PDA

View Full Version : Bad performance on G74SX



GreenComedian
04-08-2012, 12:01 PM
Hi everyone!

So I've read alot of posts about the performance on the G74SX and I think that I'm not getting the same performance as others. For example I've read people saying they play games like skyrim and BF3 on high/ultra with no problems and I've seen clips on youtube showing it. The thing is... in campaing on BF3 for example on low settings my fps is 35-50 and on high settings my fps is 20-30 and I don't know what to do about it.
I'm running BF3 on 1920x1080 resolution. Do I maybe need to lower that?

I'm running throttle stop and I have performance mode on and I have the latest drivers and everything... I really don't know what the problem is.

If anyone have any suggestions or fixes I would be very thankful.

I have a ASUS G74SX-TZ277V that I bought in Sweden but the computer is from Norway

The specs:
Intel Core i7 2670QM / 2.2 Ghz
8GB of RAM memory
Nvidia GTX560M 3GB

Could the problem be that I only have 8GB of ram? Because most people have the 12 or 16 GB versions of the G74SX.

TorturedBIscuit
04-08-2012, 04:16 PM
on BF3 for example on low settings my fps is 35-50 and on high settings my fps is 20-30 and I don't know what to do about it.

I actually laughed. You expect more? 20-30fps on Battlefield 3 isn't that bad, if you wanted to run it smoothly on maxed out settings you should've just bought a desktop computer not a laptop. You really think ASUS is so dumb that they'll sell a PORTABLE DEVICE that is able to flawlessly run a game with top tier graphics AND costs 1.5k$ at the same time?

If you want that kind of laptop though, pay 4x more, buy Alienware or some other crap with custom build, but don't complain when after several weeks it dies or sets your house on fire while you're playing BF3.

BrodyBoy
04-08-2012, 04:53 PM
I actually laughed. You expect more? 20-30fps on Battlefield 3 isn't that bad, if you wanted to run it smoothly on maxed out settings you should've just bought a desktop computer not a laptop. You really think ASUS is so dumb that they'll sell a PORTABLE DEVICE that is able to flawlessly run a game with top tier graphics AND costs 1.5k$ at the same time?

If you want that kind of laptop though, pay 4x more, buy Alienware or some other crap with custom build, but don't complain when after several weeks it dies or sets your house on fire while you're playing BF3.


Where do we submit nominations for "Least Helpful Post of the Week?" I think we have a winner!

GreenComedian
04-08-2012, 04:56 PM
Okey then tell me what this is? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M9Pqfp23mZA

I know that is OC but still so much difference?

Next time you post something. Post something that would help instead of posting your unnecessary comments...

I asked politely and that is how you answer me.. Seriously don't post anything if you don't have anything useful to say.

BrodyBoy
04-08-2012, 04:57 PM
Could the problem be that I only have 8GB of ram? Because most people have the 12 or 16 GB versions of the G74SX.
I seriously doubt that that's a problem. As I understand it, there are very few games that ever approach full use of 8Gb. I don't know enough about those games and what frame rates you should expect, but maybe other G74s owners who do play them can share their experiences and help you out.

GreenComedian
04-08-2012, 05:01 PM
Where do we submit nominations for "Least Helpful Post of the Week?" I think we have a winner!

Thank you! My thoughts exactly.

GreenComedian
04-08-2012, 05:04 PM
I seriously doubt that that's a problem. As I understand it, there are very few games that ever approach full use of 8Gb. I don't know enough about those games and what frame rates you should expect, but maybe other G74s owners who do play them can share their experiences and help you out.

Okay thank you for that information! Then I don't have to go out and buy more Ram memory :P

TorturedBIscuit
04-08-2012, 05:09 PM
Okey then tell me what this is? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M9Pqfp23mZA
A video card with default core speed of 775MHz clocked up to 940MHz and you can't see the difference? That's a shame.


Where do we submit nominations for "Least Helpful Post of the Week?" I think we have a winner!
How smart! Did you come up with that joke by yourself? However, that doesn't change the fact that I'm right.

