PDA

View Full Version : ***Possible Short Term Work Around For Xonar Phoebus!!!***



dedaciai
05-30-2012, 02:00 AM
Hi Guys,

I think I found a possible short term work around for the Phoebus driver problem. First, got to task manager and close Phoebus.exe.

Then search for Phoebus on the Run Button and you should see three results for Phoebus:

Phoebus
Phoebus X64
Asus Phoebus

For those running windows 7 64 bit run the 64, for those running 32 bit run just "Phoebus." Then check task manager and make sure that Phoebus is running either PhoebusX64.exe or Phoebus.exe*32.

You will notice that both of the GUIs that go with these .exe's have no mic option (I will post pics when I can). However, I was able to play for two hours tonight with only four to five , 2-4 second stutters in the game and I never got kicked- yeah!.

Good luck!

PS: Asus - please fix these drivers!

dedaciai
05-30-2012, 10:17 AM
8914

The image above shows the three options for Phoebus that I have. I selected "Phoebus_x^64" My next question is why do I have 3 versions of Phoebus when I installed the software using the disc?...so weird.




8915
The image above shows what is running in task manager. For me, since I am running W7 64-bit I confirmed that I am running Phoebus64.exe

8916
This shows how something is wrong with the PhoebusX64 GUI. The left GUI (PhoebusX64) has no mic option what so ever and the right option is the regular ("Asus Phoebus") GUI with mic enabled.

Like I said in my previous post. I can get through at least one 400 ticked TDM without a hitch and iwhen I do stutter it is very short - less than 4 seconds and the sound barely breaks up. The only problem is that I have no mic.

Please let me know if this works for you or if you have any questions about what I did.

MKroenke
05-30-2012, 06:20 PM
On my system the x64.exe was running by default. Running latest drivers (xx.19), the problems in BF3 still occur.

jluerken
06-06-2012, 02:13 PM
Hi Guys,

just wanted to tell you that I have the same problem with the PHOEBUS card.
I've created a ticket and hope Asus can release a fix soon.

Here some details:

Audio Card Model Name XONAR Phoebus
Audio Card S/N registered at ASUS. See there!
Motherboard / System Asus P7P55D-E DELUXE
Motherboard BIOS version 1504
O.S. Information (XP/Vista/7, SP version) Win7-64 SP1
VGA BIOS version 80.04.09.00.B4
VGA Driver version 301.42
Previous audio card model Onboard Audio
CPU overlocking (Yes/No) No
GPU overlocking (Yes/No) Yes but from factory
GPU model Zotac GTX 680 AMP
OS audio setting (Sample Rates) Sample Rate 44.1, Speaker 5.1
Output Device Connected (Include brand/model name) Creative Labs 5.1 Speakers
Input Device Connected (Include brand/model name) Plantronics Headset with Microfone
Content Used (Game/Music/Movie) BF3; After ~15 mins it causes the computer to freeze completely
In-Game audio setting Surround/Warband
Reproducible scenario (Certain in-game chapter) Any multiplayer game
Other Apps opened Firefox
Online Games Related Battlefield 3
Kicked out of server? (Yes/No) No
OS crashed and can only reboot to restart? (Yes/No) Yes
Number of occurrence atleast 20 times, then I took the card out.
Frequency of occurrence 100% of the time when playing battlefield.
Location of User EU - Germany
Location/name of Gamer server pick any server
Number of online users when error occurred anywhere from 1 to 64
Ping number ~15
What is the Gamer Manager Error N/A
Single or multiple players Multiple player
Please provide relevant screenshots if possible (i.e. Punk buster/ Game error etc) N/A
Detailed Failure and Conditions Computer freezes when playing BF3.
This problem however does not occur with any other game.

Kind regards
jluerken