PDA

View Full Version : asus g73sw shutdown when playing games



yetirog
04-29-2012, 05:46 PM
its just shuts off, no warning, errorcode, just shuts off like the power dissapears.
temps are fine in both cpu and gpu!!! not over 70c in cpu and 80c in gpu.
anyone else experiencing this?
battfield 3 and guildwars2 beta so far shuts down the laptop randomly. :(

dstrakele
04-29-2012, 06:07 PM
If you are actually logging temperatures, so you can see the maximum just prior to shutdown, it sounds like your battery may be showing its age or need to be recalibrated. In other words, the amount of power actually remaining in the battery is less than displayed by the monitor.

How old is your battery?

What is its Wear Level in HWINFO64?

Do these shutdowns occur if the laptop runs only on the power adapter with the battery removed? If so, your power adapter may be defective or your power source is bad.

yetirog
04-29-2012, 06:33 PM
If you are actually logging temperatures, so you can see the maximum just prior to shutdown, it sounds like your battery may be showing its age or need to be recalibrated. In other words, the amount of power actually remaining in the battery is less than displayed by the monitor.

How old is your battery?

What is its Wear Level in HWINFO64?

Do these shutdowns occur if the laptop runs only on the power adapter with the battery removed? If so, your power adapter may be defective or your power source is bad.

maximum temp is about 70-80 c degrees when playing.
Yes it occurs with battery unplugged with only power cable connected.
The power source is good have tried it in different places.
Could be the poweradapter i dont know, But someting is deffenently wrong, ive runned furmark and 3dvantage, for like 40 mins each with no shutdown, But nos when i play gw2 beta it shuts down after 10 mins!!.

dstrakele
04-29-2012, 06:52 PM
I would log temperatures in HWINFO64 or SpeedFan to see the true maximum at the moment of shutdown to eliminate overheating as a cause.

yetirog
04-29-2012, 07:07 PM
I would log temperatures in HWINFO64 or SpeedFan to see the true maximum at the moment of shutdown to eliminate overheating as a cause.

ok downloaded speed fan now, but how do i do logs that shows temps, alla i se in the logs r 5 digit numbers=/
i also use msi afterburner to track gpu temps, and they r the same that shows in speedfan now.

yetirog
04-29-2012, 07:32 PM
i have now played gw2 beta in 20 mins without shutdown highest temps i reached is 69 c gpu and 65 c in any of the 4 cpu cores.

dstrakele
04-29-2012, 07:53 PM
ok downloaded speed fan now, but how do i do logs that shows temps, alla i se in the logs r 5 digit numbers=/
i also use msi afterburner to track gpu temps, and they r the same that shows in speedfan now.

If you only check the "Enabled" checkbox in the "Log" tab of SpeedFan's "Configure" window, the log will only report a "Seconds" field. The 5 digit numbers are seconds from midnight. You must select the "Temperatures" tab and select "GPU", then check the "Logged" checkbox at the bottom of the window to add it as a separate field to the log. Select the CPU cores 0-3 individually and do the same.

If temperatures remain reasonable up to the point of shutdown, your troubleshooting to date indicates you should focus on the power adapter as the possible cause.

http://www.guildwars2guru.com/topic/29774-computer-shutting-down-while-playing-games/ reports a similar issue on a desktop system that turned out to be PSU-related.

yetirog
04-30-2012, 02:13 PM
looked in the eventlog and se this:
error, event 41, kernel power, event id 6008.

dstrakele
04-30-2012, 03:30 PM
That error event means the system shut down unexpectedly. Do you see any other Errors or Warnings in the System or Application Event Logs preceding it? Check up to 2 hours prior.

yetirog
05-01-2012, 11:33 AM
That error event means the system shut down unexpectedly. Do you see any other Errors or Warnings in the System or Application Event Logs preceding it? Check up to 2 hours prior.

Ok will do, ive tested with a friends same laptop power adapter whithout the battery plugged in and it still shut down and its not a temperature shutdown or power shutdown, sounds like some hardware that is sending error signals forcing it to shut down? Gonna check more in the logs tonight.;) thank u for helping me out in this matter dude:)!

dstrakele
05-01-2012, 01:26 PM
How long have you owned this laptop?

How long have you experienced this issue?

yetirog
05-01-2012, 11:30 PM
ive first noticed this issue when i bought bf3 its like 6 months ago but because it has only happened when playing bf3 i have allways thought it was something with the games coding or something that my laptop didnt like, but now when it happens to one other game i realise that it must be hardware related, im thinking that something, MB or/and graphics card sends out a signal to protect system from hardware damage or something and forcing it to emergency shutdown. ?
ive owned it since like last summer almost a year.

dstrakele
05-01-2012, 11:49 PM
Any luck delving into the System and Application Event Logs?