BF3 won't run smoothly unless you OC the GTX560M. End of story.

GreenComedian
04-08-2012, 05:13 PM
A video card with default core speed of 775MHz clocked up to 940MHz and you can't see the difference? That's a shame.


How smart! Did you come up with that joke by yourself? However, that doesn't change the fact that I'm right.

BF3 won't run smoothly unless you OC the GTX560M. End of story.

I won't even bother you clearly aren't here to help.

TorturedBIscuit
04-08-2012, 05:16 PM
I won't even bother you clearly aren't here to help.

It's funny how you're seeking help when there is none. That is how G74SX performs and if you want to change that, upgrade or overclock the card.

Ok, maybe I was a little harsh but how exactly do you expect to be treated when you purchase a 1000$+ product without even knowing what it's capable of?

EDIT: I'm not making all this up, I also own a G74SX.

GreenComedian
04-08-2012, 05:29 PM
Then watch these two clips http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bsU2gIp-psQ and http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GsVJ4e7GWGQ

In the last video he is running in a reselution of 1600x900. But still... He is playing it on ultra with 25 fps witch is decent with a laptop.

dstrakele
04-08-2012, 05:44 PM
I've always thought that http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?4568-Nvidia-V285-Beta-Driver-BF3-FPS-results is the best discussion of BF3 settings and their effect on Frame Rates. And NVIDIA has since improved BF3 performance in its drivers after this was written.

I also recommend using DPC Latency Checker to confirm you've done your best to reduce it as much as possible. Latency robs you of performance in EVERYTHING.

And if you want maximum performance, you gotta eliminate unneeded processes running while you are gaming. This means a clean minimal Windows 7 installation. You also need to use your laptop for work you say? Well then devote some of your disk space for another partition to run a minimal Windows installation in a dual boot configuration. This will also allow you to run the latest beta drivers and worry less that they may blow up your system. Just go to work, boot up your work OS instance, and fix the game OS later, when you've got time.

TonyNRG
04-09-2012, 02:51 AM
I have a veeery bad perfomance on G74SX in BF3. All settings on low, but I have around 17-28 fps. Drivers 296.10. I use 1920x1080... my GTX 560m is running on 900/1800/1500 MHz, CPU is on High Perfomance (100% to 100%). System is clean. In 3Dmark Vantage I have ~11000 3dmarks. But why do I have such poor BF3 perfomance.

Tear_a_Bee
04-09-2012, 03:46 AM
I personally find that the 285.79 Drivers are the best for Bf3. On high/ultra settings I get about 35-40 fps. Perhaps when when the 296.16 drivers are released the G74 will get a good performance boost. Hope that helped. Also check out this thread http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?4568-Nvidia-V285-Beta-Driver-BF3-FPS-results&country=&status=

I also see in your signature that you have a 3D model, make sure you are not playing in 3D. Kind of obvious but you never know.

TonyNRG
04-09-2012, 05:25 AM
I personally find that the 285.79 Drivers are the best for Bf3. On high/ultra settings I get about 35-40 fps. Perhaps when when the 296.16 drivers are released the G74 will get a good performance boost. Hope that helped. Also check out this thread http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?4568-Nvidia-V285-Beta-Driver-BF3-FPS-results&country=&status=

I also see in your signature that you have a 3D model, make sure you are not playing in 3D. Kind of obvious but you never know.

Thanks for your advices I'll try to use 285.79 Drivers... but,

I think it's happens coz Throttling... I tried to set up the ThrottleStop, but I can't make it work. CPU-Z shows me that my CPU is working from 798 (x8 multiplier, bus speed 99,79 MHz) to 2993 MHz (x30).

I have 2 questions about that:

1. Is this bus speed ok - 99,79 MHz? I think it must be = 133.3 MHz
2. How can I set up ThrottleStop 4.10 to work with my i7-2670qm to run only on high speed when the ThrottleStop is on?

Thanks!

