PDA

View Full Version : ROG Tytan CG8580 Upgraded - Video



Myk SilentShadow
05-09-2012, 11:39 AM
Our ROG Tytan CG8580 just got upgraded with an Intel Core i7-3770K and GeForce GTX 680, among others. Check out our new video and let us know what you think!


http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=rFKxbnw3ULo

(Apologies if i'm not supposed to start this thread, but I had a couple questions I wanted to ask about it...you guys are getting slow at linking in matching discussion threads :p oh and there is no RoG Desktop section of the Forums...so I hope it's ok to post this here, if not I do apologise :) )

Myk SilentShadow
05-09-2012, 11:49 AM
Ok so I had a look at the new version of what you guys have done with this Desktop and I am pretty impressed, but, I do have a couple questions regarding it.

1. It says 4-Display on single GTX 680.....I know Video Cards are getting more and more powerful, but is this even possible?! I figured the most displays a single card could support was 2....wouldn't running 4 displays off one card really tax the 680's resources? and if this is the case then I guess fewer system builders will need more than a single card to run more than 2 monitors...lol there goes multi-card sales :p

2. Intel? *sighs* ok so maybe some people may be getting sick of me rambling on about this...but why the heck hasn't ASUS/RoG offered an AMD Desktop yet? I know, I know.....AMD's CPU's aren't able to support PCIe 3.0 fully until the SteamRoller chip comes out....but can't they(ASUS/RoG) still at least offer an AMD based Desktop too? I fail to see why all OEM's feel a need to only offer Intel based systems all the time......we are Republic of Gamers...not Alienware....we support both sides of the CPU powered market...not just one when it comes to products that are released :p :cool:

_
05-09-2012, 11:59 AM
No this is fine!! Sorry, yes, I am getting a bit slow picking up on other things in the office :( I will get on it tomorrow and do the backlog from the last two weeks I was away!

1) Yes you can run 4 displays on a single GTX 680, just like you can run up to 5 on an AMD card since the 5000 series. We are planning to put together a triple monitor setup on this machine tomorrow/Friday and test some games to show it really is possible!

2) No AMD ROG desktops right now sorry. Desktop PM decided the Intel performance and OC is better and we only make one at a time. It will be continually evaluated with each release.

Myk SilentShadow
05-09-2012, 12:26 PM
No this is fine!! Sorry, yes, I am getting a bit slow picking up on other things in the office :( I will get on it tomorrow and do the backlog from the last two weeks I was away!

1) Yes you can run 4 displays on a single GTX 680, just like you can run up to 5 on an AMD card since the 5000 series. We are planning to put together a triple monitor setup on this machine tomorrow/Friday and test some games to show it really is possible!

2) No AMD ROG desktops right now sorry. Desktop PM decided the Intel performance and OC is better and we only make one at a time. It will be continually evaluated with each release.

Wow it's strange reading that and yet people still wanna run multi-GPU setups lol, oh well. And oh well, maybe one day they will get their act together and release an AMD Desktop..though personally I prefer to build my own - not to say that the Tytan isn't impressive, because it most definitely is. I do love the case...but, nothing is better than the joy you get when you build a system for yourself...i'm wierd like that lol :p

I look forward to seeing the Desktop in action with the 3-Monitor setup :)

GOR52
05-17-2012, 07:53 AM
MarshallR,

Will we be able to buy these separately?

8711

8712

Myk SilentShadow
05-17-2012, 08:06 AM
At the moment, they aren't available for sale in the ASUS e-store(i looked a couple hours ago), maybe soon....though personally, i'm not impressed with the look of that keyboard. It doesn't look at all like any kind of gaming keyboard. No programmable macro keys, nothing...only a ROG Logo on the palm rest. The mouse looks a little promising...but it needs lighting, especially the ROG Logo :hint hint ASUS: :p :cool:

GOR52
05-17-2012, 09:15 AM
At the moment, they aren't available for sale in the ASUS e-store(i looked a couple hours ago), maybe soon....though personally, i'm not impressed with the look of that keyboard. It doesn't look at all like any kind of gaming keyboard. No programmable macro keys, nothing...only a ROG Logo on the palm rest. The mouse looks a little promising...but it needs lighting, especially the ROG Logo :hint hint ASUS: :p :cool:

Agree with you. Just mentioned as a collector's item.

_
05-17-2012, 09:33 AM
MarshallR,

Will we be able to buy these separately?

8711

8712

Not that I know of YET, but I hope so! We've been looking into KB/Mouse revisions for a while.

The KB uses Cherry MX Black keys so they can take a hammering. It's more for FPSers and competitive than MMOs say.

GOR52
05-17-2012, 10:01 AM
Not that I know of YET, but I hope so! We've been looking into KB/Mouse revisions for a while.

The KB uses Cherry MX Black keys so they can take a hammering. It's more for FPSers and competitive than MMOs say.

Make sure there will be a good combination of Red & Black.

Myk SilentShadow
05-17-2012, 01:57 PM
Make sure there will be a good combination of Red & Black.

Agreed!!! the plain grey logo is just not up to RoG standards lol

Haxilli
05-28-2012, 09:42 AM
Dear marshall ,

do you have the full specs for the titan ?

how much would it cost in singapore ?

Best Regards
Sebastian

_
05-28-2012, 09:51 AM
Spec:

GeForce GTX 680
Core i7-3770K (OC to 4.2/4.4/4.6GHz)
Xonar DX sound card
ROG keyboard and mouse
700W PSU

I'm not sure if the memory config varies by region. Apparently it's out already in Singapore, but I dont know how much sorry.

JollyGreenie
06-14-2012, 01:24 PM
Dear Marshall,

Do you know if the cg8580 will be released in Australia?
Thankyou in advance.

Myk SilentShadow
06-14-2012, 02:32 PM
Dear Marshall,

Do you know if the cg8580 will be released in Australia?
Thankyou in advance.

Probably not, the market saturation for desktops is pretty insane in Aus. And trying to flood the market with another gaming desktop would most likely not go down well....hell they're not even selling it in the US....and THAT is saying something.

BTW G'day from one Aussie RoG'r to another! :D

GOR52
06-14-2012, 07:07 PM
I wonder why is it called a ROG desktop...

The Case is the only ROG part...and the grey back puts me off.

The Mobo is not ROG. The GPU is not ROG. For the price one can build a better desktop with better specs.

Why do you call it ROG?

9269

9270

speed
07-07-2012, 12:47 AM
I wonder why is it called a ROG desktop...

The Case is the only ROG part...and the grey back puts me off.

The Mobo is not ROG. The GPU is not ROG. For the price one can build a better desktop with better specs.

Why do you call it ROG?

9269

9270

Can't wait to hear the answer to that one.