PDA

View Full Version : Cant enable SLI mode with FX 8150 mounted



Laowei
04-29-2012, 09:47 AM
Hi there.

I have recently installed a FX8150 instead of my old Athlon II 640, and now my two Geforce
GTS 450 refuse to enable SLI, driver disable and screen go back to 800 x 600 resolution.

I suspected that the power hungry Dozer was pushing my power supply a bit over the limit so I upgraded to a Corsair AX1200, thinking that I then would be safe for more or less any upgrade I might think of later, (yes yes I know that 1200 W might be a bit over kill :) ), however it did not solve my SLI problem.

Do any of you know if there is something I need to set up in the Bios related to GPU's, when a FX CPU is installed compared to a Athlon ?

Tried out so far:
Checked all cables installed correctly and secure.
Reinstall Nvidia drivers 296.10 after cleaning up with Driver sweeper, no luck.
Replaced old PSU 750W with new 1200W no luck.
Installed old CPU again just to check if GPU's were OK, SLI working fine.
Installed FX8150, checked cables, SLI don't work again.
Both cards are present in Nvidia control Panel and windows device manager

Everything is running stock settings, except my gray hair gene that has gone into overdrive :)

Any suggestions are very welcome.

Thanks in advance



My rig:

Mobo: CHVF BIOS 1102
CPU: FX8150
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Cooling: Cooler master V6 2 x chassis fan 120mm
RAM: 2 x Corsair 4GB 1600
GPU: 2 x Geforce GTS 450 (Galaxy 2GB DDR5)
HDD: 2 x 2TB Seagate Baracuda (Raid0) Storage
SSD: 2 x 60GB OCZ Agility3 (RAID0) OS
OS: WIN 7 Ultimate 64

kkn
04-29-2012, 10:51 AM
weird, im gona be an ass and ask if you have instaled w7 after instaled the 8150 after swithed from the 640??

Laowei
04-29-2012, 11:08 AM
Hi kkn

No I did not reinstall w7 after the CPU switch, should that really be necessary?

kkn
04-29-2012, 11:26 AM
cant say for shure, if you have a spare hdd you can try it whit that, and that way you dont miss all the data on the one you use for os now.
becouse the w7 ( xp did ) store the cpu in its system info and online on wins's ident servers ( w7/xp/vista key identify server )

HiVizMan
04-29-2012, 01:24 PM
Please could you do this for me. Check each card individually outside of the motherboard. Maybe one of them has had a little moment.

Laowei
04-30-2012, 01:54 AM
Hi HiVizMan

I am quite sure the cards are working, the reason why I think that is:

Original i had the 640 installed and the two 450 cards and it was working in SLI, then I got the 8150 and installed that one, then I cant go to SLI, hmm, I thought that it was the PSU causing it, so I got a bigger one, it did not solve it, so back in with the 640 and hooray the SLI works fine, hmm lets try the 8150 again, very carefully mounting it without touching the 450 cards, power up an guess what, cant go to SLI again, that makes me wonder if there is something I missed in Bios or ??

BTW I checked both card individually on the CHVF without problems :) I also tried to switch them in the slots without any luck.

My rig:

Mobo: CHVF BIOS 1102
CPU: FX8150
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Cooling: Cooler master V6 2 x chassis fan 120mm
RAM: 2 x Corsair 4GB 1600
GPU: 2 x Geforce GTS 450 (Galaxy 2GB DDR5)
HDD: 2 x 2TB Seagate Baracuda (Raid0) Storage
SSD: 2 x 60GB OCZ Agility3 (RAID0) OS
OS: WIN 7 Ultimate 64

Xtreme-Performance
04-30-2012, 02:11 AM
Sorry if I maybe a pidgin but I recall they have a Nvidia 301.24 update version that says it fixes the bugs for higher version of GPU but just a little warning it's still on beta driver...

I'm sure some people can handle beta's in this forum but I'm a bit of a novice being a pidgin an all... so I'm familiar with beta versions and I don't have much knowledgable for debugging beta versions...

I'm not sure if it's recommendable... I usually stay way from beta's unless it's Diablo 3 lol...


http://www.nvidia.com/object/win7-winvista-64bit-301.24-beta-driver.html



GeForce R300 Driver




Version:
301.24 BETA


Release Date:
2012.04.09


Operating System:
Windows Vista 64-bit, Windows 7 64-bit


Language:
English (U.S.)


File Size:
160 MB






http://www.nvidia.com/content/DriverDownload-March2009/includes/us/images/bttn_download.jpg (http://www.nvidia.com/content/DriverDownload-March2009/confirmation.php?url=/Windows/301.24/301.24-desktop-win7-winvista-64bit-english-beta.exe&lang=us&type=GeForce)






Release Highlights
Supported products
Additional information




http://www.nvidia.com/content/EMEAI/_new_drivers_download/download_page/images/nav_tab_on.jpg This is the first unified driver from the R300 family of drivers (versions 300.00 to 301.99).
GeForce R300 drivers are packed with new industry-leading, GeForce-exclusive features as well as some really nice performance increases in top games.
New in R300 Drivers:

New GPU Support – Adds support for the new GeForce GTX 680 (http://www.geforce.com/hardware/desktop-gpus/geforce-gtx-680), the fastest, most efficient GPU ever built. Explore GeForce GTX 680 and its new SMX architecture on GeForce.com (http://www.geforce.com/whats-new/articles/introducing-the-geforce-gtx-680-gpu/).


