PDA

View Full Version : G53JW - Slow down in F1 2011 after a few laps



kimiraikkonen
05-20-2012, 07:52 PM
Hi there,
I'm facing a very interesting slow down, that is, a momentary slow that occurs after about 3-4 laps in F1 2011. I have installed Nvidia 296.10 which is the latest WHQL and my F1 2011 graphics details for my GTX 460 are everything is HIGH except shadows and trees are LOW. Changing DX version to 9 from 11 DID NOT help.

However for example in Australia - Melbourne track, after i race for 3-4 laps, the graphics start to freeze for a moment than goes along, after a few seconds of first freeze, it happens again and again.

I first though that would be a sync issue between my Seagate Momentus HDD and the audio info being read, however when i look at HDD LED, it's fine and not excessive.

Finally, i have no overclock, everything is default and clock speeds are factory default for my I7 740QM and GTX 460 as well.

What would be the reason of lag / slow down after a few laps, especially in some tracks in F1 2011?

Thanks in advance.

MrRuckus
05-21-2012, 05:31 PM
Sounds like throttling. Are you running throttlestop in the background?

http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?2329-ATTENTION-G73-53SW-Owners-CPU-Throttling-to-798mhz-and-how-to-fix-it&country=&status=

kimiraikkonen
05-21-2012, 06:37 PM
Sounds like throttling. Are you running throttlestop in the background?

http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?2329-ATTENTION-G73-53SW-Owners-CPU-Throttling-to-798mhz-and-how-to-fix-it&country=&status=

No way, because my CPU is NOT Sandy-Bridge. 740QM-nehalem. I read replay cache-file would cause it. Wonder if any F1 2011 gamers out there.

MrRuckus
05-22-2012, 10:31 PM
I had a G53 that exhibited this same concern and it had the 740QM in it. It was not a Sandy Bridge processor and also throttled. Everything from the initial P4 from Intel have thottled to avoid damage. I would try throttlestop? It cant hurt.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UoXRHexGIok

kimiraikkonen
06-02-2012, 11:32 AM
Actually, no reply in this thread is relevant to the problem in F1 2011. As i don't have a throttling issue (no Sandy Bridge), the momentarily stuttering problem in F1 2011 would have been caused by huge replay file, beside it still has lots of bugs such as crashing at startup due to autosave file corruption, crash in China and on some other tracks. The game is really unstable and shame of Codemasters.

The most amazing issue is how Codemasters still haven't thought fixing these even these problems were persistent since F1 2010.

I'm using 296.10, though.