PDA

View Full Version : G74SX-3DE Memory Upgrade



lvfmc
04-15-2012, 05:12 PM
Hi, I own a G74SX-3DE with i7-2820 CPU, 16Gb DDR3 1600mhz RAM and Windows 7 x64 Ultimate. I'd like to know if my board can deal with 32Gb Ram. By what i've read, my CPU can work with this kind of upgrade, but I don't have sure about the mainboard.
Any one knows if my board is ready to deal with 32Gb RAM?
Thank you.

zsld0423
04-15-2012, 05:15 PM
I've seen posts/pics about someone who was successfully able to run his G74 at 32GB of RAM, but IIRC the speed was only at the 1333mhz or something like that

BrodyBoy
04-15-2012, 05:16 PM
Yes, it can. There are several owners around here who are running 32Gb....check out fostert's posts on it if you need more info.


....... but IIRC the speed was only at the 1333mhz or something like that

That's true.

fostert
04-15-2012, 05:26 PM
In short, 32GB will work, yes. See http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?6851-G74-and-8GB-Memory-DIMMs...&country=&status=

Make sure if you're using windows that you have Professional or Ultimate, since HP is kneecapped to use only 16GB.

dataDave
04-16-2012, 01:16 AM
It's also worth knowing that maxing out the slots with anything faster than 1333mhz won't take effect, as the fully populated memory slot speed is capped at 1333mhz.

lvfmc
04-17-2012, 05:48 PM
Ok, Thank you all. So if I buy 4 boards with 8gb each, doesn't matter if they are 1333MHz or 1600, it will run only at 1333, that's right? Even with my CPU (i7 2820QM) which supports 32GB RAM and 1600Mhz? And 32Gb RAM with my G74SX-3DE, i7 2820QM, and Windows 7 x64 Ultimate, will work just fine, right?

BrodyBoy
04-17-2012, 05:55 PM
Ok, Thank you all. So if I buy 4 boards with 8gb each, doesn't matter if they are 1333MHz or 1600, it will run only at 1333, that's right? Even with my CPU (i7 2820QM) which supports 32GB RAM and 1600Mhz? And 32Gb RAM with my G74SX-3DE, i7 2820QM, and Windows 7 x64 Ultimate, will work just fine, right?
Yes to both.....it'll work and it'll run at 1333MHz.

lvfmc
04-18-2012, 12:27 AM
Thankk you BrodyBoy.
So, the speed is a limitation of the mainbord?
Anyone knows where can I find the specs of the G74SX mainboard?

fostert
04-18-2012, 02:20 AM
Thankk you BrodyBoy.
So, the speed is a limitation of the mainbord?
Anyone knows where can I find the specs of the G74SX mainboard?
I don't think its a limitation of the mainboard but rather of ASUS's BIOS. Its likely that the BIOS has some code in it to downclock the RAM if 4 sticks are detected, or it can\t read the SPD settings right on the Plug-n-play sticks when there are four installed. However the fact is I don't think anybody knows whether the limitation is related to what kind of CPU is installed in the G74. The 2630 and 2670QM i7s are by far the most common, and everyone who has ever run aground on the 1333MHz 4-bank RAM limitation has been running one of these. Now of course Intel states that these only support up to 1333MHz, so 1600 would be considered an overclock by asus engineers, who may have thought that 4 sticks overclocked would produce too much heat. But an i7 2820 *may* actually run 4 sticks at 1600, because 1600 is supported by Intel for this CPU and would not be considered an overclock by ASUS engineers. At least that may be what they were thinking.

I guess what I'm saying is that 1600MHz with 4 sticks stands a better chance of working in the G74 with an i7 2820 than it does in any with the 26XXQM variety.

dataDave
04-18-2012, 04:22 AM
I have my laptop on the way to me with an i7-2760 upgrade, a processor which can indeed run faster RAM than 1333mhz.

I'm wondering why a reputable Asus reseller would recommend the RAM upgrade (4x 4gb 1600mhz) to me if the BIOS downgrades it, so the first thing I'm doing is running CPU-Z to check if I'm getting 1600mhz out of the box (which I doubt very much - someone is having this very problem here (http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/303250-30-asus-g74sx-dram-speed))

If not I have a BIOS mod lined up that I'm willing to risk, so watch this space.

fostert
04-19-2012, 01:55 AM
If not I have a BIOS mod lined up that I'm willing to risk, so watch this space.
You bet! You've got my curiosity piqued. Trailblazing!

lvfmc
04-24-2012, 10:50 PM
Could someone tell me a good memory brand with the capcity of 8gb? I wanna upgrade my G74SX system from 16Gb RAM (4x4Gb) to 32Gb RAM (4x8Gb) but I dont know which are the bests brands to look for. On amazon I found a good price kit from komputerbay (I don,t know this brand) and I saw a corsair module too, could somebody tell me if they are good? Or indicate me another and where to buy (online)?
Here are the links: http://www.amazon.com/Corsair-1333MHz-204-Pin-Unbuffered-CMSO8GX3M1A1333C9/dp/B005T63BEM/ref=sr_1_12?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1335302791&sr=1-12
http://www.amazon.com/Komputerbay-PC3-12800-1600MHz-9-9-9-25-Heatspreaders/dp/B006K4C0O4/ref=pd_sim_sbs_e_2

Thanks in advance

fostert
04-24-2012, 11:28 PM
Don't waste your $$: unless you don't mind paying an extra $40 just to see your WEI Memory score go up by 0.1, go for the 4 Corsairs @1333 MHz.
I am using 4 of those exact ones in my G74 and it has performed flawlessly and fast since the upgrade.

gilbert
04-24-2012, 11:37 PM
Don't waste your $$: unless you don't mind paying an extra $40 just to see your WEI Memory score go up by 0.1, go for the 4 Corsairs @1333 MHz.
I am using 4 of those exact ones in my G74 and it has performed flawlessly and fast since the upgrade.

or you can just wait for a day or so , datadave is getting his system today and he would test a bio mod to have the g74sx detect all 4 slots running at 1600mhz , and if he succeeds we may even b able to run at any speed , needless to say we are all waiting to see his results.......

