PDA

View Full Version : Max XI F: BIOS 1902 issues with XMP



BizSAR
07-21-2021, 07:05 AM
After flashing BIOS 1902 or 1903 on my Maximus XI Formula, if I set it to utilize XMPI or II, the platform makes a number of attempts to boot, then boots into BIOS safe mode. I'm able to reproduce this even with all other BIOS settings at default.
Flashing back to 1802, I have no issues.
CPU: i9-9900KF
Memory: Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer RGB 3000 MHz, 4 x 8GB CL15 BLT8G4D30AET4K
Can provide more stats if needed.

Jed2021
07-27-2021, 02:06 AM
After flashing BIOS 1902 on my Maximus XI Formula, if I set it to utilize XMPI or II, the platform makes a number of attempts to boot, then boots into BIOS safe mode. I'm able to reproduce this even with all other BIOS settings at default.
Flashing back to 1802, I have no issues.
CPU: i9-9900KF
Memory: Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer RGB 3000 MHz, 4 x 8GB CL15 BLT8G4D30AET4K
Can provide more stats if needed.

Same issue here, but on Maximus Hero XI , on both XMPI & II and thus far even trying to manually set my RAMs clocks causes the same behavior.

I have 4x8GB of TridentZ RGB F4-3000c16D-16GTZR RAM that says XMP 2 right on the stick, as well as a I9-9900k.

The timings that are set automatically by the board w/o selecting XMP are below the specs the sticks are rated for. No issues up until now. I also see with a curious search for "ASUS XMP" on Reddit/Google that other ppl seem to have been having similar issues with other boards in the last couple months, and seeing as we are the last to get this BIOs version (AFAIK) it might be a common thing. I'm not holding my breath on a speedy fix.

ibushovskiy
08-04-2021, 08:49 AM
Ladies and gentlemen, please check 1903 BIOS and my thread. I belive Asus has fixed issues with voltage and XMP profiles https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?125128-1903-BIOS-ROG-MAXIMUS-XI-series&p=839893#post839893

BizSAR
08-08-2021, 07:01 PM
Nope, issue still exists exactly the same here. :( Guess I'll try and contact ASUS at this point.

vvoid
08-15-2021, 02:03 PM
Just to be clear, you guys say 1901 hasn't had this issue, but 1902/03 does?
I'm asking because I'm running on 1901 since its release and apart from slightly different memory timings I don't really have any issues. I probably shouldn't update to 1903 then?

klepp0906
08-15-2021, 07:24 PM
not those bios' as i use a X formula but starting with the beta/resize'able bar bios ive had to drop my ram from 3466 to 3200 to maintain stability. Ive ran 3466 for literally years without so much as a hiccup.

started getting random memory corruption blue screens and macrium images began failing verification.

BizSAR
08-15-2021, 10:53 PM
Just to be clear, you guys say 1901 hasn't had this issue, but 1902/03 does?
I'm asking because I'm running on 1901 since its release and apart from slightly different memory timings I don't really have any issues. I probably shouldn't update to 1903 then?
I didn't try 1901 since it was a beta, then pulled.

vvoid
08-16-2021, 04:24 PM
See my thread on this. Are you sure it isn't just because of having TPM configured to "Discrete TPM". This doesn't work anymore, at least for my settings.

BizSAR
08-16-2021, 04:33 PM
There is no "Discrete TPM" setting for the Maximus XI Formula. TPM is enabled in 1903, but for me, this issue occurs regardless of the TPM/PTT settings.

vvoid
08-16-2021, 06:46 PM
Well ok, I was assuming all the Z390 boards have this setting, Strix Z390-F here.
For me it's under PCH-FW Configuration in Advanced settings...

BizSAR
08-23-2021, 01:01 AM
Well ok, I was assuming all the Z390 boards have this setting, Strix Z390-F here.
For me it's under PCH-FW Configuration in Advanced settings...
All the Maximus XI Formula has is a PTT setting and you can either enable it or disable it.
The issue we are seeing occurs regardless of the PTT setting.

ASUS is asking to RMA my board, but if it works perfectly fine using the 1802 BIOS, I see no point.

Anyone else have any luck with them?

