PDA

View Full Version : G73JH Graphic Driver Problems. HELP

Slider11
05-31-2012, 08:00 PM
So ive had my G73JH for about a year now. I have to say, I love this computer. That is, when it works properly. Ive been playing lots of FPS's lately, one of which was Battlefield 3. When I first got battlefield 3, i had to update my graphics driver to get the game to even open.. Then, it worked great for quite some time. Just recently, I had to update my vBios and Bios to the latest versions to prevent overheating, which had become a MAJOR problem. After completing those updates.... More problems. Now, I can easily run games from Steam, But Battlefield 3 refuses to open just like before, and now even Minecraft crashes immediatly after opening it. I figured that my graphics driver needed to be updated... now, I am a major newbie so I honestly don't know how to check what version my Driver is, but I THINK it's 8.6?(ATI Mobility radeon HD 5870) Anyways, I have been trying to update it to version 12.4 which is by my understanding, the latest one. I downloaded the driver from the AMD website, and have tried to install it multiple times. Each time, I ran into a BSOD saying it "Failed to recover from timeout" after the screen flickers during installation. Then my driver reverts to "Ati mobility radeon 5800 series" until I update it from the device manager.. Which takes it back to the previous version of 8.6, then everything is back to normal. What am I doing wrong? Is there a different driver needed for battlefield 3, or am I just not installing the driver correctly? Please help me! This could save me $1000 from buying another computer D: Thanks!

dstrakele
05-31-2012, 09:45 PM
In http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/737-20870HowtoInstallYourATIProduct.aspx, section 1 discusses how to perform a clean install of the AMD drivers if you are experiencing issues during installation. This section references several AMD articles.