Performance Boost – Increases performance for GeForce 400 Series and 500 Series GPUs in several PC games vs. GeForce 296.10 WHQL-certified drivers. Results will vary depending on your GPU and system configuration: GeForce GTX 570/580:


Up to 23% in Just Cause 2 with SLI
Up to 21% in The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
Up to 17% in StarCraft II with SLI
Up to 14% in Far Cry 2 with SLI
Up to 9% in Bulletstorm
Up to 7% in Civilization V
Up to 6% in Deus Ex: Human Revolution with SLI
Up to 6% in Dragon Age 2 with SLI
Up to 5% in Metro 2033 with SLI
Up to 5% in Total War: Shogun 2

GeForce GTX 560/560 Ti:


Up to 20% in The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
Up to 15% in Just Cause 2 with SLI
Up to 13% in Far Cry 2 with SLI
Up to 12% in Bulletstorm
Up to 11% in Civilization V
Up to 10% in StarCraft II with SLI
Up to 9% in Batman: Arkham City
Up to 4% in Deus Ex: Human Revolution with SLI
Up to 4% in Dragon Age 2 with SLI
Up to 4% in Metro 2033 with SLI
Up to 4% in Total War: Shogun 2




NVIDIA FXAA Technology – shader-based anti-aliasing technology available from the NVIDIA Control Panel that enables ultra-fast anti-aliasing in hundreds of PC games. FXAA delivers similar quality to 4x multi-sample antialiasing (MSAA) but is up to 60% faster, enabling substantially higher performance in games. FXAA is supported on all GeForce 8-series and later GPUs. Note: This feature is disabled for games that already have built-in support for FXAA. Visit GeForce.com to learn more. (http://www.geforce.com/whats-new/articles/nvidia-geforce-301.24-beta-drivers-released/)
NVIDIA Surround Accessory Display (http://www.geforce.com/whats-new/articles/nvidia-surround-on-the-geforce-gtx-680/#accessorydisplay) : Enable a fourth ‘Accessory Display’ to check emails, browse the web, or access other applications while in-game. This feature is supported on the GeForce GTX 680. On prior generation GPUs, this feature is supported in NVIDIA Surround mode with a third graphics card.


NVIDIA Adaptive Vertical Sync – dynamically enables vertical sync based on your current frame rates for the smoothest gaming experience. Adaptive VSync is supported on all GeForce 8-series and later GPUs. Visit GeForce.com to learn more. (http://www.geforce.com/whats-new/articles/nvidia-geforce-301.24-beta-drivers-released/)


NVIDIA Frame Rate Target – dynamically adjusts frame rate to a user specified target. Support for this feature is enabled via third party applications via NVAPI. Visit GeForce.com to learn more. (http://www.geforce.com/whats-new/articles/nvidia-geforce-301.24-beta-drivers-released/)


NVIDIA Surround Technology – Adds the following new Surround capabilities. Visit GeForce.com to learn more. (http://www.geforce.com/whats-new/articles/nvidia-geforce-301.24-beta-drivers-released/)



Add in a fourth accessory display to get access to your email, web, or other applications while you game.
Maximize an application to a single physical display when in Surround mode (enabled by default).
Confine the Windows Taskbar to the center display (enabled by default).
Enable bezel peeking – a feature which enables users to temporarily ‘peak’ behind the monitor bezels using a hotkey (Ctrl + Alt + B). This feature is designed to be used in conjunction with bezel corrected resolutions.
Add or remove resolutions from the list of Surround resolutions (only those selected will be available to applications).
Full center display acceleration for single wide display modes (center display must be connected to the master GPU).



NVIDIA SLI Technology – Adds or updates the following SLI profiles:

Alan Wake
Call of Juarez: The Cartel
Counter-Strike: Global Offensive
Deus Ex: Human Revolution - The Missing Link
Left 4 Dead
Orcs Must Die!
Portal 2
Risen 2: Dark Waters
The Darkness II



NVIDIA 3D Vision – Adds or updates the following 3D Vision profiles:

All Zombies Must Die! – rated Fair
Ghosts 'n Goblins Online – rated Good
Oil Rush – rated 3D Vision Ready
Postal III – rated Good
Rayman Origins – rated Good
SevenCore – rated Fair
Stacking – rated Good
Unigine Heaven Benchmark v3.0 – rated 3D Vision Ready
Wargame: European Escalation – rated Good
Warp – rated Good
Wings of Prey – rated Fair
Krater – rated Poor

Other Details

Installs PhysX System Software v9.12.0213.
Installs HD Audio v1.3.12.0.
Supports OpenGL 4.2
Supports DisplayPort 1.2 for GeForce GTX 680.
Supports multiple languages and APIs for GPU computing: CUDA C, CUDA C++, CUDA Fortran, OpenCL, DirectCompute, and Microsoft C++ AMP.
Supports single GPU and NVIDIA SLI technology on DirectX 9, DirectX 10, DirectX 11, and OpenGL, including 3-way SLI, Quad SLI, and SLI support on SLI-certified Intel and AMD motherboards.

Laowei
04-30-2012, 03:34 AM
Hi XP

Just tried 301.24, deleting all old drivers and run driver sweeper until everything was removed, after installing 301.24 the problem is still the same :(

Thanks for your suggestion.

Laowei
04-30-2012, 11:51 AM
Hi everyone

I need your help here, I have so far been fighting with this issue for more that 2 months, reading through numerous forums at Nvidia, Asus, AMD, so any suggestion would be very appreciated. :)

kkn
04-30-2012, 02:53 PM
did you try what i did write??
instal os on a hdd thats not in use and see if that work?? ( whit the 8150 )
i had to do it when i switched from 1100 to 8150 prosessor.