PDA

View Full Version : Xonar Phoebus Audio Center force close



xjapan_hide
05-14-2012, 09:18 AM
Just brought my Phoebus soundcard for a week (loving it so far) messing around the setting, and i found that when I
choose another profile in the audio center with Dolby Home Theater opened & enabled, it will force the audio center to close.
Just want to see if anybody is experiencing this or it's just me?

Raja@ASUS
05-14-2012, 09:30 AM
Can't recall having a problem myself. I have tried most of the profiles in that GUI and never had it closing as a result. I guess it could be down to one setting over-riding the other if you are applying things from both GUIs (I was only using one at a time).

Can you provide more specifics on which profiles, settings and what you have connected to the card etc??

xjapan_hide
05-14-2012, 09:53 AM
Hi Raja, thank you for the quick reply.
It is not a specific profile causing the force close issue, it happens when I change the profile when I leave the Dolby Home Theater enabled and
on.
For example, I am using the music profile when I listen to music and play with the EQ in the Dolby Home Theater, then I decide to play game for
instance, choosing the gaming profile I save, then a window will pop up (You know, the windows whenever the application is not responding).

But if I disable or close the Dolby Home Theater before I choose another profile, it works fine.

The setting in the audio center is untouched, only play with the EQ in the Dolby Home Theater.
I had connected the soundcard using the 4pins molex to 6pins that came with the package.

Raja@ASUS
05-14-2012, 10:03 AM
Not seen this myself, I will try to replicate if possible. Is your system overclocked?

xjapan_hide
05-14-2012, 10:34 AM
Yes, I am oc to 4.5ghz, not too heavy so I doubt it caused the force close.
I think the driver got mess up or something...

Raja@ASUS
05-14-2012, 10:42 AM
I'll try and replicate when I get back to my place and let you know.

Raja@ASUS
05-14-2012, 01:25 PM
Ok I have no problems at all my end changing profiles when Dolby Home Theater and the Phoebus GUI open. I can change settings in either GUI. The settings that overlap (Xear) simply disable DHT when they are enabled. I can also change to any saved profile without errors. I think it is down to something on your system. Either down to the drivers as you suggest or the overclock.

I am running the following in my system:

Corsair AX 1200
i7 3930K
Gskill F3-17000CL7-4GBHD at DDR3-2133 (16GB kit)
2 X GTX 460 watercooled in SLI
1 X GTX 570 dedictaed to Physx
Xonar ROG Phoebus using drivers on suport disc.
Win 7 64 bit SP1

-Raja

xjapan_hide
05-14-2012, 02:54 PM
Ah, I thought so too, it should be the problem of my system or drivers...
Anyway, I want to say thank for your time and effort.
I will try to reinstall the driver and see where it goes.