Silent Scone@ROG
08-23-2021, 07:18 AM
After flashing BIOS 1902 or 1903 on my Maximus XI Formula, if I set it to utilize XMPI or II, the platform makes a number of attempts to boot, then boots into BIOS safe mode. I'm able to reproduce this even with all other BIOS settings at default.
Flashing back to 1802, I have no issues.
CPU: i9-9900KF
Memory: Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer RGB 3000 MHz, 4 x 8GB CL15 BLT8G4D30AET4K
Can provide more stats if needed.

The board is failing training because the applied memory presets are unstable. What Q-Code does the board hang on?

X-Terminus
08-25-2021, 09:31 PM
Hello all, I've been writing this in 3 different threads. I hope this is the right thread.

Silent Scone, please take a look at this issue.

I have Maximus XI Extreme, Intel i9-9900K. I can confirm that XMP doesn't work on this BIOS 1903, whether it's XMP I, or II. I use Trident Z Neo F4-3600C18Q-128GTZN. XMP used to work just fine in 1704, which is the version I used before I updated to 1903. Whenever I tried using the XMP, it always POSTs in safe mode, instead of a normal POST.

This RAM that I have, while not on QVL in my mobo's QVL list, it's QVL in GSkill's website. Also, the fact that in BIOS 1704, both the XMP I and II profile work perfectly with no issues at all, shows that this BIOS 1903 is the problem.

This is GSkill's website that lists it as QVL:
https://www.gskill.com/qvl/165/326/1582266217/F4-3600C18Q-128GTZN-Qvl

BizSAR
08-25-2021, 10:21 PM
@X-Terminus

That's the exact issue I and others are having. I submitted a support ticket for the issue and am working with the support folks on reproduction, etc. I'd suggest submitting a support ticket, that way ASUS can see how many people are having the same issue and help us. They have been really responsive and helpful, after a few mis-steps.

I'll post updates on the issue as I have them.

Silent Scone@ROG
08-26-2021, 07:54 AM
The board is failing training because the applied memory presets are unstable. What Q-Code does the board hang on?

Hello,

Without basic information like this replication will be harder. Make sure you provide the Q-Code. If the board is failing POST stress tests, regardless of the values that are causing signal margins to encroach on one another, the overclock is unstable - that's the short answer.

BizSAR
08-26-2021, 08:16 AM
The board is failing training because the applied memory presets are unstable. What Q-Code does the board hang on?

When the issue is occurring, the system will start to boot, the orange light stays on, a click is heard and the system tries to POST again. This repeats for 3(4?) times and eventually starts in BIOS safe mode. When the click is heard and the system starts/tries to POST again, the Q-codes go by so quick it is hard to tell. They don't stop long enough to see and it's hard to tell upon which exact code it would be.

Silent Scone@ROG
08-26-2021, 01:56 PM
When the issue is occurring, the system will start to boot, the orange light stays on, a click is heard and the system tries to POST again. This repeats for 3(4?) times and eventually starts in BIOS safe mode. When the click is heard and the system starts/tries to POST again, the Q-codes go by so quick it is hard to tell. They don't stop long enough to see and it's hard to tell upon which exact code it would be.


The LED should stop on the last code momentarily before reattempting training, which will be 00. I don't have the board here to test, unfortunately.

X-Terminus
08-26-2021, 06:12 PM
The LED should stop on the last code momentarily before reattempting training, which will be 00. I don't have the board here to test, unfortunately.

Hello Silent Scone. I don't remember the code exactly, but I thought I saw S5 or 5C. Maybe 5C, because somehow in my head, when it happened, I had a feeling that it might have been "short circuit" lol. So, right now, my computer is running my old CMO BIOS settings from when I was still using 1704. I'll try to reproduce the errors here:

1. Start from scratch, default settings here.
2. Without touching anything else in the BIOS, I go directly to that XMP profile selection. I choose either XMP I or II (the outcome doesn't matter, same error).
3. Without touching anything else after changing to XMP I or II, I restarted the system, saving changes.
4. Then memory training begins, but this time, it takes much longer time than the usual XMP training. The number on the board keeps on changing, and sometimes I see the light keeps on switching between orange, to red, though the majority of the time, it's in orange color. Then, I see that S5 or 5C code (again, I might be wrong here). The reason why I remember that S5 or 5C (if I do remember it correctly), is because they are the number that stayed the longest, among all other numbers.
5. And then, the motherboard POSTs, but this time, it says that it's running on safe mode. And if I check the BIOS settings, if I remember correctly, while some of the XMP values are there (like frequency and some timing, I don't quite remember this part, TBH), the VCCIO and VCCSA are at around 0.9V, which is impossible, because I know that I needed at least 1.1V on each of these for my system to be stable (I run MemTest 86 3 cycles, and passed at 1.1V of VCCIO and VCCSA).

