PDA

View Full Version : ASUS APEX XIII CPU and RAM ERRRROR



landrynka
04-28-2021, 01:21 PM
Hi, let me start with this, I have an Asus APEX XIII. The problem is that I turned up the processor to 5.0GHZ at 1.35.
Why doesn't it keep these MHZs all the time and why CPU-Z shows 1.488V?


My processor is 10900k and Kraken x73.

What's more, I can't go down with delays below 40ns ....

Any suggestions ?88521

thomas_yiu@ROG
04-29-2021, 03:40 PM
Hello Landrynka,

How you use AI overclocking or manually change CPU ratio and set manual CPU Voltage to 1.35V?

Thomas

landrynka
04-29-2021, 04:16 PM
Hello Landrynka,

How you use AI overclocking or manually change CPU ratio and set manual CPU Voltage to 1.35V?

Thomas


I manually changed the coefficient. (50x and voltage 1.35)
You asked a good question ... Because even after manually overclocking to 5000mhz under stress (gaming) the computer does not keep the 5000mhz. It only jumps at 4300mhz, 4500mhz.
Probably some functions in the bios are wrongly set?

Shamino
04-29-2021, 05:02 PM
Please flash latest bios
https://www.overclock.net/threads/overclocking-11700k-11900k-results-bins-and-discussion.1777365/post-28784139

landrynka
04-29-2021, 06:10 PM
Please flash latest bios
https://www.overclock.net/threads/overclocking-11700k-11900k-results-bins-and-discussion.1777365/post-28784139




I updated:):)
By memory the ram worked.
But on spikes in voltage, when playing bfv it jumps from 5000mhz set to 4700, then 4400 and so on over and over again.
The temperatures are okay so they are not causing these clocks to drop ...

thomas_yiu@ROG
04-29-2021, 07:10 PM
Hi landrynka,
Did the processor frequency is still lower than 5000Ghz?
DId you run power options to High performance?

landrynka
04-29-2021, 07:27 PM
Hi landrynka,
DId you run power options to High performance?


Hi,
So it helped !!! Super thank you superman

thomas_yiu@ROG
04-29-2021, 07:59 PM
Hi,
So it helped !!! Super thank you superman
Hello landrynka,

You're super welcome.
Thomas

Silent Scone@ROG
04-30-2021, 06:32 AM
Hi, let me start with this, I have an Asus APEX XIII. The problem is that I turned up the processor to 5.0GHZ at 1.35.
Why doesn't it keep these MHZs all the time and why CPU-Z shows 1.488V?


My processor is 10900k and Kraken x73.

What's more, I can't go down with delays below 40ns ....

Any suggestions ?88521

CPU-Z Displays the VID which represents the voltage the CPU believes it's receiving. Use HWInfo or a suitable monitoring tool to monitor the Vcore.


On the Apex you may want to try running Command Rate 1 to help reduce latency. You may likely need to increase DRAM voltage in order to find stability, however.

landrynka
04-30-2021, 07:00 AM
That's right HWInfo shows the correct parameters .

Success. because it managed to reach 39.5ns. However, Command Rate 1 does not get up even at 1.6v (1.35 / 1.35)


And you know how to speed up the ROG login screen. Not widonws! ??

Silent Scone@ROG
04-30-2021, 07:08 AM
That's right HWInfo shows the correct parameters .

Success. because it managed to reach 39.5ns. However, Command Rate 1 does not get up even at 1.6v (1.35 / 1.35)


And you know how to speed up the ROG login screen. Not widonws! ??

You can enable Fast boot to avoid retraining the memory, this should decrease POST time.

Be sure to try both XMP profiles 1 and 2. Often, XMP II timings will be slightly looser depending on the memory kit. If you check within the UEFI or memtweakit, you'll see a difference in memory subsets.

