PDA

View Full Version : Trouble with fan xpert2, anyone else?



adam2104
04-25-2012, 05:50 PM
Has anyone else tried fan xpert2 to any degree? I'm having two problems with it:

1. If I create custom fan speed curves I can save them with the "Save" button. Then, when I reboot the system, only the chassis fan settings are applied. The CPU fan curve defaults back to something else, its own default I suspect.

2. If I use one of the easy mode profiles, "Standard" for example, no profile gets applied when the system boots up. When I select the "Standard" profile manually the CPU fan dials back and one of the front fans turns off completely. If I reboot the system all the fans come back online at the speed the BIOS controls them at. I have to fire up fan xpert2 and reselect the profile manually to get it doing what it should.

Has anyone else seen this?

wingcom
04-26-2012, 04:56 AM
Has anyone else tried fan xpert2 to any degree? I'm having two problems with it:

1. If I create custom fan speed curves I can save them with the "Save" button. Then, when I reboot the system, only the chassis fan settings are applied. The CPU fan curve defaults back to something else, its own default I suspect.

2. If I use one of the easy mode profiles, "Standard" for example, no profile gets applied when the system boots up. When I select the "Standard" profile manually the CPU fan dials back and one of the front fans turns off completely. If I reboot the system all the fans come back online at the speed the BIOS controls them at. I have to fire up fan xpert2 and reselect the profile manually to get it doing what it should.

Has anyone else seen this?


For the first part, I am not quite sure...but for the 2nd part, it seems like once you have done the auto tune, the motherboard Super IO chip will take over everything. From my observation, every cool boot will turn on all my fan first and then later dial back to silent mode until the temperature goes up, the fan will then start operating as per the Super IO chip instruction. Not too sure though.

defyreality
04-29-2012, 06:57 PM
i am having similar problems. Asus Z77 Deluxe. it seems that fan expert does whatever it wants, regaurdless of what i set. doesn't even need a reboot to start changing settings, just flipping through the fan expert screens and it defaults fans to off, or lower than they were set secodns earlier.
auto is just a bad.
i can't even use speedfan or similar programs, as the fans don't show up.

this program is in my mind a giant POS, when my $17 fan controller does a better job than the super fancy program on my brand new, top of the line board, there is a problem.

kgoulden
04-30-2012, 03:47 PM
I have the same sort of problem with fan xpert 2. I will save a modified profile and fans run nice and silent. Om rebooting the speeds default to some values that are not even the preset ones. Very annoying bug as I though Asus had finally cracked it!

nest
05-01-2012, 10:01 AM
The same problem, P8Z77-V Deluxe, FanXpert2 wont ever apply custom settings after restart. Win7Ultimate 64bit CZ.

Someguy316
05-01-2012, 03:40 PM
I also have the first issue, the software is pretty cool but I have to keep loading the profile every time I reboot.

swaussie
05-04-2012, 09:18 PM
I was having the same problem until I disabled the user account control.

Someguy316
05-05-2012, 03:04 PM
I have UAC disabled and it still didn't load the profile for me. Seems like they're going to release an update soon as I found an updated version somewhere else and it does fix the issue.

roblion
05-11-2012, 11:15 PM
has this been fixed yet...its driving me mad!!!! :mad:

its bad enough not having proper control over fan speeds and temps in bios, but i cant rely on xpert2 either, if system sleeps or reboots i have to manually go and re select my fan speed profile......

i've tried speedfan 4.46, and finally got it to work, but it only sees 3 fans (out of 5)....

jcd1981
05-15-2012, 08:17 PM
I may have stumbled across a workaround for this while trying to fix this issue for one of my customers. I found just about the same issue you were having.

Our build is using the new P8Z77-V Deluxe board with an Ivy Bridge processor, running Windows 7 64 Bit Home Premium. We experienced the same issue where the computer would start, and immediately revert to the default fan profile (possibly the one stored in BIOS?).

