PDA

View Full Version : ASUS GeForce GTX 680 DirectCU II TOP Launches: Some Pics



_
05-10-2012, 08:22 AM
http://rog.asus.com/108822012/graphics-cards-2/asus-geforce-gtx-680-directcu-ii-top-launches-some-pics/

Not content with the reference GeForce GTX 680 (http://www.techinstyle.tv/20122225064/products/components/unboxing-the-asus-geforce-gtx-680-graphics-card/), ASUS engineers have been sifting through massive heaps of GPUs recently to create a TOP-version 680 card. While the GPU is still the same 28nm, 1536 CUDA core/3.5 billion transistor part, this one is overclocked to 1201MHz out of the box in boost clock mode. It also runs about 20% cooler and 14dB quieter than reference thanks to that mammoth DirectCU II cooler, which uses five all-copper heatpipes. Airflow is done by twin 100mm blowers, which all culminates in significantly improved overclocking potential.

But this is no card for the faint of case, it’s three slots tall, almost 12″ long, and needs a 6-pin and an 8-pin for power. For that you do get lots of card and the best graphics money can buy for PC gaming at the moment, buttressed by DIGI+ VRM digital voltage regulation, 10-phase power delivery, and Super Alloy Power components, which are some of the most durable in the industry.

ASUS is also including the by-now expected GPU Tweak (http://event.asus.com/vga/2012/gpu_tweak/) utility (special “Kepler” edition), and the DIY-inspired VGA Hotwire (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M9aJDjjW47c).

The only thing I’d change about this card is the 2GB GDDR5 (256-bit), but then there’s only so much you can pack onto a PCB before it all gets too much. I guess we’ll have to wait for the ROG version, nudge nudge.

In the meantime, here are some pics, and let us know your thoughts below on this beautiful piece of technology.

http://rog.asus.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/680-DC2-TOP-box.jpg

http://rog.asus.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/680-DC2-TOP-card.jpg

http://rog.asus.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/680-DC2-TOP-card-side.jpg

http://rog.asus.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/680-DC2-TOP-card-side-2.jpg

http://rog.asus.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/680-DC2-TOP-front.jpg

http://rog.asus.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/680-DC2-TOP-back.jpg

Menthol
05-10-2012, 07:45 PM
When and where can I get my hands on these that's all I want to know, I am dying to try the GPU hot wire with the R4E. Well not dying but you know.

Psychor
05-11-2012, 03:55 AM
When can we buy it? Asus/sites keep talking about this card yet it's no where to be found in the US. :mad:

xbeaTX
05-11-2012, 10:24 AM
Can you solve my doubts?
if i remove PRG100, overvolt over 1175mV is possible on asus gpu tweak ? or only works with hotwire?
thanks

Menthol
05-12-2012, 08:48 AM
good question wish I had a couple of these so I could let you know.

Myk SilentShadow
05-13-2012, 02:18 PM
Heh, why get a 680 when you can get the new Dual-GPU GTX 690 with an insane 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5 RAM :eek: for a measly $999 USD....or here in Aus for $1609 AUD :eek:

_
05-14-2012, 08:58 AM
When and where can I get my hands on these that's all I want to know, I am dying to try the GPU hot wire with the R4E. Well not dying but you know.

I've got reference GTX 680 hotwire places: http://kingpincooling.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1680&page=1

Still waiting on the DCIIs

Menthol
05-15-2012, 12:15 PM
Thanks MarshallR, very interesting, I believe I'll wait for the DCII's, thell eventually be some stock, my cahonnes aren't big enough to do these mods yet.

_
05-16-2012, 12:29 AM
I just looked at the DCII yesterday - there are specific PCB placements for hotwire making it very easy. I will post pics in an article this week.

Menthol
05-30-2012, 01:16 PM
I just looked at the DCII yesterday - there are specific PCB placements for hotwire making it very easy. I will post pics in an article this week.
Is there a guide for the hotwire setup for these cards, removing the resister, safe voltage increase, etc.

Marinesrule1980
06-01-2012, 10:09 PM
I just got my card GTX680 DC2T from Newegg.

It did not have a hot wire in it.

I called Newegg, they don't know what I'm talking about.

I called Asus, the guy I talked to on the phone didn't know what I was talking about either.

Why do they NOT know what I"m talking about? VGA HOTWIRE is in large white letters on the front of the box.

I'm new to buying computer parts through the mail...is it always like this?

Do not have hotwire...anyone know where to buy it?

Menthol
06-02-2012, 02:53 PM
They do not come with the hot wires in the box. You will have to purchase some two pin cables from either a computer specialty store like frozenCPU or an electrical supply store of some kind, I am going to go look at either Frys or Microcenter. This is a do it yourself, VOID YOUR WARANTY project.
http://vr-zone.com/articles/asus-gtx-680-directcu-ii-top-2gb-review/15614-3.html
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?280578-OC-air-water-LN2-Asus-GTX680-DirectCU-II&p=5095581&viewfull=1#post5095581
http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?14009-OC-air-water-LN2-Asus-GTX680-DirectCU-II&country=&status

I,m thinking that possibly 2 pin motherboard power of, or reset extension cables may work, soldering the cables to the board should be fairly easy, DE-soldering the resistor and removing it to allow over volting will be a little more daunting for me as it is very small and once removed I am afraid I would not be able to solder another back on, rendering the card useless for any motherboard except the ASUS motherboard with the hot wire feature. I typically pass my hardware down to one of my sons when I upgrade so I am going to hold off on this adventure for a while, see if my cahones grow a little larger first. Right now I am enjoying having two 680DCII Tops that boost to over 1300MHZ isn't to hard to live with and Max Payne 3 is here so I'm going to just enjoy for a while, at least until there is a water block available for these cards, EK is supposed to have blocks available soon.

andrea89
06-02-2012, 03:41 PM
salve scusate vorrei sapere se in italia uscira la GTX 680 Direct CU II TOP ??? grazie

prejudice would like to know if the GTX 680 will be released in Italy Direct Cu II top?? I do not find available in the shop ... thanks

Menthol
06-02-2012, 03:57 PM
Supply is low everywhere at this time, should improve soon and I assume it will be available in Italy once supply is better.

andrea89
06-02-2012, 04:10 PM
ok thanks for answer .... I hope I do not have to wait too

Menthol
06-02-2012, 04:17 PM
ok thanks for answer .... I hope I do not have to wait too
Hope you and your family were not affected by the earth quakes

andrea89
06-02-2012, 04:59 PM
I am the center of Italy .... The earthquake happened in the North: (a disaster

Menthol
06-02-2012, 05:04 PM
I was stationed at Aviano US Air base years ago and came home with an Italian wife, but it's been many years since I have been there, Italy is a very beautiful country, and very friendly people.