PDA

View Full Version : asus repair pulling my leg?

g73gamer
02-02-2011, 07:01 PM
hey guys i have a g73jh a-2 500GB+500GB blah blah you know the deal.

had a problem in september, just randmly shut itself down and restarted and failed to recognize the harddisks. my roommate who's a techy got it working again somehow with like a kynoptics disk (dont ask how, but he did). put some monitoring software on it, called asus support and after running the ropes for like a week, reinstalled the OS when my manual reading rep said it was a windows error/fluke. like a day later before i had a chance to put the monitor back on, it shuts down. was too busy to call asus at the time (im a student), but put a bended sheet of metal underneath to make an airgap then the laptop ran fine for about a month and randomly shuts down while playing WoW, wouldnt turn back on right away, but we let it cool and started it later (sounds like overheating right?)

called asus and was told to system restore, which i replied back to what, i just reinstalled the OS. told me to update drivers. about 2 weeks later same thing. demanded an RMA and they wouldnt give me one and told me to update the BiOS from 209 to 211. two weeks later it did it again. 2 hour phone call gets me an RMA. wrote them over a full page describing all of this and how ive done some research and seems to be an overheating issue related to the GPU.

its been 21 business days now, still in "repairing" status. The supervisors wont talk to me and the reps "understand how frustrating this may be." after being escalated 3 times, i get an email saying that its gonna be 2 weeks while they wait for 2 parts, an LCD and VGA board.

1- whats up with the vague terms? what are they talking about?
2- from what i can determine, an LCD board is purely for my screen, which had no problems whatsoever.
3- how can a new VGA board cause that much overheating? i understand the graphics card puts out alot of heat but still. sounds like a GPU issue to me.