Fan Xpert IS in fact storing your preferences in a startup file, and is loading them when Windows starts according to your last used fan settings. Every time you change an option in the Fan Xpert, it updates the preference file. This preference file is in XML format and for us is stored in C:\Program Files (x86)\ASUS\AsusFanControlService\1.01.02\FanStore. xml

From my testing, it appears that your fan profile loads when Windows starts the AsusFanControlService.exe file. Everything seems to be running fine. Until the USER logs in. If you look in task manager, the service "C:\Program Files (x86)\ASUS\AI Suite II\AsRoutineController.exe -open" runs "On logon of any user", and seems to overwrite user preferences with either a default, or your motherboards settings, causing you to have to "reload" your fan profile.

In my testing, I found that as a workaround, disabling this task in "Task Scheduler" (Windows 7 x64), keeps the last used fan settings active. The only apparent downside so far is that the Asus AI icon does not go into the system tray on startup, however, you can still seemingly launch and use the AI suite from the start menu, and use all of its features as normal without losing your fan settings.

Let me know please if this information was helpful to you!

If anyone else comes across this information, and finds it useful, please feel free to repost it anywhere you wish. It would be nice to have some replies here, so I know that I helped someone out!

Tripster
05-17-2012, 05:39 PM
I had the same problem. I just uninstalled fan xpert 2 and set fan speeds in BIOS works just as well for me I don't have to mess with it anymore.

Dafojk
05-22-2012, 07:15 PM
Am having the same problems with the fan xpert2. It dosent remember my fan profile setting after a reboot or a sleep. So frustrating!

PLease make af fix for this asus, sux to have to goto the software numerous times a day to make the PC silent!

Board: Asus Maximus V Gene

dimsdale
06-25-2012, 01:46 PM
I'm having the same problems using the latest Fan Xpert from the AI Suite posted on 2012.04.10. Running Win7x64 on an ASUS P8Z77 WS.

I just gave up on the software. Can't get it to reactivate a fan profile automatically and has no explicit setting for a default. If you configure a Manual fan profile in the BIOS, you are just as well off. Realistically, you don't need a whole curve to control the fan.

All you really need to do is this:
When you are pounding the heck out of your CPU, run the fan at x%.
All other times, run the fan at y%.
Make x=100 and y=50. Done.

For the temperature thresholds for use in the BIOS fan control, don't use the core temps in RealTemp. The BIOS uses a different temp. If you run AIDA64, it is what is called the "CPU" temp. It's about 20*C lower than the cores. So if you use RealTemp to pick your thresholds, you would probably never hit the upper threshold for the higher duty cycle.

Anthrox
11-03-2012, 11:34 AM
Also having the same problem with a Maximus V GENE turn on the computer and FAN's dont spin until ajust the rpm then it works

also not being able to control the CPU_OPT is a bit of a pain

Squallalaha
11-05-2012, 04:46 PM
also not being able to control the CPU_OPT is a bit of a pain

This on a MVF , can't control two items, a Cougar PWM and a Swiftech MCP35x . both stay at maximum speed all the time.

Trying to use the autotune/find all fans, yields same result. No control, Blacked out, but show RPM.

Jimmy_DA
12-13-2012, 05:23 AM
Hello fellow ROG owners,

I've had issues with the latest AI Suite II update also

(ref to: http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?25158-problem-with-windows-startup)

There has been start up issues with the suite, particularly the new updated Fan Xpert causing system start up delays within windows. This issue is known by ASUS and its been stated they have a solution to this coming in a new update yet to be released.

Also I've noticed for myself since updating to the latest AI Suite available Windows now beleives i do not have any anti-virus or firewall software installed, when in fact i do and recently I'm noticing being disconnected from EA servers due to the connection being lost with the server, which has happened on multiple games from EA. I believe the new AI Suite is the reason for this as I've noticed its only started to happen since updating the software.