PDA

View Full Version : I'm new and I need support please!

meowish
02-16-2011, 12:06 AM
I just got my G73SW today, after I gave up on my Alienware laptop. Dell support/quality sucks and they don't really care. So far I'm really happy with going with the better choice, but I am having a few minor issues and some questions.
first, list of problems:

1- Screen Flickering: Happens after updating graphics driver, I see that other people from various sites are having this issue.
2- (Solved) keyboard lights don't light up, but the blue buttons do(power/turbo/lights off), its probably a software issue cause the lights actually light up when I restart and as soon as I get into windows they go off.

Questions:
1- (Answered) Is it possible to have a fresh windows 7 install? and if it is, is it recommended? why and why not ?
2- I am really new to using an ASUS laptop, is there any optimization method or driver some one recommends? I searched the net but I hardly found anything.

Thanks for reading!

xeromist
02-16-2011, 12:16 AM
Yes, it is possible to do a fresh install. You should not need to but a clean install always feels good.
http://forum.notebookreview.com/windows-os-software/428068-legal-windows-7-download-links-just-like-vista-before.html#post5437866

Recovery is done from a hidden partition. If you make an additional recovery disk I would do it with the drivers updated and basic software installed so that you don't have to do it again.

What are you thinking that you need to optimize? Chastity has a driver guide sticky that you can check out.
http://www.asusrog.com/forums/showthread.php?1150-G73-Series-Driver-and-Application-Reference

meowish
02-16-2011, 12:44 AM
Thanks for the reply! But about the optimization thread its for G73JH and G73JW right? my lappy is a G73SW, do they use similar drivers? Cause from what I read, that the new nvidia drivers HATE SW :(