Is Power4Gear installed on your system?

yetirog
05-02-2012, 12:07 AM
i find no real connection between what is happening b4 shutdown, one is where bf3 was just not responding but that only made it crash to desktop.
yes i have power 4 gear installed. why can that **** **** it up?

dstrakele
05-02-2012, 12:33 AM
I've been getting suspicious lately that Power4Gear goes haywire in the heat of battle, and believes it has encountered a scenario where it needs to shut the system down, even though that scenario hasn't taken place.

However, it may also be possible that you have an electrical short in your system that eventually draws enough power to shut the system down, most likely when you're in a high power draw situation.

yetirog
05-02-2012, 12:42 AM
ok, so now i have removed power4gear and set my energy settings to high performance and set harddrives to never shut down.
read about a guy on another forum that got the tip of doing this, though it didnt help for him, im gonna try play tomorrow and se if it changes anything.
power4gear is removed via control panel and a restart of the laptop.
once again, thank u sooo much for helping me and giving me tips, alot appriciated my friend;)

dstrakele
05-02-2012, 01:29 AM
There is a thread I replied to today where 2 people report their laptop shuts down in hibernation randomly during games when they play on an attached external monitor.

They report they play with the laptop lid closed. Even though they may have configured the lid action to do nothing and also disable hibernation in power options. This makes me suspect something is going screwy in power management, and getting rid of Power4Gear, so there is one less driver managing power options its probably a good thing.

Damned if I can find that thread now though....

yetirog
05-02-2012, 05:40 AM
i think i read it last night;) a part of it though, ill give it a shot. let u know later tonight.

yetirog
05-02-2012, 11:04 AM
i think i read it last night;) a part of it though, ill give it a shot. let u know later tonight.
ive now tested it and it shut off like after 8 min of gameplay, no power4gear installed....

found this thread seems like the motherboard has som sort of limiter built in, but if it shuts down on stock clocks like mine did i guildwars 3 beta, it soemthing wrong right?

http://forum.notebookreview.com/asus-gaming-notebook-forum/612975-asus-g73jw-shutdown-gtx460m-overclock-gpu-safety-shutdown-forced-possible-solution.html

dstrakele
05-02-2012, 12:56 PM
http://www.guildwarsguru.com/forum/computer-shuts-off-t10364916.html reports shoe similar to yours on a lesser system. Memory testing also cause to system to shut down. I recommend testing your system with memtest86+. Test test 1 pair of memory sticks at a time, using 3 passes.

You could also run CHKDSK C: /F /R to confirm your file system is sound.

Did you find any relevant Warnings or Errors in the System or Application Event Logs?

In a last attempt to avoid RMA, you can back up your system, then perform an ASUS Factory Restore. Then attempt to reproduce the shut down. This is likely what they would do at the service center.

yetirog
05-02-2012, 02:25 PM
http://www.guildwarsguru.com/forum/computer-shuts-off-t10364916.html reports shoe similar to yours on a lesser system. Memory testing also cause to system to shut down. I recommend testing your system with memtest86+. Test test 1 pair of memory sticks at a time, using 3 passes.

You could also run CHKDSK C: /F /R to confirm your file system is sound.

Did you find any relevant Warnings or Errors in the System or Application Event Logs?


In a last attempt to avoid RMA, you can back up your system, then perform an ASUS Factory Restore. Then attempt to reproduce the shut down. This is likely what they would do at the service center.

ive ran memtest for 8,5 hours b4, zeeero errors!!.
what do u mean by system log and application log, ive looked at all logs in eventlog but cant find any connection between the error shutdowns and something other :/.
i have restored to factory default several times.
i havnt tried with chdsk, is it just to start that and let it do its thingy? its built in in windows right?
im afraid that the guys that will check my asus out when i rma it wont be able se the problem when they dont test a game=/.
this kinda sucks.

dstrakele
05-02-2012, 02:39 PM
1) Did you test one pair of memory sticks at a time, using 3 passes each? That's the way I would do it. Still, it looks like the odds are small you will identify bad memory.

Having a game access a memory region that is not touched when running a Furmark or 3DMark stress test sure seemed like a good explanation for your issue.