PS
3D is disabled :-)

Zygomorphic
04-09-2012, 07:57 AM
Answer to question 2--I have no clue.
Answer to question 1--yes. The Sandybridge CPU's use a different turbo multiplier. 100 MHz is the the BCLK for the CPU. The memory is still run at a different frequency. To allow more granularity in Turbo Mode, Intel made the Sandybridge CPU's turbo on 100 MHz increments. Another reason that 800 MHz is the base frequency...RAM
While incredibly rare, there is a specification for DDR3-800. All DDR3 modules (I believe) are down-clockable to the lowest common denominator of DDR3 speed. Hence, 800 MHz, while next to no ram runs at that speed as a maximum, it is a down-clockable standard.
In short, yes 99.79 MHz is believable.

TonyNRG
04-09-2012, 08:38 AM
So guys, I handle this issue. Now my BF3 is running on 1920x1080 120Hz with 35-70 fps on MAX settings in most. I'll try to find the best settings for my G74sx.

Using: 296.10 Drivers, ThrottleStop 4.10, MSI Afterburner v2.1.0
Mu CPU have 28.0 multiplier, my 560M is running on 900/1800/1500 MHz

Next time I'll post my BF3 settings.

codename47
04-09-2012, 09:36 AM
@TonyNRG, is it possible to describe what you done to gain such performance difference?

TonyNRG
04-09-2012, 10:08 AM
@TonyNRG, is it possible to describe what you done to gain such performance difference?
Yep... like I said in my last post - it's simple:

1. download and install 296.10 Drivers for your 560m
2. download and install ThrottleStop 4.10 (not just 4.0), set there 28.0 multiplier
3. download and install MSI Afterburner v2.1.0 - try to set up there 900/1800/1500 MHz clocks. It's 100% stable for me. No overheating etc. But try it careful, add for +50 MHz, than save and try...

Here is screenshots with my test settings...
7534
7535

TonyNRG
04-09-2012, 10:11 AM
7538

My 3Dmark Vantage score before using ThrottleStop... I want to recheck it after start using ThrottleStop - mean now.

codename47
04-09-2012, 10:31 AM
thanks a lot!

GreenComedian
04-09-2012, 11:26 AM
Thanks guys for all the information! I will try to check back later when I've worked things out if I don't forget that is :P My memory is worse than an goldfish..

TonyNRG
04-09-2012, 05:07 PM
Oh, btw... I'll try to use the ASUS GPU Tweak http://event.asus.com/vga/2012/gpu_tweak/ - not MSI Afterburner :)

BrodyBoy
04-09-2012, 05:18 PM
Thanks guys for all the information! I will try to check back later when I've worked things out if I don't forget that is :P My memory is worse than an goldfish..
See...told ya some helpful owners would weigh in! :)
(Despite the occasional hiccup, this forum is full of really great people who are more than happy to help!)

TonyNRG
04-09-2012, 05:43 PM
updated!

I'm tryed to use the "ASUS GPU Tweak" (url: http://event.asus.com/vga/2012/gpu_tweak/ )instead of the MSI Afterburner. But I can't launch this utility. It's crashing every time I'm trying to start it. I downloaded "ASUS GPU Tweak v2.0.83" from official download source: http://support.asus.com/download.aspx?p=9&m=GPU+Tweak&hashedid=n%2fa ... choosed Win 7 64bit, unzip, launch setup, reboot my notebook... and nothing at startup, nothing when trying to launch it from desctop icon.

Added later: http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?10812-Own-a-G-series-notebook-and-trying-to-run-GPU-Tweak-See-here&country=&status=

PS
I installed the GPU Tweak, and now I can't uninstall it from my system

TonyNRG
04-11-2012, 10:27 AM
So, can anyone help please me to uninstall GPU Tweak from my G74sx?

codename47
04-11-2012, 11:10 AM
http://www.windowsuninstaller.org/winuninstall/how-to-remove-ASUS-GPU-Tweak-2-0-3-guide-ASUS-GPU-Tweak-2-0-3-uninstaller-info.html
http://www.how-to-uninstall-program.com/uninstaller/uninstall-ASUS-GPU-Tweak-2-0-3-ASUS-GPU-Tweak-2-0-3-removal-ASUS-GPU-Tweak-2-0-3-windows-uninstaller.html ?