BrodyBoy
04-24-2012, 11:55 PM
or you can just wait for a day or so , datadave is getting his system today and he would test a bio mod to have the g74sx detect all 4 slots running at 1600mhz , and if he succeeds we may even b able to run at any speed , needless to say we are all waiting to see his results.......
We all are? That might be a stretch.... :D

Nothing at all against datadave....I admire and share in his spirit of experimentation....but I wouldn't risk my system (or my warranty) on anybody's BIOS experiments. Considering the G-series' frustrating lack of a rescue option or backup when the BIOS is bricked, and considering how easily the BIOS does seem to brick in these machines, I just don't see any value in taking the risk, especially for a modification that won't make any noticeable difference in actual use.

gilbert
04-25-2012, 12:14 AM
We all are? That might be a stretch.... :D

Nothing at all against datadave....I admire and share in his spirit of experimentation....but I wouldn't risk my system (or my warranty) on anybody's BIOS experiments. Considering the G-series' frustrating lack of a rescue option or backup when the BIOS is bricked, and considering how easily the BIOS does seem to brick in these machines, I just don't see any value in taking the risk, especially for a modification that won't make any noticeable difference in actual use.

LOL almost all of us , but i guess its all a matter of opinion, there is people using 16gb , 32gb and some people believe thats more then one will ever need , but we still do it anyways , yes flashing a mod bios is a big risk but people have done it and live , in the other hand there is people who have flash the official bios from asus trying to fix some problems and brick their machines , if it weren't for people like datadave taking risks we will haven't got this far in technology .......

fostert
04-25-2012, 01:39 AM
I agree: risk is healthy and how progress is made. And especially with the G74: a machine that ASUS seems to have forgotten about and appears to no longer support through proper BIOS releases, well, risk is how we're going to be able to go forward with it rather than buying a G75. Yeah if Datadave is successful the performance increase will be minor, but it will be real, and may pave the way to extending the G74 beyond other ASUS-published limitations (e.g. 1.5TB limit of storage, for eg, comes to mind).
That said while my warranty is active, like Brody I wouldn't take the risk; however if it was off and I could justify the potential performance increase in my own work with my G74, I probably would.

lvfmc
04-26-2012, 10:03 PM
Ok, I decided to wait some bios great news =] before buy more ram. But now I have a question. My 16Gb RAM are 4x4Gb Kingston Hyper X DDR3 - PC3 12800 - 1600Mhz. But, when I run CPU-z, it shows dual chanel 665.xxMhz, which means 1330Mhz (right?). If I have a i7 2820QM which supports 1600Mhz, why are my 1600Mhz memory running at 1330? Can I do something to change it?

gilbert
04-26-2012, 10:09 PM
Ok, I decided to wait some bios great news =] before buy more ram. But now I have a question. My 16Gb RAM are 4x4Gb Kingston Hyper X DDR3 - PC3 12800 - 1600Mhz. But, when I run CPU-z, it shows dual chanel 665.xxMhz, which means 1330Mhz (right?). If I have a i7 2820QM which supports 1600Mhz, why are my 1600Mhz memory running at 1330? Can I do something to change it?you can try to mod your bios to get the 1600mhz to take effect Dave is already working on a bio mod and he got some great results , you may want to ask him to point you in the right direction.,

fostert
04-27-2012, 02:54 AM
Ok, I decided to wait some bios great news =] before buy more ram. But now I have a question. My 16Gb RAM are 4x4Gb Kingston Hyper X DDR3 - PC3 12800 - 1600Mhz. But, when I run CPU-z, it shows dual chanel 665.xxMhz, which means 1330Mhz (right?). If I have a i7 2820QM which supports 1600Mhz, why are my 1600Mhz memory running at 1330? Can I do something to change it?

Yes: 665.xx MHZ at Double Data Rate (DDR) is 1330 MHz.
Thats the exact problem with the G74...when four sticks are installed the BIOS seems to reject and override the Intel XMP SPD settings programmed into the sticks by the manufacturer (which normally allow overclocked memory profile settings; overclocked with respect to the rating of the integrated memory controller on the CPU) and use one the default non-OC JEDEC settings instead. Probably ASUS way of controlling the amount of heat created by the CPU: with 4 sticks in there the electrical load on the IMC is greater than with 2 sticks, so heat is more of a concern. Thats my guess. Frustrating though. I don't know what will change it. @dataDave did a BIOS mod with AMIBCP and got his 1600MHz sticks running at 1333MHz but with CAS latency 8, instead of 9, which is certainly an overclock and will boost his performance by a small amount, probably unnoticeable in most apps except benchmarks.

If you want 16GB at 1600 MHz the you need to go with 2x8GB sticks.