XMP I - Board optimised timings

XMP II - Default XMP timings

If 1T at 4GHz is unobtainable you might want to dial back to a frequency that is if latency is important to you.

landrynka
04-30-2021, 08:28 PM
I'm coming back after testing .. and unfortunately cr1 is not runnable in any of the cases. BSDOS when logging in windows ..
I don't get up on XMP I and XMP II ....
Voltage changes do not help anything, so rather it stays at a stable 4000mhz

Mappi75
04-30-2021, 09:05 PM
Got the Apex XIII with 10900K SP100 CPU with 32GB G.Skill 3800 CL14 Kit.

On the Maximus Extreme XII & the Godlike Z490 i can run this KIT @4300 16-16-36 - now i cant run over 4000 Mhz stable.
Tried 3 different mem kits...

Whats the problem?

bscool
04-30-2021, 09:30 PM
Got the Apex XIII with 10900K SP100 CPU with 32GB G.Skill 3800 CL14 Kit.

On the Maximus Extreme XII & the Godlike Z490 i can run this KIT @4300 16-16-36 - now i cant run over 4000 Mhz stable.
Tried 3 different mem kits...

Whats the problem?

Similar experience I could run single rank b die over 5000 and 4533c18 DR b die on z490 Apex/11900k. Now on z590 Apex with same cpu and mem I cannot boot 4533 DR or 5000+ SR.

Silent Scone@ROG
05-01-2021, 06:54 AM
Got the Apex XIII with 10900K SP100 CPU with 32GB G.Skill 3800 CL14 Kit.

On the Maximus Extreme XII & the Godlike Z490 i can run this KIT @4300 16-16-36 - now i cant run over 4000 Mhz stable.
Tried 3 different mem kits...

Whats the problem?



What Q-Code?
The common denominator is likely using a previous generation CPU on a next gen board. Optimisations and auto rulings when pushing limits to the very edge as you are doing are often with current gen in mind for obvious reasons.

bscool
05-01-2021, 04:48 PM
I will have to look next time I try what the q code is.

I could run higher speeds with the 11900k in the Z490 Apex. So it would be the opposite of what you said or am I misunderstanding?

Edit: Just tried the SR b die@5066 with manual timings and voltages that ran with 11900k in z490 Apex and it goes thru the boot cycle then shut down and restarts and repeats. I have tried all kinds of timings and voltages. It is not a big deal just thought it was interesting that speed that worked on z490 with the 11900k do not run on the newer z590 using all the same components except MB.

Silent Scone@ROG
05-02-2021, 07:03 AM
I will have to look next time I try what the q code is.

I could run higher speeds with the 11900k in the Z490 Apex. So it would be the opposite of what you said or am I misunderstanding?

Edit: Just tried the SR b die@5066 with manual timings and voltages that ran with 11900k in z490 Apex and it goes thru the boot cycle then shut down and restarts and repeats. I have tried all kinds of timings and voltages. It is not a big deal just thought it was interesting that speed that worked on z490 with the 11900k do not run on the newer z590 using all the same components except MB.

Was replying to the post above. 5K is tough. Hard to say when not comparing sub timings. Q-Code should should help determine where to to start looking.

kvarq
05-09-2021, 06:45 AM
Please flash latest bios
https://www.overclock.net/threads/overclocking-11700k-11900k-results-bins-and-discussion.1777365/post-28784139

which bios is best for XIII and 10900K?

I got this Asus Apex XIII motherboard, paired with a 10900K...

I hoped to have something nice and high end but I'm having nothing but problems.
I installed the motherboard and I had a terrible week-end.

Before I had Apex XII paired with a 10900K - everything was ok, but I decided to upgrade to XIII, unfortunately this week-end I spent testing and retesting and so on, system is crashing no matter I was doing.

I tried different bios versions: 0506, 0605, 0707 even 0801 - still having lots of restarts, system gets stuck, 7F errors and others and stuff...
Sometimes when restarting, computer gets stuck having the 7F error, tried everything, reseated the CPU, Graphics card , nothing, BUT removing battery worked, and system finally restarted, but in the end the simplest solution is something from the past I remembered, to power down completely the computer and hold the power button at least for a minute and then power it up again...
While trying different older bios versions I could run benchmarks for a longer time.

