PDA

View Full Version : Maximus 13EG and Samsung 980 pro



Hopper64
05-16-2021, 02:41 AM
Just built a M13EG with 11900K and a Samsung 980 pro. The read and write speeds are about half what they should be. about 3500. Its likely due to the Gen3 x4 rather than Gen4 x4 that Im seeing in magician. My question is how to enable Gen4? I have the drive installed in the DIMM.2_1 port. I went through the bios, advanced, onboard devices and found a few settings there but it made no difference. Still on Gen3 which in all likelihood makes a difference in benchmarks only. But I would still like to switch it to Gen4 if possible. Is there a setting in the bios Im missing? Thanks!

KotOr368
05-16-2021, 07:40 AM
Hey man. just look into manual, you find that DIMM.2 only support Gen3.

Hopper64
05-16-2021, 08:53 AM
Ah. Missed that. Guess I’ll try one of the other m.2 slots. Thanks!

DjRavix
05-16-2021, 10:55 PM
Ah. Missed that. Guess I’ll try one of the other m.2 slots. Thanks!

the 3 slots on the board are all Gen 4
If you want to run your GPU at x16 you need to use the top slot (M.2 3 I believe)
in your case this will be the one that is also cooled by the monoblock

Hopper64
05-17-2021, 01:09 AM
the 3 slots on the board are all Gen 4
If you want to run your GPU at x16 you need to use the top slot (M.2 3 I believe)
in your case this will be the one that is also cooled by the monoblock

Thanks. I completely missed the Gen4 designation in the manual of course. I had a couple of reservations about using the other m.2 slots. Having the m.2 in the DIMM.2 just allows the device to be popped out in case of a problem so access was one thing plus I thought thermals would probably be better too. I have intake fans blowing down right on the DIMM.2. I didn€™t want to use the m.2_3 just due to the access issue. Didn€™t like the idea of having to take the whole MB out of the case and remove the mono block if there was a problem.

I tried using the m.2_1 right under the first PCIe x16 slot but the bios didn€™t recognize the drive. Haven€™t figured out why yet. Still working on that one.

My graphics card is running Gen4 x16 currently with the DIMM.2_1 occupied.

Thanks for your feedback. Coming from x299 there are limitations I€™m getting used to.*

DjRavix
05-17-2021, 12:22 PM
Thanks. I completely missed the Gen4 destination in the manual of course. I had a couple of reservations about using the other m.2 slots. Having the m.2 in the DIMM.2 just allows the device to be popped out in case of a problem so access was one thing plus I thought thermals would probably be better too. I have intake fans blowing down right on the DIMM.2. I didn’t want to use the m.2_3 just due to the access issue. Didn’t like the idea of having to take the whole MB out of the case and remove the mono block if there was a problem.

I tried using the m.2_1 right under the first PCIe x16 slot but the bios didn’t recognize the drive. Haven’t figured out why yet. Still working on that one.

My graphics card is running Gen4 x16 currently with the DIMM.2_1 occupied.

Thanks for your feedback. Coming from x299 there are limitations I’m getting used to.Â*

If I recall correctly there are some settings for this in the Bios
You have the options to set x16 / x8 + x8 / x8 + x4 + x4
The last one also has 2 options that allow the 2nd Full size PCIe on x4 or enable both m.2 slots
it's somewhere in the advanced tab in the bios

I kinda get that m.2_3 might be a bit of an issue to get to but then again my experience with Samsung SSD's is that they never cause issues
and basically never need to be removed

I Currently have 3 980 Pros Running on my Maximus XIII Extreme
Still looking into what I am going to put into my Dimm.2 :D

Hopper64
05-17-2021, 12:32 PM
If I recall correctly there are some settings for this in the Bios
You have the options to set x16 / x8 + x8 / x8 + x4 + x4
The last one also has 2 options that allow the 2nd Full size PCIe on x4 or enable both m.2 slots
it's somewhere in the advanced tab in the bios

I kinda get that m.2_3 might be a bit of an issue to get to but then again my experience with Samsung SSD's is that they never cause issues
and basically never need to be removed

I Currently have 3 980 Pros Running on my Maximus XIII Extreme
Still looking into what I am going to put into my Dimm.2 :D

This thing is working so well even with the Samsung pro in the DIMM.2 at gen3 I'm not even worried about it. I might look at changing it when I reinstall windows when 21h1 comes out. The difference in Gen3 and Gen4 on these is of course negligible. Thanks for your help. :)

Saltgrass
05-17-2021, 02:06 PM
The difference in Gen3 and Gen4 on these is of course negligible. :)

What? Twice the speed is not worth it? I must be misunderstanding the statement.

DjRavix
05-17-2021, 03:20 PM
What? Twice the speed is not worth it? I must be misunderstanding the statement.

He needs to drain his loop to change this ... it's a lot of work
if he wants to access the M.2_1 or M.2_2 slots he will need to remove his GPU ... since the GPU has an EK block means draining the loop to remove it
if he wants to install it in M.2_3 he needs to take out the complete board to remove the Mono block

I personally would in this case only do this if I were to add 2 other 980 Pro's to the board
at that moment one would need to take the loop apart anyway to access the 2 slots on the board and that might be a good time to move the other one over

or when he is doing maintenance of the loop

the loop sometimes makes things a bit more complicated ... but then again ... it will make everything run at lower temps

Hopper64
05-17-2021, 08:46 PM
What? Twice the speed is not worth it? I must be misunderstanding the statement.


Benchmarking will show a huge difference. Routine daily stuff should be no real difference. *


*https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2NKnPTkRY2w