PDA

View Full Version : G74SX vs the new game Max Payne 3!



Karuro
06-01-2012, 07:02 PM
Hello ROG-Community,

i got the new DX11 game Max Payne 3!

So i though lets give it a try and look what are my FPS ingame^^:

So whate i have done:

-set my GPU clock to 900/1800/1625 (stable)

-ingame Settings everything MAX except(MSAA because it is hard for a GTX 560M to handle 2 antialisings....2xMSAA is playable too but hey i got FXAA!!!)

-started fraps, converted it and upload it to YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ty7OgIN1he0&list=UUaVWTR4Nvlk0-GQv_fVu7nA&index=0&feature=plcp


So if you can achieve more FPS let me know it :) and how you done it :P


NOTE: dont use MSI-Afterburner/EVGA for FPS Counting, because it will show you 200FPS+ (buggy)!! Get Fraps and look at the frames.

Have Fun with it and thx ASUS for this nice Laptop(i wont need to buy another for around 2 Years ohhh

TorturedBIscuit
06-01-2012, 07:08 PM
Great job. I'm currently downloading it on Steam.

codename47
06-02-2012, 12:52 AM
@Karuro, which nvidia driver are you using? What fps shows fraps most of the time? Mine settings:
http://i49.tinypic.com/2ikdwtf.jpg
http://i46.tinypic.com/dvskdj.jpg
There's some strange lag at mouse viewing at 30fps, may try to lower setting to see if it will disappear.

codename47
06-02-2012, 07:59 AM
update: went from 296.10 to new 301.42 driver and fps jumps around 5-10 with setting like yours - fps are at the upper right corner of the picture if it's open.
http://s15.postimage.org/982m8l2cb/Max_Payne3_2012_06_02_04_04_01_713.jpg (http://postimage.org/image/l9y02qbkn/full/)
image host (http://postimage.org/)
http://s17.postimage.org/axgau7k8v/Max_Payne3_2012_06_02_10_37_25_975.jpg (http://postimage.org/image/us2cgbzgb/full/)
image host (http://postimage.org/)

lord_prentice
06-02-2012, 09:49 AM
No fun dl with normal dsl...i think i'll actually buy this in the shop^^

codename47
06-02-2012, 10:09 AM
saw that spontaneous fps drop is from drop in gpu usage - tried to set "texture filtering - high quality" in nvidia profile - seems to keep qpu usage at 98%

Karuro
06-02-2012, 12:26 PM
update: went from 296.10 to new 301.42 driver and fps jumps around 5-10 with setting like yours - fps are at the upper right corner of the picture if it's open.
http://s15.postimage.org/982m8l2cb/Max_Payne3_2012_06_02_04_04_01_713.jpg (http://postimage.org/image/l9y02qbkn/full/)
image host (http://postimage.org/)
http://s17.postimage.org/axgau7k8v/Max_Payne3_2012_06_02_10_37_25_975.jpg (http://postimage.org/image/us2cgbzgb/full/)
image host (http://postimage.org/)

like i said this, ~200FPS with a a GTX 560M is kinda yeah stupid^^..... Fraps is showing me indoors 38-50 mostly and outside missions: 33-40 its super smooth gameplay :p (it can drop to 22-25 FPS due Heavy Fights but that is normal i think)