So, in desperate attempt, I used my old version 1704 CMO file, loaded it on the BIOS from USB, my computer works. But still, something is VERY wrong if you can't use XMP, especially the RAM maker, GSkill at this point listed my mobo as QVL for this RAM.

I wish I can help you further here, by reproducing this error. But, I already felt that I'm lucky to be able to use my BIOS settings (CMO) from 1704. I'm afraid if I mess with my BIOS again in an attempt to reproduce this issue, I might get in trouble.

I hope that helps. If you have any questions, please let me know. Thanks for looking into this!

X-Terminus
08-27-2021, 09:26 AM
To clarify, I use the CMO file from 1704 on the currently installed 1903 BIOS, and it works. My CMO file is based on the XMP II profile of my RAM, except that I lowered the timing further. My RAM's XMP is 3600 MHz Cl 18-22-22-42, 1.35V. In my saved 1704 CMO, while the frequency stays the same, I lowered the timings to 16-20-20-40 at 1.4V. Surprisingly, while the XMP I and II didn't work in this BIOS 1903, my CMO which I took from 1704 works fine. This is what I'm using now. After applying this 1704 CMO on this 1903, I did a full run of MemTest 86, and it passed.

BizSAR
09-09-2021, 09:45 PM
Still nothing heard back. My ticket has gone silent, yet the issue still remains regardless of PTT (TPM) setting.

STARRAIN@ROG
09-13-2021, 03:18 AM
Hi there,

Does it boot into BIOS safe mode every time after set it to utilize XMPI or II?
May I have information below?
- the serial number of your motherboard
Thank you.
- the brand and the vga and psu

BizSAR
09-15-2021, 06:41 PM
Hi there,

Does it boot into BIOS safe mode every time after set it to utilize XMPI or II?
May I have information below?
- the serial number of your motherboard
Thank you.
- the brand and the vga and psu

Hi!

Yes, even if I set the XMP mode and drop voltage back down to 1.2 from the XMP profile's 1.35V. I've run through all the requested steps to reproduce and any possible workarounds.

My ticket was revived. :)
I'm working with/sending my RAM in to an ASUS debug/dev team now to help them debug the issue since it seems others have the same issue.

STARRAIN@ROG
09-16-2021, 07:29 AM
Hi BizSAR,

May I have the serial number of your motherboard via PM?
Thank you.

BizSAR
09-16-2021, 11:06 PM
Sure, give me a bit.

STARRAIN@ROG
09-22-2021, 06:21 AM
Hi BizSAR,

Thank you for your information.

xNyor
09-22-2021, 02:20 PM
Hello!
I have the same problem.
I'm getting errors on 1902 and 1903 (posted in safe mode)
No matter whether XMP Auto, 1 or 2.
After the BIOS update, I leave everything on the default settings!
With 1802 my PC works fine.

Greetings, Pascal.

STARRAIN@ROG
09-23-2021, 09:27 AM
Hi xNyor,

Did it also occur with other bios settings default(except XMP)?
May I have the information below?
- the serial number of your motherboard via PM
- the brand and the model name of your CPU, RAM, VGA and PSU?
*Please provide the specific ram model name such as CORSAIR CMK64GX4M8A2133C13(Ver4.23)(XMP).
Thank you.

xNyor
09-23-2021, 05:47 PM
I have written you.
Something missing? write me.

Greetings, Pascal.

BizSAR
09-23-2021, 05:53 PM
I have written you.
Something missing? write me.

Greetings, Pascal.
Hi!
I'm curious as to what memory you have since I'm seeing the same issue. What brand/model/size?
Is this on a Maximus XI Formula motherboard as well?

My RAM is the Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer RGB 3000 MHz DDR4 DRAM Desktop Gaming Memory Kit 32GB (8GBx4) CL16 BLT4K8G4D30BET4K

BizSAR
09-23-2021, 05:57 PM
The LED should stop on the last code momentarily before reattempting training, which will be 00. I don't have the board here to test, unfortunately.
BTW, I do see that the last code seems to be "69", and I'm not joking. :)

STARRAIN@ROG
09-24-2021, 06:45 AM
Hi xNyor,

Thank you for your information.
I'll consult our tech team about your case.

