PDA

View Full Version : g74sx-dh71 help



440hsp
04-20-2012, 04:59 AM
hello everyone. I'm brand new to the site and i've been trying to find information on how to upgrade my dh71. Dont wanna sound like an idiot here with all you more experienced people on the forums but bare with this noobie. I enjoy learning how to enhance my electronics (if possible) to run better than what i could ever possibly imagine and i know that this beast i have can do waaay more than what it's capable of now. Sorry for the long write up but i'll get to the point. I want to upgrade the ram from the standard 12gb to 16 or better. Would like ome helpful info on what the best options are company wise. I know i have ddr3 1333mhz ram in there now but as i have been reading i'm hearing about 1600 mhz and 1866 mhz ram but i do not know which is viable for my setup. I would also like to learn more about raid setups and how to run this type of setup on my laptop. Like i said i am new to this so if i'm asking stupid questions just bare with me and point me in the right direction and i'll try to read and learn as much as i can. If there is a section dedicated to the g74sx laptop lmk and i'll head there.
Thanks for your patience.

Moccamanden
04-20-2012, 05:34 AM
Hi!

There is a dedicated forum for the G-series notebooks, it can be found here (http://rog.asus.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?114-G-Series-Notebooks)

440hsp
04-20-2012, 05:59 AM
thank you for the link.

_
04-20-2012, 06:34 AM
You can upgrade 'officially' to 16GB, but 32GB also works (there is a large thread discussing it in this forum). There's no benefit from 1600 or 1866 memory to be honest as iirc the G74 doesn't offer memory timing options as the CPU does not support it. Hopefully someone else will confirm this, but it's not available on the G53 and initial G75 BIOS, so I assume G74 is the same.

Please see this link for an upgrade guide: http://rog.asus.com/24752011/labels/rog-exclusive/how-to-upgrade-the-g74sx-a1-gaming-laptop/

440hsp
04-20-2012, 06:55 AM
thanks for the quick replys and info. Was thinking of trying the hyper x ram. Maybe 4x4gb@1333 or 4 x8gb @1333. Was wondering also do i need ssd drives to run a raid config or could i do it off of my 2 factory 750gb hardrives? I know ssd's are better but dont even know where to get started there i.e. Manufacturers,sizes etc.etc. Would like my dh71 to be blazing fast and know that i accomplished doing it myself ( i.e. With the help of you guys of course). Thanks for any advice in advance.

BrodyBoy
04-20-2012, 07:44 AM
thanks for the quick replys and info. Was thinking of trying the hyper x ram. Maybe 4x4gb@1333 or 4 x8gb @1333. Was wondering also do i need ssd drives to run a raid config or could i do it off of my 2 factory 750gb hardrives? I know ssd's are better but dont even know where to get started there i.e. Manufacturers,sizes etc.etc. Would like my dh71 to be blazing fast and know that i accomplished doing it myself ( i.e. With the help of you guys of course). Thanks for any advice in advance.
The G74 does not support hardware RAID.

Unless you are using specialized programs that actually need/use 32Gb RAM, there's really no reason to install more than 16Gb. The vast majority of the programs we all use won't even come close to using 16Gb, but it's such a cheap upgrade....why not, eh? As Marshall said, the G74 will run 16 or 32Gb RAM at 133MHz, no matter what rated speed you put in there.

Using an SSD for your OS drive does give a noticeable performance boot. For most users (who don't run lots of massively huge programs), something in the 120Gb is more than big enough.

One other easy, cheap upgrade that can be a good investment is replacing the existing WLAN card. For some reason, even though this is supposed to be their "flagship" gaming laptop, they ship it with basic, budget-level 150Mbps cards. The Atheros-based Azurewave card, in particular, is a bad perfdormaer for many owners.

440hsp
04-21-2012, 01:42 AM
Any suggestions on ssd options that work with my specific laptop and what is the best ram out there to run in my rig?

440hsp
04-21-2012, 01:59 AM
Is this a good brand for a ram upgrade? Samsung MV-3T4G4 4GB DDR3 Laptop SDRAM (1333MHz PC3-10600). I found it on Amazon for 30.00 for a 4gb stick. I have read that samsung makes really good ssd's so i figured they would do so with ram also.

fostert
04-21-2012, 02:28 AM
RAM is RAM really...if it tests out OK with memtest86+ then whether its corsair, or kingston, or samsung it makes little difference. Avoid getting drawn into the performance RAM myth that 1600 or 1866 is significantly faster than 1333. In benchmarks it is sure enough, but in real world apps there is virtually no difference. And one way that manufacturers can rate ICs as stable at >=1600 MHz is to loosen (increase) the timings (from CAS Latency 9 to 10 or 11) which means that the RAM takes more clock cycles to accomplish the same thing as similarly clocked but tighter timed sticks (CL<=9) which you won't find at speeds of 1600. So while 1600 or 1866 MHz RAM looks faster, it comes with a hidden performance cost of timings, and the ultimate speed increase in real world apps (which respond to both timigs and clocks) is imperceptible. And as Marshall says you can't reprogram the timings to tighter values in the G74 since the BIOS functionality is gutted. Trust me, it would be one of the most disappointing upgrades you'll do. See http://www.anandtech.com/show/4503/sandy-bridge-memory-scaling-choosing-the-best-ddr3/8: stick with 1333MHz, or 1600 MHz at the most.
One area where brand name RAM like Corsair is beneficial is support and warranty. If your RAM tests with even one error in memtest86+ corsair will replace it free and immediately. They are amazing.

