PDA

View Full Version : Asus G75 display.... is every G75 . 1920X1080 or not ?



Robert_84
05-21-2012, 05:44 AM
By best buy... and another www no they are not...

but tiger direct has official specifications where is display resolution 1920x1080... for all models

and first model below specification that is avalible in store to buy

is

1600x800,

now I'm confused... ?!?

fuzon1337
05-21-2012, 05:48 AM
Hi @Robert_84

It sounds like there is two different models on the G75. That the one model you get Full HD 1920 x 1080 and the other model with HD+ 1600 x 900.

So if you buy the G75, be sure to pick the model with Full HD :)

Holy
05-21-2012, 06:07 AM
Generaly the g7x's under 1400 have 1600x900 screens the g75 seems to be an exception for some. Ive seen bb models(same model) with 2 diffrent screens.

Scrodus
05-21-2012, 06:54 AM
I purchased my G75 from BB and it's 1920x1080. Cost me $1250 too :-)

Cecil_2099
05-21-2012, 07:04 AM
I promise you any version less than 1400 probably has a 1600x900 screen.

Couldn't be further from the truth. My best buy G75 cost me less than 1400 and has a full 1080p screen (1920x1080).

Arvinaaaaa
05-21-2012, 07:32 AM
ALL G75 has full hd..guarenteed

_
05-21-2012, 07:41 AM
ALL G75 has full hd..guarenteed

Not true sorry.

From the product page:

Display 17.3" HD+/FHD EWV LED Backlight / FHD 3D LED Backlight

HD+ = 1600x900.

MOST G75s use the FullHD display, but please check the spec before you buy.

Robert_84
05-21-2012, 09:11 AM
I purchased my G75 from BB and it's 1920x1080. Cost me $1250 too :-)



just right, because I look at the same model..... and on BB page res is 1600x900...

that is the reason why I need to check...

in next 15 days I will decide ..... but maybe even I chose MSI gt70.....

_
05-21-2012, 09:50 AM
just right, because I look at the same model..... and on BB page res is 1600x900...

that is the reason why I need to check...

in next 15 days I will decide ..... but maybe even I chose MSI gt70.....

They have BB in Croatia? Whoh. Everyday's a school day!

If you can go down to a local BB please go try them both out! You will come back with the G55 ;) I'm that confident of our design and construction materials vs MSI :)

Robert_84
05-21-2012, 10:51 AM
They have BB in Croatia? Whoh. Everyday's a school day!

If you can go down to a local BB please go try them both out! You will come back with the G55 ;) I'm that confident of our design and construction materials vs MSI :)

No, we dont have BB in Croatia, but

now I'm in a FOB, Afghanistan and I will order one here...

just now I need to chose..... witch model.... I have here Edge lenovo 13...
I even cant play Steam indie games on it.....

so I need to buy something deacent ....

I first start with 660m, and because 670m model is only 250$ different I need to decide....

Even 15' was option .... still I need to decide

also I need to find store online that have model that I won and that they will ship it to APO.....

BTW. on 16 MAY I read news that UPS wont ship nothing with battery overseas... If I order I will order from
HIDevolution.....

Holy
05-21-2012, 12:16 PM
The bestbuy models here are all 1600x900.

Cecil_2099
05-21-2012, 05:39 PM
The bestbuy models here are all 1600x900.

Sucks to be in Texas? ;)

Holy
05-21-2012, 05:55 PM
Yea kinda but my laptop is from nebraski lol.

Daylife
05-21-2012, 06:59 PM
I promise you any version less than 1400 probably has a 1600x900 screen.

That is some False info right there lmao.......

Holy
05-21-2012, 07:18 PM
Lol its not false for texas. I should edit that lol.

Daylife
05-21-2012, 07:31 PM
Lol its not false for texas. I should edit that lol.

Well that's for Texas.