STARRAIN@ROG
09-27-2021, 01:45 AM
Hi xNyor,

Could you please refer to the following link to unplug the power cord and clear cmos, and then plug the power cord and start the pc again?
https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1040820/
If it can boot successfully, please set XMP and then boot again.
Thank you.

xNyor
09-27-2021, 06:53 AM
Hi xNyor,

Could you please refer to the following link to unplug the power cord and clear cmos, and then plug the power cord and start the pc again?
https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1040820/
If it can boot successfully, please set XMP and then boot again.
Thank you.

Hey.

I've already tried that - with Bios 1902 and 1903, without success.

STARRAIN@ROG
09-27-2021, 08:56 AM
Hi xNyor,

Thank you for your reply.
I'll consult our tech team more about this.

xNyor
09-27-2021, 11:35 PM
Hi xNyor,

Thank you for your reply.
I'll consult our tech team more about this.

Thanks :)

AndAbel
10-04-2021, 06:07 PM
Hi,

I just registered in order to respond to this thread and another. I'm having very similar problems with my z390-e motherboard. Initially I tried 1902/1903 with G.Skill F4-3200C16D-32GTZKW RAM and I noticed that it took more attempts than normal after updating the bios to get it to initially post. After setting up the bios as usual I noticed that sometimes when I would boot that the memok lights would get stuck on white with no picture on the monitor but the system disk was active. Eventually my system would boot and the monitor would go on as soon as I got to my desktop. If I got the system to boot without getting stuck on the white then it would generally continue to boot normally when restarting so long as I didn't cut power to my PC. When I cut power to my PC(which I do every night) I always initially get stuck on white again, although the system will still boot with the monitor coming on as soon as it loaded to my desktop. Usually only one restart at this point would get it to go through the normal memok light sequence and boot properly although sometimes I would need to reboot more than once. At one point when getting stuck on the white from a cold boot, I decided to just keep using it as is and I eventually had a blue screen crash. I never had instability before this bios update or when I would reboot and get it to go through the normal memok light sequence but I did when I left it with the white light stuck on and the unusual boot.

I just bought some new RAM and decided to try that with 1903. The RAM is G.Skill F4-3200C14D-32GTZR. With this RAM I can not get the bios to post normally, although I did get it into safe mode once I believe. Normally it would get stuck on white like the previous RAM but without booting like my previous RAM did and resetting would lead to the same memok sequence getting stuck on white with no disk activity. This happened every time except once where it eventually went into safe mode after multiple failed memok sequences. I tried clearing the CMOS and tried it multiple times but could not get it to normally post or work properly.

I've now reverted back to 1802, although I did get it stuck on white once with this new RAM(never had that with the old RAM on this bios) on the first boot after clearing the CMOS. Hitting the reset button remedied that and once I set the bios up properly it boots correctly now every time. Whether restarting or from a cold boot after being unplugged all night.

I hope this isn't too confusing. I think there is definitely something wrong with the 1902/1903 bios. I can't get this new RAM to post after a fresh bios flash and this new RAM I just bought was specifically made for z390 boards. My board(z390-e) is listed on G.Skill's website as one of the boards that it is specifically designed for. My previous RAM was made specifically for z370 and yet that one will post although not without its problems as I mentioned above.

The new RAM is now working properly with no instability problems and even overclocked with the 1802 bios but it won't even post after a fresh bios flash or cleared CMOS with 1902/1903.

BTW I tried loading from an old profile and I also tried setting up the bios manually. It didn't make any difference for my old RAM and the new RAM won't even post correctly with 1903.

STARRAIN@ROG
10-05-2021, 07:38 AM
Hi AndAbel,

May I double confirm you just got it stuck on white memok lights once with G.Skill F4-3200C14D-32GTZR on bios 1802, and it is working fine now even overclocked?
If you updated to bios 1902 or1903 and cleared CMOS with G.Skill F4-3200C14D-32GTZR, you got it stuck on white memok lights and no boot?
Thank you.