And yes, apparently I can't play anything... Red Dead Redemption 2, Cyberpunk, 3D mark benchmarks, everything crashes...
Installed all bios versions available, tried different drivers, reinstalled windows even, nothing, still crashes and restarts suddenly.
Even if everything is DEFAULT in bios, not even XMP activated...
While crashing I keep getting a Kernel Power 41 error - it seems something is pulling to much power or not enough I am not sure.

Using the same components on the Asus XII system everything was ok.

It's quite frustrating, I don't know anymore what to do...

Asus XIII Apex
10900K
F4-4000C19D-32GTZKK
3090 KingPin
970 Evo Plus 2TB
Seasonic 850W Titanium
SoundBlaster Z

Edit:
since I'm having also 7F errors during some restarts, might be some kind of power / graphics card stuff...
I noticed an additional power connector, didn't know if this was optional for extreme OC (which I'm not doing by the way)...
https://i.postimg.cc/BtMPCfLh/power.png (https://postimg.cc/BtMPCfLh)

Anyways... I plugged also the power connector labeled D, apparently I could play RDR2 for almost three hours without any crash/restart!

So this means that there is mandatory to connect this one? Are there any re-routing circuits on this motherboard?
I thought this was optional, but apparently for a 3090 needs to be connected.
I don't know if this really solves the issue, but clearly has been an improvement so far.

But in the end, bios still needs some serious work... on the ram side, PCI-E, power side, video cards...
Saw lots of users using Z590 with 10900K.

kvarq
05-13-2021, 06:09 AM
Yeah, so played a lot last few days, no crashes at all... Apparently that extra connector helped. Don't know what they did here, on apex XII that connector wasn't there and I had no issues at all, same components were working just fine.
And yeah, noticed something else (also knew that from previous generations) - if the Aura is ON, additional 0.02V are required for the VCore :)
Since I did lots of tests the past week-end, reinstalled all kind of stuff and switching bios versions, once I forgot to turn off the lights, did a fast linpack test and failed with a voltage which has been good many times before, noticed the lights were on, turned them off, then it was ok, passed it :)

The only annoying thing is that now when I turn on the computer from time to time it just jumps into 1 second loop, like an endless restart, and does stays forever in that loop, it's just powering up for a bit then turn off, then restart again. If I'm turning off the computer from the power button the loop continues.
I've been reseating again the cpu, video card, M2 dimm, DDR4 etc nothing.
The ONLY workaround is to remove the battery or to power off the power supply and keep the power button for 1 minute.
It's weird.

Officially F4-4000C19D-32GTZKK and F4-4266C17D-32GTRSB are not yet on the QVL...
I don't think in that second the computer has some time to do some checks & posts, because I see no error codes on that QCode led etc.

Is the board faulty or BIOS still needs some serious work?

@Silent Scone@ROG, @Shamino, any hints?
Thank you

landrynka
05-13-2021, 07:54 PM
The only annoying thing is that now when I turn on the computer from time to time it just jumps into 1 second loop, like an endless restart, and does stays forever in that loop, it's just powering up for a bit then turn off, then restart again. If I'm turning off the computer from the power button the loop continues.
I've been reseating again the cpu, video card, M2 dimm, DDR4 etc nothing.
The ONLY workaround is to remove the battery or to power off the power supply and keep the power button for 1 minute.
It's weird.




I have the same problem with this loop ... Sometimes it shows up, sometimes it doesn't. Turning off the power supply helps. But it makes no sense?
Some solution ?

kvarq
05-15-2021, 06:54 AM
Good to know, you are the third one so far then, so I'm definitely ruling out board being faulty. Well, it is faulty, but by design, not having a bad copy or so.
Anyways, I did some Port Royal runs, no matter what I do now I can't go over with Apex XIII 14700 points, with Apex XII I had 15300 (https://www.3dmark.com/pr/923459), having the exact same settings etc...

In the end I can conclude this: Apex XIII is a BIG FAIL this time, compared to XII 3D performance is lost and from time to time stability.
With 11900K is a lot WORSE, so I'm keeping the 10900K.

So sorry I thrown money down to the toilet with this board, well, such is life.