PDA

View Full Version : ASUS update deletes critical drivers HELP

Detok
05-27-2012, 11:15 PM
Hello everyone, I would like to start off by saying I am a fan of the ASUS gaming line and was very excited to pick up the new G75VW. I am a soldier who is about to deploy over seas and needed a good laptop that would be dependable, and also have the hardware needed to play some of today's newer games such as BF3, Mw3, Skyrim, and Tera. After doing a bunch of research I found that the ASUS G75 would suit my needs perfectly and the price was right. Considering they are new with some of the newer technology it wasn't easy to find but I eventually got my hands one.

After a couple weeks of some hardcore gaming the only issue I had with my new G75 was the common subwoofer issue, and because they are fairly new I was content with that thinking a update would be released to fix it. Just today the ASUS Updater kept saying it wanted to install a update called "Insta-On" or something along those lines. As soon as the update was complete it converted my resolution to 800x600 and my mouse stopped working then told me to restart. When i restarted I came to find out that a few critical drivers were completely wiped from the system such as the USB drives, Bluetooth, and maybe more. I noticed the laptop was running much slower as well. I tried re-downloading the newest drivers from your site and it didn't work. I then took it to Best-Buy to have Geek Squad look at it and they couldn't get the drivers back either and said the only option was to reset it back to factory. Still waiting for a call to see how things went because every time tried to restore it would create a error message. Please keep in mind I was running Kaspersky since I got it, and it had no known viruses.

ASUS if you are reading this, please give me some information so I can fix this problem, and if not possible please fix the released update so that if Best-Buy gives me another it doesn't happen again.