If you want to run 32GB in the G74 then 1333MHz is the limit. You can run 16GB in the G74 at 1600MHz by choosing two 8GB SODIMMs.

BrodyBoy
04-21-2012, 02:30 AM
Any suggestions on ssd options that work with my specific laptop and what is the best ram out there to run in my rig?
Most SSDs should work....personally, I'm partial to Intel and Crucial. They're reliable and well-supported. RAM is pretty much a commodity these days.....any brand that doesn't have bad user ratings should be fine.

EDIT: Ditto everything fostert said! I couldn't agree more with his comments on RAM.

440hsp
04-21-2012, 02:40 AM
awesome fostert. Thank you for the advice. Will probably just go with corsair 4x4gb sticks @1333.

fostert
04-21-2012, 02:49 AM
good choice for sure. Corsair's got your back. If however you someday want to go up to 32GB then you'll have to replace all 4 sticks.Why not a pair of 8GB DIMMs @ 1333? Like Brody says, 32 GB is overkill for all apps, but I've often thought someone could make a nice 16-24 GB RAM drive with the extra.

440hsp
04-21-2012, 01:35 PM
hey fostert, do you think 3 8gb @1333 sticks would be good. Just using the first 3 ports. I guess just bssically replacing the 4 gb sticks. Is there anything special that i need to do after replacing the ram? I dont even think i have updated the bios on my rig either. Still really new this. I'll probably be ccontacting you for help quite often lolol because i definitely want to do whatever i can to make this beast even better.

440hsp
04-21-2012, 02:03 PM
Found this on corsairs site for the 16 gb setup http://www.corsair.com/memory/intel-memory-upgrades/dual-channel-intel-memory-upgrade-kits/dominator-with-dhx-pro-connector-and-airflow-2-fan-16gb-triple-channel-ddr3-memory-kit-cmp16gx3m4a1333c9.html but i cant seem to find single high quality 8gb sticks like these to do a 24gb setup.

fostert
04-21-2012, 11:56 PM
hey fostert, do you think 3 8gb @1333 sticks would be good. Just using the first 3 ports. I guess just bssically replacing the 4 gb sticks. Is there anything special that i need to do after replacing the ram? I dont even think i have updated the bios on my rig either. Still really new this. I'll probably be ccontacting you for help quite often lolol because i definitely want to do whatever i can to make this beast even better.
I tested 24GB (i.e. 2x8GB + 2x4GB sticks) in my G74 and they worked just fine. The 8GB sticks I am using are these ones: http://www.corsair.com/memory/notebook-memory-upgrades/value-select-8gb-ddr3-sodimm-memory-kit-cmso8gx3m1a1333c9.html
and they played well with my existing pair of 4GB Samsung DDR3 1333 sticks. You can get those corsairs from NCIX for $53 each (Cdn) for example; dirt cheap. If you try 3x8GB it would probably work but the memory likely wouldn't run in dual channel mode (you need to pair up sticks for this) and your bandwidth might fall (i.e. a performance hit). I'd do 2x8GB + 2x4GB if you want a total of 24 GB.

440hsp
04-22-2012, 02:17 AM
that ram idea sounds good and i'm getting the picture on what you are explaining. Can you offer some helpful info on installing a ssd in my laptop. I was told that if i do install a ssd i would have to start all over again and re download all my info to my computer and call windows to get a code to redownload my windows 7. Is this true? If you have a link to installing one step by step for our laptops it would be greatly appreciated. I want to do the ssd but it sounds a little difficult. I know i can do it but i would hate having to put all my programs back on my computer. Help please again. Lolol

fostert
04-22-2012, 03:15 AM
Not having an SSD I can't say much about installation or best performance/practices. But calling Microshaft for another code? No...you can legally download the full Windows 7 DVD (from digitalriver; there are links in the important threads on this forum), which you can install on your new SSD and then activate using the code on the sticker under your notebook, making that copy of Windows legal.
Others here probably have better advice for reactivating a new install of Win7, or even for transferring an existing Win7 install to a new boot drive. Sorry...I am a linux guy, and only grudingly run windows cuz I like Excel.

Strey_Lock
05-02-2012, 03:18 PM
I recently bought the ASUS G74SX DH1 Model on Amazon that came with the 12GB RAM, 1.5 TB HDD (2 750GB drives).

The first thing I did was upgrade the RAM to 16GB with the Samsung DDR3.

In researching regarding SSD vs HDD, I decided to upgrade the main drive to SSD - while keeping the other 750GB drive for storage. I choose Crucial 256GB M4 (bought it on Amazon since it was cheaper - with the transfer kit for about $260). It was a painless experience in upgrading and Crucial has this guide that came with the cloning software and transfer kit. http://www.crucial.com/pdf/NA_Crucial_data_transfer_quick_start_guide_RevA_on line.pdf

Of course the 256GB SSD may be overkill = 128GB is probably enough based on what normal day use.

I was amazed at how fast the start up was- literally less than 15 seconds. The real test was applications since I work with large datasets in Microsoft Access (up to 2 GB). It opened up in 1 second as it if was minimized!!

Windows Experience Index:

Type Before After

Processor 7.6, 7.6
RAM 7.8, 7.9
Graphics 7.2, 7.2
Gaming Graphics 7.2, 7.2
Primary Hard Disk 5.9, 7.9