PDA

View Full Version : Strange issue after Reinstalling windows



kiba
05-24-2012, 03:43 AM
Ok, so after my brother downloaded a virus, which I posted about here
http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?15649-Recovery-CD-missing-lost-is-there-a-way-to-replace&country=&status=
I had to reinstall windows on my G73 using the links provided on this forum, because my brother also lost my laptop bag which had the original restore cd that I made when I first got the laptop, inside of it.
After I reinstalled windows, It now gives me two options, which is similar to if i pressed F9 when the laptop was starting up. This is what it looks like:

Select an option:
Windows 7
Windows 7

No matter which one I select, It seems to be the same one, is there a way to disable this or did something go wrong during the installation? Everything seems fine, I was able to install the 11.09 drivers for my display card because of the vbios/bios reflashes that i did previously and they work great so far. Anyways, help is as always much appreciated on this site, thank you.

antisocialbratt
05-24-2012, 04:23 AM
You can use the EasyBCD to edit the bootmbr to remove the duplicate entry. Its a pretty straightforward software. Get it from here http://neosmart.net/EasyBCD/
I haven't used it in a while but i remember using it to solve a similar problem. Maybe someone could help with it.

PILGRIM
05-24-2012, 05:32 AM
Try deleting the Windows OS copy by typing "msconfig" in Start Menu (w/o quotes).
System Configuration > Boot > (click the Win 7 copy) > Delete > Apply > Ok. Reboot.

kiba
05-24-2012, 06:32 AM
sweet, im on my g75 now, downloading drivers on the g73. id like to get it back up running as i like to leave it at work to use while im there. Msconfig is a good thought, i dont know why i didnt try that first. ill try it now and post an update. As always, thanks for the help.

•the copy would be the second one, correct?

•Edit- yep, it was the second one and everything runs great now, the g73 really is a great laptop. thanks again. I wonder what kind of virus this was...

PILGRIM
05-24-2012, 10:08 AM
You're welcome. It wasn't a virus, methinks. Might be that you didn't reformat
the original OS drive when you did another OS installation.

antisocialbratt
05-24-2012, 10:57 AM
Yup, Pilgrim is right. I've installed windows couple of times on my old desktop and this issue used to happen regularly. Cuz i just used to install the windows on a new partition and then after logging in that windows i would delete all the files of the old windows.

kiba
05-24-2012, 11:59 AM
the virus was the reason i had to reinstall windows, its all in the thread at the top lolz, probably some porn or dumb facebook thing from when i let him borrow it. he spends literally 8hrs a day on facebook/twitter, like a woman.

•edit: heres something ive been wondering tho, how do you write zero's to the drive? just in case i need to someday. also, since i reinstalled without reformatting, which i figured i would give a try, and it seemed to work, but, doesnt the old version get saved as windows.old (if i remember it right?) and can that be deleted?