2) CHKDSK is included in Windows. You right-click on the Command Prompt icon, choose "Run as administrator", and enter the command CHKDSK C: /F /R. You'll get a message that you'll need to reboot. I'm assuming Windows is installed on C: on your system. Since you've reproduced the shutdown with a Factory Restore, there is no need to proceed with this test.

3) Launch Event Viewer, on the left side, expand "Windows Logs", select "System", scan for Errors and Warnings up to 2 hours (or startup, whichever comes first) prior to the shutdown, Select "Application" and repeat. Do the Errors and Warnings point to any troubleshooting direction?

There is a thread where the user had a BSOD issue that looked for all the world like a bad hard drive (see http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?11400-G73JH-Woes-amp-Problems). But by troubleshooting the System Event Log, he noticed errors that the WiFi card was failing. When he removed the defective WiFi card, his issue was resolved.

4) Reproducing the shutdown on a Factory Restore with only the game installed (no other programs) most likely points toward a hardware problem. If it is an easily reproducible scenario, write it down with as much detail as possible and include it in the box when you RMA. In fact, I'd tape it to the keyboard so the tech is sure to see it. Discuss the repro scenario on the phone or in the email when you request the RMA. Send the system with a fresh Factory Restore and the game already installed.

No doubt about it, hardware problems suck. But unfortunately, they do happen... At least you know you did the best you could to troubleshoot the issue and try to avoid RMA.

Setrobaga
05-03-2012, 10:13 AM
Hello,

just to trow some info, i have the exact same problem my model is the G73jw.
First notice this in game Vindicus, thought it has something related to game coding, then it happen with Might and Magic Heroes 5, Mount and Blade Napolionic and some more others games.
At the time i has trying to fix this, i've left memory test's running, CPU test stress for 4h, GPU test stress and never had a shutdown, and im games i have :|.
One thing i notice sometimes it seens like random i can have a shutdown after 5 min play, or 2h of play with the same game and same defenitions.

Hope this info can help :)

Best Regards,
Setro

yetirog
05-03-2012, 12:13 PM
guys ive stumbled across a possibe fix, the new nvidia beta driver 301.26, ive installed it yesterday. u have to set FXAA in nvidia control panel to ON and disable all antialiasing in games! i did this and now i have been playing bf3 caspian border wich always shut me down. been playing in 2,5 hours yesterday and like 1,5 hours today without a shutdown. appearently this new driver lower the power demand on gpus with some new features, read it on a forum yesterday, dont remeber which but i seems to work, ive pushed my laptop hard now which in the other cases would have shut it down but now it seems much more stable, try this http://www.nvidia.co.uk/object/notebook-win7-winvista-64bit-301.24-beta-driver-uk.html =).
the asus g73sw seems to shut down because of some sensetive hardware that protecs the gpu and mobo, apearantly its toooooo sensitive when some games shuts down on stock clocks....

dstrakele
05-03-2012, 12:38 PM
Here's another thread with some more info on this issue: http://forum.notebookreview.com/asus-gaming-notebook-forum/659101-pci-e-2-0-possibly-causing-random-shutdowns-games-g73.html

yetirog
05-03-2012, 01:18 PM
Here's another thread with some more info on this issue: http://forum.notebookreview.com/asus-gaming-notebook-forum/659101-pci-e-2-0-possibly-causing-random-shutdowns-games-g73.html
read it b4 gonna post a thred on this possiblefix=)

evga
05-03-2012, 04:20 PM
you power supply doesnt give enough power for these games , are you running it overclocked?
you could try 180W targus psu , I'm using an 65W power adapter with my Asus G73Jh , but for no luck I cant game in this , when I open a game , all of sudden it will turn off it self like you unplug the powersupply without battery.

yetirog
05-03-2012, 06:58 PM
you power supply doesnt give enough power for these games , are you running it overclocked?
you could try 180W targus psu , I'm using an 65W power adapter with my Asus G73Jh , but for no luck I cant game in this , when I open a game , all of sudden it will turn off it self like you unplug the powersupply without battery.
that dosnt seem to work either on this issue, people have tried this and it wont work, one dude connected the gpu to a standalone powersource, same issue, the issue seems to be a oversensetive failsafe mechanism in the gpu in the 460 m.
i run the 150 w original powersupply adapter.

evga
05-04-2012, 05:47 AM
OH SORRY!
I thought it was a hd 5870m.

yetirog
05-06-2012, 07:56 PM
still getting shutdowns OC:ed gonna try lower it

yetirog
05-07-2012, 09:02 PM
the whole screen got very distorted with crazy purple colours and pixeled rendering when watching a youtube clip just no, is that a indication that my graphics chip is dying?