PDA

View Full Version : best settings for gaming

firekiller44
05-16-2012, 12:22 AM
Hi guys,

I just installed my phoebus and was checking out the setting, I'm a bit of a noob.

I do a lot of gaming on modern warfare 3 and was wondering if you guys can help me out: what are the settings to use for gaming ? dolby home theater v4 with the game tab?

should I enable dx button?

what does soundradar do?

Is there a tutorial that explains all the new stuff?

I had a xonar dx before and found that the best sound was with only dolby headphone enabled. My headphones are sennheiser pc350's.

Thanks!!

Raja@ASUS
05-16-2012, 07:02 AM
Hi,

GX enables EAX features, use with games that support it. Sound Radar works with GX to enhance front speaker effects. EAX isn't used much now so most titles won't see any change from either of these functions.

If you want to experiment with Dolby HT then use the Game preset with headphones, it adds a bit of depth.

-Raja

dedaciai
05-17-2012, 11:21 PM
Hi,

GX enables EAX features, use with games that support it. Sound Radar works with GX to enhance front speaker effects. EAX isn't used much now so most titles won't see any change from either of these functions.

If you want to experiment with Dolby HT then use the Game preset with headphones, it adds a bit of depth.

-Raja

I can attest to the Dolby HT Game preset. It rocks in my opinion. I can hear exactly where everything is and it's approximate distance relative to other sounds. Heck, I have been accused of hacking on BF3 a little more often now since I can here around what corners people are shooting from.

txfeinbergs
05-17-2012, 11:37 PM
This has to be the most complicated sound card I have owned. What are the disadvantages / advantages of cranking the sample rate to 192 Khz and 24 Bits vs lower settings? I am mainly using the sound card for gaming.