Holy
05-21-2012, 09:11 PM
Is the post better now lol?

payne
05-22-2012, 09:52 AM
Hi, I am from Croatia. Our models are numbered a bit different here... The model I would like to buy is called G75VW-T2018V
Here is the link from the site i want to buy it from: http://www.postopoto.hr/asus-prijenosno-racunalo-g75vw-t2018v-g75vw-t2018v-75954.aspx
I called the shop and asked them about the specs showing 1600x900 and graphic card being called GT660M instead of GTX660M. I guess it is a mistake (the graphic card name) because I think GT ends with 650M?
I am concerned about 1600x900 resolution though. I plan on connecting this laptop to my Plasma 3D tv so if anyone could clarify if this certain model is 1600x900 or 1920x1080p? Some sites show 1600x900 some show 1920x1080p for the same model (G75VW-T2018V) so please any info from an Asus official is welcome. :)

Holy
05-22-2012, 01:01 PM
Yes the gt650 m is the last gt so it is correctly a gtx660m.

payne
05-22-2012, 05:52 PM
And how about the other part about the resolution of the model G75VW-T2018V? How will I be able to find that out? I can't see the laptop anywhere phisically to find out only order it... It is the cheapest model. On most sites it says 1920x1080p but on certain ones it says 1600x900 for the same model. Which one is it?!?:confused:

Holy
05-22-2012, 06:07 PM
Do not order from that site you listed. There are tomany errors. For one there is not a sata 750 .
I would assume that site is selling it with a 1600x900 hd+ screen but it says fullhd.

janmi
05-23-2012, 10:44 AM
Any info when the 1600x900 displays are coming to Europe?

The FullHD displays are not good, because they make all the icons and text way too small! Sure, you can adjust the font size, but it still makes everything a hassle, and you can't resize graphics. I hope to see good quality 1600x900 screens in laptops!! The FullHD is worse in usability. If you want to watch movies in FullHD, then it's ok. But for anything else it's actually worse... This "FullHD-mania" has to stop!

_
05-23-2012, 10:49 AM
Any info when the 1600x900 displays are coming to Europe?

The FullHD displays are not good, because they make all the icons and text way too small! Sure, you can adjust the font size, but it still makes everything a hassle, and you can't resize graphics. I hope to see good quality 1600x900 screens in laptops!! The FullHD is worse in usability. If you want to watch movies in FullHD, then it's ok. But for anything else it's actually worse... This "FullHD-mania" has to stop!

Right click on your desktop --> screen resolution --> click the 'make text and other items larger or smaller' link --> 150%.

Windows 7 is sketchy on this feature, I'll admit, but Windows 8 is reported to manage this a lot better! Given that any laptop bought today will still be ready for Win 8 when it launches, it's worth the investment in FHD.

That said - you can always buy the G55 with a 1366x768 (3D) display, which gives you nice big icons and the option of HDMI/DP/VGA for an external monitor in FHD.

janmi
05-23-2012, 01:25 PM
In the mean time, do you know when the versions with the 1600x900 screen are coming out? And is the screen the same 1600x900 as in the G74? Thanks!

janmi
05-25-2012, 09:50 AM
Windows 7 is sketchy on this feature, I'll admit, but Windows 8 is reported to manage this a lot better! Given that any laptop bought today will still be ready for Win 8 when it launches, it's worth the investment in FHD.
It would seem that it doesn't fix pretty much anything, just the Metro-interface gets a facelift, and maybe some future programs:
http://www.extremetech.com/computing/123269-windows-8-finally-fixes-high-resolution-issues-for-metro-only

So any news when the 1600x900 models are coming?

john_from_ohio
05-25-2012, 02:57 PM
Not sure if you understand ... the G75s/G55s with 1920 x 1080 display can be changed/adjusted down to 1600 x 900 if that's what you want ... or even further down ... you don't "have to" run it 1920 x 1080 if you do not want to.

yixingchen
05-25-2012, 06:10 PM
Just to clarify, the G75vw 3D version is 1920x1080?

Holy
05-25-2012, 06:20 PM
Yes the 3d version is 1920x1080

janmi
05-25-2012, 11:02 PM
Not sure if you understand ... the G75s/G55s with 1920 x 1080 display can be changed/adjusted down to 1600 x 900 if that's what you want ... or even further down ... you don't "have to" run it 1920 x 1080 if you do not want to.

That would look quite horrible. :( Native 1600x900 is soooo much better and sharper.

The reason I want the 1600x900 display is because windows can't scale pretty much anything properly.