies as low as 450up/down remains constant.

1.0.1.4 driver on the internal port. tried older versions as well.

I am thinking the I225 is ONE of my problems


Now it gets more interesting.

ASUS RT-AC3100 router newest merlin firmware, Merlin internal GUI speedtest modem to router. Tried ASUS stock newest firmware no difference.
420up/42down
from router to PC speedtest 500-600/42 (firefox browser)

cables are all CAT7, have CAT8 ariving today
also have AXS5700 router arriving today to rule out router.
Have a PCIe 2.5 Gb card arriving monday to rule out internal card.

Any suggestions? setting to try?

Legolas
03-19-2021, 05:07 PM
Please ensure to have Asus RT-AC3100 firmware. https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/wireless/RT-AC3100/FW_RT_AC3100_900438641994.zip

Enable QoS on the router by going to General -> Adaptive QoS -> QoS -> Click on Enable "Adaptive QoS" -> Full in the upload and download bandwidth; Upload Bandwidth: 100/ Download Bandwidth: 1500; Adaptive Type; Apply;
See if there is improvement of download/upload performance. I hope that helps!

BarbaRuiva
07-23-2021, 02:13 AM
Just bought an Asus ROG Strix Z590, same problem.

I bet the problem is Intel I225V Ethernet Controller.

https://www.intel.com.br/content/www/br/pt/support/articles/000058758/ethernet-products/gigabit-ethernet-controllers-up-to-2-5gbe.html

https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/articles/000057261/ethernet-products/gigabit-ethernet-controllers-up-to-2-5gbe.html

Nothing works for me. The worst? All of the top Asus MB uses these same Ethernet Controller...

BloodBaron
07-23-2021, 01:30 PM
I set my Speed & Duplex setting vs auto negotiate (1.0gbps full duplex in my case) and I've never had an issue on my Z490-E, driver version reported by device manager is 1.0.2.6 and in Add remote programs it's Intel Network Connections 26.3.0.2