PDA

View Full Version : 2600k on dry ice



pcjunkie209
01-22-2011, 06:11 AM
I will do some dice in the am tomorrow and post some pics. Retail 2600k is D2 revision and my understanding is D0 & D1 is no good at subzero FYI.

pcjunkie209
01-23-2011, 10:36 PM
Well no point in putting up pics. Sabertooth is no good on oc. Unless I did something wrong. I tryed everything. 4.8ghz on stock cooler or pot that's it. I am gonna get a different board. IMO don't buy if gonna oc past that or until newer bios release.

xeromist
01-24-2011, 01:54 AM
Bummer :( I'm thinking it may take a generation before the manufacturers work out all of the kinks.

69_Goat
01-24-2011, 02:37 AM
What bios are you using?

There are a couple new bios here:

http://www.hwbot.org/forum/showthread.php?t=15952

pcjunkie209
01-24-2011, 04:04 AM
thanks Goat i'll try again. i checked Asus website and i have the one they have how come these aren't there?

martin_metal_88
01-24-2011, 09:35 AM
Can;t wait to see some result dude! Carry on and don't kill it ;)

pcjunkie209
01-25-2011, 05:29 AM
Ok Goat I just updated bios. We will see what happens. Gonna start with air. I'll update this tonight.

Update- a little better 5.3ghz

elmy
01-29-2011, 08:44 PM
If you have say ram that is rated at 2133 run it at 1866 and ram rated at 1866 run it at 1600 and so on. Run it at one rating less than it is rated at. That is what I've experienced so far. Also get ram rated at 1.5 volts instead of 1.65 also helps out in a few cases as well.

reflex99
01-30-2011, 04:22 AM
SB does very poorly at sub ambient temps.

the best you can do is a nice air cooler, even water is overkill.


Trust me, a bunch of us over at OCN tried, but dice/ln2 doesn't help anything

http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1606285

^that was on air, with a broken bios

pcjunkie209
01-30-2011, 10:07 AM
If you have say ram that is rated at 2133 run it at 1866 and ram rated at 1866 run it at 1600 and so on. Run it at one rating less than it is rated at. That is what I've experienced so far. Also get ram rated at 1.5 volts instead of 1.65 also helps out in a few cases as well.
i have a 2000 kit running at 1066 till i find stablebility then i wil dial in ram.


SB does very poorly at sub ambient temps.

the best you can do is a nice air cooler, even water is overkill.


Trust me, a bunch of us over at OCN tried, but dice/ln2 doesn't help anything

http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1606285

^that was on air, with a broken bios
well FYI my D2 chip seems to run sub temps ok but i am tryin to find air threshold first. also i am using 1253 bios on sabertooth

ottoyu34
01-30-2011, 06:47 PM
so it really doesn't like cold?

martin_metal_88
01-30-2011, 07:01 PM
That's because they love the heat of your love :) Carry on junkie!

pcjunkie209
01-30-2011, 07:47 PM
so it really doesn't like cold?
Well Otto from everything I've been told there's no point if u can hit almost 6 ghz but I was able to run mine in the negative. But I kept the temps above -25c and it worked just fine. I figured since everyone was telling me it wouldn't work and also what I read backed up their claims I would try a different sub temp so I booted at -10 and tryed to keep it in-between that and -25 and I didn't have any troubles booting. But I haven't tryed the new bios I am using. I want to find my wall on air first.

dvast8n
01-30-2011, 11:37 PM
Good stuff!

I can't wait to hear more about it.

69_Goat
02-25-2011, 01:14 AM
The term you're looking for is "sublimate".

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sublimation_(phase_transition)

pcjunkie209
03-13-2011, 08:00 AM
I know that building my own pc instead of buying a new one is the better way to go when it comes to price. But the issue is; I don't know how to do that. I have here a dvd which has a tutorial on how to build a pc.

what does that have to do with DRY ICE???

69_Goat
03-13-2011, 11:40 PM
I was wondering that, also.
Then I looked at my post, and the post I was answering is missing in action.
Not sure if someone was doing some house cleaning in this thread.

pcjunkie209
03-15-2011, 07:24 AM
I was wondering that, also.
Then I looked at my post, and the post I was answering is missing in action.
Not sure if someone was doing some house cleaning in this thread.

looks like someone cleaned the thread and all the others that dumby posted on. lol

xeromist
03-15-2011, 08:23 PM
I was wondering that, also.
Then I looked at my post, and the post I was answering is missing in action.
Not sure if someone was doing some house cleaning in this thread.

It was a spam bot and was dealt with accordingly.

V2-V3
03-24-2011, 04:39 AM
pcjunkie,

I have tested the Sabertooth P67 and love the board, I have not seen any limitation in extreme overclocking w/ LN2 or standard air cooling. I must say Overclocking sandybridge is like playing Russian roulette, I have tested over a dozen 2600K's and several 2500K's all behaved very differently. I saw no gain in over clocking or stability when running at temperatures below 0c. The 2500K's seem to hold 5.0GHZ - 5.2GHz and the 2600K's I tested ranged anywhere from 4.8GHz - 5.450GHz
I can reach the same speed on air as with LN2 @ -160c.

I believe its the limitation of "Internal PLL" core voltage. to get the most out of your CPU you must enable the "Internal PLL Voltage Override" within the ASUS BIOS. there is no way to manually tune this voltage beyond the Enable & Disable setting.

pcjunkie209
03-29-2011, 06:45 AM
[QUOTE=V2-V3;12437]pcjunkie,

I have tested the Sabertooth P67 and love the board, I have not seen any limitation in extreme overclocking w/ LN2 or standard air cooling. I must say Overclocking sandybridge is like playing Russian roulette, I have tested over a dozen 2600K's and several 2500K's all behaved very differently. I saw no gain in over clocking or stability when running at temperatures below 0c. The 2500K's seem to hold 5.0GHZ - 5.2GHz and the 2600K's I tested ranged anywhere from 4.8GHz - 5.450GHz
I can reach the same speed on air as with LN2 @ -160c.

I believe its the limitation of "Internal PLL" core voltage. to get the most out of your CPU you must enable the "Internal PLL Voltage Override" within the ASUS BIOS. there is no way to manually tune this voltage beyond the Enable & Disable setting.

thanks. i had a 5.4 on air then it stopped booting so off to rma. now i mess with something else....:)

V2-V3
03-29-2011, 08:30 AM
I wonder what killed the CPU, I have a 2600K that has been crunching Prime 95 @ 5300MHz for 2 months now no errors. 1.55V 60c on H20

What voltages values were you using for the CPU Core, CPU PLL, DRAM, etc...?

pcjunkie209
03-29-2011, 02:06 PM
I wonder what killed the CPU, I have a 2600K that has been crunching Prime 95 @ 5300MHz for 2 months now no errors. 1.55V 60c on H20

What voltages values were you using for the CPU Core, CPU PLL, DRAM, etc...?

It was the Mobo. Stopped picking up boot drive on sata3

V2-V3
03-29-2011, 05:46 PM
By SATA3 do you mean the 3GBPs Port?

pcjunkie209
03-30-2011, 06:56 AM
By SATA3 do you mean the 3GBPs Port?

i am not that big a noob...lol no the 6gb or 3gb sata either one. i kept getting red light on boot device...

V2-V3
07-01-2011, 04:11 AM
strange that the motherboard would not pick up the drive on any of the ports or on either of the controllers, makes me think its a bad drive and or SATA cable.