AbbyY
04-11-2012, 11:39 AM
A useful, powerful and free tool is IObit Uninstaller: http://www.iobit.com/advanceduninstaller.html

It also search in registry for uninstalled program prints.

TonyNRG
04-11-2012, 06:14 PM
Thank you guys, but I own a couple of good utilities, but not any of them can't uninstall this software from my laptop. It's strange, but again ASUS do not warn users on the official ASUS GPU Tweak page that this utility is incompatible with notebooks.

Why?

I don't need to search over forums to find that GPU Tweak is not compatible with my system. I need to know that important information directly from the official GPU Tweak page before download and install it.

BrodyBoy
04-11-2012, 06:20 PM
......on the official ASUS GPU Tweak page.....
Where is that?

EDIT: Nevermind....found it.

gilbert
04-11-2012, 08:56 PM
Perhaps when when the 296.16 drivers are released the G74 will get a good performance boost.

I wonder what ever happen , how come 296.16 never got released ? we have a couple of old threads here saying that it was going to be released soon.

TonyNRG
04-12-2012, 12:40 AM
301.24 is the most fresh drivers for now. Bf3 is running fast with this drivers. But with 301.24 I get some kind of strange bug - when my character dies or spawn, my screen is blinking with black for 0.5 - 1 sec. With previous drivers I don't have such issue.

karlsmiley
04-21-2012, 11:29 PM
how to overclock?? just use masi and increase clocks? :) kinda scared to try it.

scuk1nho
06-13-2012, 01:55 PM
Well, I have G74SX too. After watching some videos I'm really confused as Hell. People in these videos can run maxed out for example: Crysis (45+FPS), ArmA 2 (30+ FPS) but I can't. I have done all what I could to increase frame rate but no difference. My FPS in Crysis is 25-18 or Arma 2 25-18. I really don't understand that. I have overclocked to 900/1800/1500 using performance boost programs, ThrottleStop, etc. Can someone confirm that videos are just troll? :D Cuz I really dont think they can run these games so smooth...

Zygomorphic
06-13-2012, 02:39 PM
Well, I have G74SX too. After watching some videos I'm really confused as Hell. People in these videos can run maxed out for example: Crysis (45+FPS), ArmA 2 (30+ FPS) but I can't. I have done all what I could to increase frame rate but no difference. My FPS in Crysis is 25-18 or Arma 2 25-18. I really don't understand that. I have overclocked to 900/1800/1500 using performance boost programs, ThrottleStop, etc. Can someone confirm that videos are just troll? :D Cuz I really dont think they can run these games so smooth...

Best bet to forgery, is there ever a cut in the video, and is it recorded via FRAPS (or something like that) or is it done via an external video camera. Also, how fuzzy is the video? If it is fuzzy, they probably cut the settings down on stuff that you couldn't tell (antialiasing, texture quality, stuff like that). My bet is they are simply trolling, since notebookcheck.net rates about the GTX 560M at 18-20 fps in ultra in Crysis:
http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForce-GTX-560M.48313.0.html

Ignore such trolling, they are simply trying to pump views and impress people. Unless they can record a 1080p gapless video of them playing it, then I won't believe it.

scuk1nho
06-13-2012, 03:27 PM
Best bet to forgery, is there ever a cut in the video, and is it recorded via FRAPS (or something like that) or is it done via an external video camera. Also, how fuzzy is the video? If it is fuzzy, they probably cut the settings down on stuff that you couldn't tell (antialiasing, texture quality, stuff like that). My bet is they are simply trolling, since notebookcheck.net rates about the GTX 560M at 18-20 fps in ultra in Crysis:
http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForce-GTX-560M.48313.0.html

Ignore such trolling, they are simply trying to pump views and impress people. Unless they can record a 1080p gapless video of them playing it, then I won't believe it.
Thank you for reply, Sir!