PDA

View Full Version : Problem editing my avatar.



GercfOx
04-19-2012, 11:24 PM
Hello, I'm having problem editing my avatar. I dont know if this is a bug or what but i cant see any button where to add custom avatar.

anyone can comment to help.. thanks

-regards GercfOx

7936

chrsplmr
04-20-2012, 01:15 AM
It is part of the forum verification process .. 5 days and 5 posts or something ... Welcome ..
After you have been verified you will be good to go .. it is just to make sure you are
not a spammer ..... c.

GercfOx
04-21-2012, 07:58 AM
It is part of the forum verification process .. 5 days and 5 posts or something ... Welcome ..
After you have been verified you will be good to go .. it is just to make sure you are
not a spammer ..... c.

Thanks for the information :)

wrangler
12-02-2013, 02:34 AM
I'm new here, and have been looking around for a post or page here with info like this.

Is there such a summary here?

Myk SilentShadow
12-02-2013, 02:51 AM
I'm new here, and have been looking around for a post or page here with info like this.

Is there such a summary here?

It's around somewhere, I can't find it at the moment. But, the minimum is 5 posts and 5 full days of membership before you can upload a custom Avatar.

wrangler
12-02-2013, 03:34 AM
It's around somewhere, I can't find it at the moment. But, the minimum is 5 posts and 5 full days of membership before you can upload a custom Avatar.
I saw that in the message just before mine.

I was hoping for a summary, to learn all the basics. I expected, but didn't see, a sticky topic, or a dedicated button to click. Thanks for trying to look for it.

Myk SilentShadow
12-02-2013, 03:39 AM
What kinda basics did you have in mind?

chrsplmr
12-02-2013, 03:51 AM
From: 01-16-2012 06:27 AM:
Hi Reaper,
All new members cannot set an avatar until a minimum of 5 posts and have been a member 5 days. At which time your account is automatically upgraded to verified member giving you access to all the forum functions :)

Straight from 'The Man' himself. .c.

wrangler
12-02-2013, 03:57 AM
What kinda basics did you have in mind?
Whatever they are for the board. Some other boards I've been to point you to what's essentially a FAQ for FNG's. If you don't know of one, I'll just pick up what I need to as I go along.

And maybe at some point I'll figure out why I'm now an "ASUSVIP".

wrangler
12-02-2013, 03:58 AM
And why now I'm not.

chrsplmr
12-02-2013, 04:18 AM
And why now I'm not.
hahhaha .. Wrangler .. Welcome to ROG.
This has been asked many times .. and confuses everyone in the beginning .. you are an 'AsusVIP' ..
when you log in look in the very top right .. you will see a blue (0) .. that is the meggage center from
AsusVIP which is the official support site for all Asus products. Your user name and password are
tied to both sites and forums .. this is where, if you ever have the need, that you would put in an
official request for support .. ie .. a RMA.
The appearance and disappearance of the moniker AsusVIP in red white and blue that you see under
your user name in the left panel is part of spam control, post verification, security of this forum.
Every post, Every Member experiences this. Post a new post, and it is there, refresh the page and it
is gone .. it is as it should be .. but you are in every sense of the term an AsusVIP .. pre registered to
request support and/or a RMA. .c.

wrangler
12-02-2013, 04:54 AM
Thanks. I figured it was some kind of ghost in the machine.

chrsplmr
12-02-2013, 02:05 PM
Thanks. I figured it was some kind of ghost in the machine.

lm(butt)off .. hahah .. There is .. His name is MarshallR. .c.

_
12-03-2013, 03:13 AM
Ghost? No that whiff is just last nights curry sorry.

jamRwoo
12-06-2013, 08:54 PM
And why now I'm not.

Asus giveth with one hand taketh with the other. ;)

I believe the "VIP" Status has something to do with registering a new product. Although I don't remember actually completing my registration (Internet crapped out) so I'm not sure what the deal is with that.

EDIT: Apparently, I'm no longer a VIP member either, ha.

chrsplmr
12-07-2013, 12:12 AM
Asus giveth with one hand taketh with the other. ;)

I believe the "VIP" Status has something to do with registering a new product. Although I don't remember actually completing my registration (Internet crapped out) so I'm not sure what the deal is with that.

EDIT: Apparently, I'm no longer a VIP member either, ha.

JamRwoo .. Please re-read post #11 below:


hahhaha .. Wrangler .. Welcome to ROG.
This has been asked many times .. and confuses everyone in the beginning .. you are an 'AsusVIP' ..
when you log in look in the very top right .. you will see a blue (0) .. that is the meggage center from
AsusVIP which is the official support site for all Asus products. Your user name and password are
tied to both sites and forums .. this is where, if you ever have the need, that you would put in an
official request for support .. ie .. a RMA.
The appearance and disappearance of the moniker AsusVIP in red white and blue that you see under
your user name in the left panel is part of spam control, post verification, security of this forum.
Every post, Every Member experiences this. Post a new post, and it is there, refresh the page and it
is gone .. it is as it should be .. but you are in every sense of the term an AsusVIP .. pre registered to request support and/or a RMA. .c.

SwedishDragon
02-26-2016, 02:22 PM
I think this one should be stickied.

amisfit
04-02-2016, 10:04 PM
Thanks for the info everyone. I just realized that I had 2 different accounts registered to ASUS. Probably because I had created an ASUS account when I first bought a motherboard. Then a 2nd one whenever I first wanted to post in the ROG forums. I didn't realize I could have logged in to the ROG forums with my already established ASUS account. Would you believe I didn't realize this until just recently after having my ASUS account for a good 3 years already? That's why I only have 3 posts or something with this account. Anyway, I had to go through this whole process of switching email addresses between both accounts so I could make this account my primary one and stop using my 2nd account. What a hassle. I wish I could just merge the 2 accounts into one.

amisfit
04-02-2016, 10:06 PM
I forgot to ask, does anyone know if I'll be able to edit my nickname on these forums if I get to 5 posts? I'll probably find out with this post, but I'm asking anyway just in case I don't. :P

Nate152
04-04-2016, 02:07 AM
Hi amisfit

You can't change your name, you'd have to take that up with a forum moderator or administrator.

day187
04-22-2016, 01:23 PM
this was driving me crazy....thanks for the info

Dweezle
05-11-2016, 05:36 AM
Thanks for all the info, i was starting to think i didnt know what i was doing.

KilluaZoldyck
11-12-2016, 03:15 PM
Wow thanks for the info here. Now I know why I can't change my avatar.