PDA

View Full Version : How to improve performance of Battlefild 3 on G74SX?



Lazer77
04-28-2012, 08:44 PM
I had to completely reformat my harddrive. I cannot recall which driver I had previously, although I know it was to improve the performance of Battlefield 3. The last driver I installed that was for Battlefield 3 actually caused a lot of errors. Particularly, I was unable to recover my laptop from hibernation about 25% of the time.

Before, Battlefield 3 ran with little to no lag and I had it set on decent settings. Now the framerate is very choppy at very similar settings. Does anyone have any advice?

fuzon1337
04-28-2012, 09:56 PM
As I can understand you have done a clean install ?

Then you should install right drivers to optimize your notebook:

List by @BrodyBoy
Chipset driver
Intel RST
Intel MEI
Fresco USB 3.0
nVidia Graphics
Realtek LAN
Realtek cardreader
WLAN (Atheros or Intel, depending on your machine)
Asus ATK Package
Touchpoad (not absolutely essential, since the generic MS drivers is quite functional)
Bluetooth (if present and needed)
Realtek audio (not absolutely essential, depending on your usage)

Also which driver are you useing on the nvidia card ?

Lazer77
04-28-2012, 09:59 PM
I believe I have all of the required drivers. This was a few months back, just now getting around to playing BF3. I am currently using the 285.62 driver, it was the first one I found that allowed me to hibernate without any problems.

I tried some of the drivers that said that improve BF3 performance (can't recall which ones), but they caused problems with hibernating so I downgraded.

fuzon1337
04-28-2012, 10:04 PM
Hmm.... if it worked fine before, then you can use Windows restore, and restore your notebook to an earlier time when it worked without any issues.

Also if you want you can download CCleaner and run the register check, if you choose to use this, be sure to uncheck the toolbar option unless you want it.
http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download/standard
(run the register check until it doesn't find any issues)

Lazer77
04-28-2012, 10:11 PM
Honestly I'd rather avoid doing Windows restore, I had several other issues, including the virus which crashed my computer.

fuzon1337
04-28-2012, 10:15 PM
Uhm.... not factory restore... completly different then Windows restore.... :) you set your notebook back to the time when it worked fine without any issues :) I assume you did a clean install because of the virus and such ?

EDIT: If you still think that you have a virus on your notebook, then I can give you a link to a good program :)
It's called Combofix, but I will give you the right link if you want it :)

Lazer77
04-29-2012, 12:06 AM
Ahh I see, I may look into that actually. Sure the program won't hurt! Better safe than sorry, although I think its gone.