AndAbel
10-05-2021, 11:56 AM
Hi STARRAIN@ROG,

Yes that is correct. The only thing I would add is that I was able to get it to post first time with the G.Skill F4-3200C14D-32GTZR on 1802, but the most recent time I tried it, it did get stuck initially on white for the first time after the CMOS was cleared.

STARRAIN@ROG
10-06-2021, 04:03 AM
Hi AndAbel,

I'm sorry I'm a little confused. Although you have reverted to 1802 with the G.Skill F4-3200C14D-32GTZR, it did get stuck initially on white for the first time after the CMOS was cleared, but it was working fine after you booted it again? or does it get stuck initially on white even though you didn't clear coms recently?
Thank you.

AndAbel
10-06-2021, 11:32 PM
STARRAIN@ROG,

I reverted back to 1802 and initially it posted the first time without the white light getting stuck. I set the command rate at 1t because thats what I had my previous RAM at but the RAM would not boot with 1N so I had to clear the CMOS again. It got stuck on white on the first attempted post after this second clearing of the CMOS so I had to hit the reset button. It then posted normally and I was able to set up the bios from there. It now boots normally every time and is perfectly stable as far as I can tell @3400mhz C14 but 2N/T for the command rate.

It never gets stuck on white besides that one time after I had to re-clear the CMOS.

STARRAIN@ROG
10-07-2021, 07:42 AM
Hi AndAbel,

Thank you for your reply.
May I have the information below?
- the serial number of your motherboard via PM
- the brand and the model name of your CPU, VGA and PSU?
- OS version and OS build
Thank you.

STARRAIN@ROG
10-08-2021, 09:24 AM
Hello!
I have the same problem.
I'm getting errors on 1902 and 1903 (posted in safe mode)
No matter whether XMP Auto, 1 or 2.
After the BIOS update, I leave everything on the default settings!
With 1802 my PC works fine.

Greetings, Pascal.

Hi xNyor,
Sorry for late reply.
Our tech team have tested ROG MAXIMUS XI HERO with i9-9900K and HyperX Fury HX426C16FB3K2/16 on bios 1903, but it can boot normally.
Therefore, please send the motherboard with your ram to our local service center for further examination.
Please visit our official website for contact info of our local service center.
Thank you.

STARRAIN@ROG
10-13-2021, 07:54 AM
STARRAIN@ROG,

I reverted back to 1802 and initially it posted the first time without the white light getting stuck. I set the command rate at 1t because thats what I had my previous RAM at but the RAM would not boot with 1N so I had to clear the CMOS again. It got stuck on white on the first attempted post after this second clearing of the CMOS so I had to hit the reset button. It then posted normally and I was able to set up the bios from there. It now boots normally every time and is perfectly stable as far as I can tell @3400mhz C14 but 2N/T for the command rate.

It never gets stuck on white besides that one time after I had to re-clear the CMOS.

Hi AndAbel,
I'm sorry after consulted our tech team, the Mem_LED is orange and the VGA q-led is white if there is any issue.
Could you please refer to the manual and check is the Mem_LED or VGA q-led on while no boot after updated 1902 or1903?
https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m..._UM_V2_WEB.pdf
If the VGA q-led is on and no boot, please refer to the instructions in the following link.
https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1042678
Thank you.

BizSAR
10-13-2021, 11:59 PM
I'm hoping we see a BIOS release with the fix to my original issue soon. :)

xNyor
10-14-2021, 09:34 AM
Hi xNyor,
Sorry for late reply.
Our tech team have tested ROG MAXIMUS XI HERO with i9-9900K and HyperX Fury HX426C16FB3K2/16 on bios 1903, but it can boot normally.
Therefore, please send the motherboard with your ram to our local service center for further examination.
Please visit our official website for contact info of our local service center.
Thank you.

Hey Sorry that I answer so late!

I've replaced my ram kit.
The i9 9900k can only do dual channel ... & I had 4x 8 GB before ...
Couldn't use XMP 1 either but only XMP 2 ..
I think my ram kit wasn't that good before.
I have now switched to 2x 16 GB and everything works without any problems!

I thank you for your time and help! :)
I am now using: Corsair DIMM 32 GB DDR4-3200 kit

Regards, Pascal.

STARRAIN@ROG
10-15-2021, 05:47 AM
Hi xNyor,

Thank you for your reply and update.
Have a nice day.