PDA

View Full Version : Asus PG329Q - HDR mode - sudden decrease in brightness



SandMartin
03-24-2021, 03:58 PM
Good day. My monitor in HDR mode suddenly dims 2x after 30 minutes - 2 hours. This time it's always random. And it continues to work with reduced brightness. And it doesn't matter whether you are playing in HDR games or just sitting at your desktop. Switching from gaming HDR mode to console HDR mode and vice versa helps restore brightness.
I wrote to the Russian-speaking technical support. They say that in this way the monitor saves the matrix and the dims time depends on the picture shown by the monitor. They only offered to take it to a service center to increase this time with the help of firmware.
But I am dissapointed by sudden dimss at important moments during the gaming, without any warning message.
The question is, why is this feature of this monitor not indicated anywhere in the instructions and on the website? Is there a way to disable this sudden dims.
My monitor's firmware is currently version 031, RTX3070 Dual OC and Win10 64.
S/N L9LMTF357030

https://i.imgur.com/XPDPuCV.jpeg
https://i.imgur.com/l0gdBMR.jpeg

Alpha23
03-27-2021, 02:21 PM
Hi,

Got V033 firmware on my one and I dont have this issue so it seems it can be fixed with firmware. BUT I have another issue I want to share with you and get your opinion.

I got brightness flickering (randomly) when I activate (Adaptive Sync & HDR & 165Hz & dynamic Brightness enabled (HDR)

This can be seen very easy by playing RDR2 or Cyberpunk 2077.

The following changes will better the situation:

1. disable Adaptive Sync
2. lower frequency to 144Hz
3. disable HDR "dynamic brightness" option

I bought a new DP 1.4 cable (even when monitor only supports 1.2) but issue is not the Asus cable.

It seems HDR is still an issue even with firmware v033. (or these issues are display panel related?)

walishah3211
03-27-2021, 07:59 PM
Check capacitors of your monitor brightness always issue when capacitors are damaged

Alpha23
03-28-2021, 01:21 PM
Thanks for notice --> I returned my one about the reported issue for RMA.

Static
04-05-2021, 03:09 PM
Hey Sandmartin,

I noticed you from the this thread

https://linustechtips.com/topic/1266691-hdr-issues-on-a-asus-rog-swift-pg329q-update/page/2/

Thanks for posting this here. I'm having the exact same issue. Can the firmware be updated by me or is this something that has to be done by Asus? It's a brand new monitors less than a few weeks old.

also @Alpha23:

Hey man, I have the same exact issue. I have to turn the refresh rate down to 144hz or turn of dynamic dimming. I too, tried a certified VESA dp 1.4 without no change. I posted about it on Reddit in this post

https://www.reddit.com/r/ASUS/comments/mhksdp/pg329q_165hz_hdr_dynamic_dimming_horrible/

So far, the only fix is exactly what you outlined, lower the refresh rate. On mine, if I lower the refresh rate I can keep G-Sync and Dynamic dimming on. But honestly, I'm really thinking about returning this monitor. It cost a lot of money to be having this many issues.

At anyrate, hope to hear from you guys soon. Thanks for making people aware of this issue. For reference, I included the below links to others having our issues

https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?122797-Asus-PG329Q-dimming-automatically

https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?121717-ROG-Swift-PG329Q-Dynamic-Dimming-issues-and-Display-Widget-not-working&p=820829#post820829

Alpha23
04-09-2021, 07:17 AM
HI Static,

Yes based on so many ??? marks I had and so far no other's had reported these issues in detail I returned the monitor for a full refund.

Currently it is not known if it is a HW or SW issue but based on Samsung's Odyssey G7 HDR flickering issue after mid of last year release (took them 5 month to fix finally) with firmware I don't want to wait so long......

So I switched to Samsung Odyssey G7 meanwhile and have to say this would have been the better choice from the start. Offers 240Hz, DP1.4 and HDR 10Bit and with November released firmware 1009.3 "zero issues with HDR flickering or anything else" :-)

To let a new display to customers in this condition is not acceptable. unless it is really a specific error only a few panels have.

So you can wait and hope or....

Have a nice day.

Blake@ROG
04-12-2021, 08:04 AM
Hello Martin,
I haven't see any repair record in the system.
Are you planning to send the monitor to our service center?
Please PM me your RMA number if you get one, I can track your case by it.

Hello Static,
May you share a video of the issue?
I will consult more about it.
Thank you.

Static
04-12-2021, 08:53 PM
Hello Martin,
I haven't see any repair record in the system.
Are you planning to send the monitor to our service center?
Please PM me your RMA number if you get one, I can track your case by it.

