PDA

View Full Version : Factory Restore Corrupt or Programs Corrupting comp?



Austin
04-11-2012, 04:09 AM
i factory Restored my computer 3 times in a row

First problem was Blue screen while uninstalling bloatware
Second Disk Scan wasn't working and wouldn't let me restore my comp to an earlier time
the third was them best out of all of them

whenever i Did the Asus Factory
1 Installed Windows updates
2 Uninstalled these programs

Best buy App
Asus Ai recovery
Asus Smart logon
Asus vibe 2.0
bing bar
Cyberlink Lable print
Cyberlink powertogo
intel control center
intel Management Engine components
intel Turbo boost Technology monitor 2.0
intel PROSet/wireless WiMAX software
microsoft office 2010
Microsoft silverlight
Nuance pdf reader
WinFlash
Windows Live Essentails 2011
Wireless consol 3
Trend micro Antivirus

3 installed my programs
cleaned and scanned my computer but when i would run
Sfc/Scannow it says i have corrupt files

ANd device manager would show a yellow triangle Exclamation point next to
intel PROSet/wireless WiMAX software but i dont get that as i uninstalled it

BrodyBoy
04-11-2012, 05:38 AM
i factory Restored my computer 3 times in a row

First problem was Blue screen while uninstalling bloatware
Second Disk Scan wasn't working and wouldn't let me restore my comp to an earlier time
the third was them best out of all of them

whenever i Did the Asus Factory
1 Installed Windows updates
2 Uninstalled these programs
........

ANd device manager would show a yellow triangle Exclamation point next to
intel PROSet/wireless WiMAX software but i dont get that as i uninstalled it
What bloatware were you uninstalling when the blue screen occurred?

Not sure what the problem is on your second restore:: You did a disk scan that...that failed? Do you mean chkdsk, or another program? And then System Restore failed? What issue prompted you to try a system recovery?

........
Windows detects all installed hardware. If you have a WLAN+WIMAX combo card, Device Manager shows the WIMAX device, whether you have installed the driver or not. If you want to completely lock it out so Windows never sees it, you can lock it in the BIOS.

So how does it run right after a factory restore, before you make all these changes?

Austin
04-11-2012, 08:30 AM
it was the power4gear that blue screened my computer the first time
the second one it said something was blocking it on top of that my system restore points would not work
and now i just ran disk check then when that was down ran Sfc /scannow and still some corrupt things
also for the wilmax i used the Device manager to disable it the first time i restored even though it blue screened it my computer ran so fast right now its not and its almost like the internet/download speed has seriously decreased

BrodyBoy
04-11-2012, 05:12 PM
it was the power4gear that blue screened my computer the first time
the second one it said something was blocking it on top of that my system restore points would not work
and now i just ran disk check then when that was down ran Sfc /scannow and still some corrupt things
also for the wilmax i used the Device manager to disable it the first time i restored even though it blue screened it my computer ran so fast right now its not and its almost like the internet/download speed has seriously decreased
If you aren't using WIMAX internet service, that device isn't factoring into the slow internet issue. But again, if you want it just gone, lock it out in the BIOS.

You keep getting so many disk errors....I really think you must conclude you have a bad hard drive and it's time to get it replaced. As I mentioned in another post where you were dealing with this before, the underlying media (the hard drive) has to be good, or the software installation will never be stable. You're spinning your wheels if you're trying to install to a bad drive.



If you haven't already, make a set of recovery DVDs ASAP. (You need that backup of your OEM installation, in case your hard drive complete craps out on you all the sudden. If your only copy is the recovery partition, you'll lose it for good when the HDD fails.)




Replace the hard drive. Whether you get your retailer or Asus to replace it, whether you buy a new one, or whether you have another HDD you can use, you need to install Windows to a drive that isn't spew all these disk errors.




Install Windows onto the new drive. Use the recovery disks to do a factory restore, or perform a clean Windows install. (Because you don't seem to want the Asus bloatware, I think a clean install sounds like a better idea for you, anyway.)