Hello Static,
May you share a video of the issue?
I will consult more about it.
Thank you.

Thanks Blake... I'm thinking I may just send the monitor back and be done with it. It's an amazing monitor when it works but there are forum post after forum post of the issue and ASUS is asking for videos. How am I going to show you a video when it happens randomly? The monitor on its own, goes dim out of nowhere. I would be sending you a video of a dark screen and you would tell me to brighten the settings when it's not a settings issue. I have to turn the monitor off, or switch HDR from games to movie, back to Games for it to work again properly. It's outlined in this very forum post as well as the linustech tips forum link I linked in this post. I really do truly appreciate you reaching out to me on this, I do. But I think it's too late. I've been an asus rog supported for over a decade, proudly, but this is unacceptable. I've owned several asus rog motherboards and monitors through the years (currently still use asus rog products daily) but unfortunately for the price of this monitor I just don't have time to keep going back and fourth about it. I've contacted support and support asked me to return it to the retailer. Thank you again for reaching out. Maybe this will somehow help the future buyers of the PG329Q. Also, incase you weren't aware, the monitor at 165hz and above flickers with dynamic dimming on and off. I believe this to be a limitation of bandwidth over the 1.2 DP.

Blake@ROG
04-15-2021, 06:04 AM
Hello Static,
I know the dim is random, but I was hoping if there is a chance to capture the issue since it happens quite often as you describe.
After knowing your setting by word, and see how the issue is for real, then I may try to reproduce the issue myself and not mislead the issue.
But anyway, thank you for the feedback, I will record your case and continue to dig in.
If you still have the record of your SN, please PM me.
Thank you very much.

Blake@ROG
04-16-2021, 08:02 AM
Thanks for notice --> I returned my one about the reported issue for RMA.

Hello Alpha23,
May you PM me your RMA number?
Thank you.

Alpha23
04-24-2021, 07:44 AM
Hi Blake,

Thanks for the offer to support but I exchanged the monitor meanwhile with another manufacture. Retailer will probably return to ASUS itself for RMA .

Regards

Blake@ROG
04-26-2021, 09:14 AM
Hello Alpha23,
Got it.
Thank you for the information.

Raven9908
06-02-2021, 02:02 AM
I'm having this same exact problem, I see this Thread is from over a month ago. I wanted to check and see if there is going to be a fix for this.

kenrom
06-26-2021, 06:03 PM
hey guys how do you enable HDR on the monitor?

Raven9908
06-26-2021, 08:49 PM
hey guys how do you enable HDR on the monitor?


In system setup you set it to 1.2HDR mode and then there is a toggle in WIndows HD color settings, your graphics card has to support it as well.

kenrom
06-27-2021, 03:03 PM
In system setup you set it to 1.2HDR mode and then there is a toggle in WIndows HD color settings, your graphics card has to support it as well.

ok, i was under the impression the monitor had HDR built-in which has to be enabled via the OSD menu?

Raven9908
06-27-2021, 03:11 PM
Yes the System Setup is in the OSD Menu and you set the display port to 1.2HDR

vulcanmist
07-02-2021, 08:55 AM
I also have the same problem that I just noticed today when watching a movie in Amazon Prime Video. I wonder how this can be solved.

kenrom
07-17-2021, 01:01 PM
Yes the System Setup is in the OSD Menu and you set the display port to 1.2HDR

what next?

only time HDR works on the monitor is when i do it via windows display settings. my goal is to turn it on via the monitor itself

Alvez@asus
07-21-2021, 03:41 AM
Hi vulcanmist
May I know the model name is the same?
Which version of your firmware?

Share FAQ for your reference:
Q1. After using the HDR function for a while, why does the brightness of the display become darker ?

A1: This is the normal situation. The display will be a way to protect the device because of the different using environment and different devices connected.

To protect the display and avoid overheating and depletion of the backlight module of the display panel, there is such mechanism to extend the life of the panel.



Q2. Can the HDR protection mechanism be turned off ?

A: It cannot be turned off. To avoid overheating and depletion of the backlight module of the display panel, there is such mechanism for extending the lifespan of the panel.

BigJohnny
07-21-2021, 04:06 AM
That almost sounds like backlight going out for what reason is another story. My PG35VQ works great at HDR1000, Gsync ultimate and 200Hz. No issues at all. Has to be model specific and my guess would be more in the components. What I do like about mine is I was able to update the firmware myself even though I didnt have issues just did it anyhow. Was pretty straight forward. Just had to have DP plugged in only, nothing else, and monitor set to never sleep. Took almost two hours to complete though.