PDA

View Full Version : [G75] Frustrated trying to upgrade to SSD



rlwhite86
06-02-2012, 12:38 PM
Hi all, thanks in advance for your help.

I recently bought a G75 from Best Buy, and also ordered a OCZ 120gb SSD from newegg to replace the 5400rpm disk.

My problems began when clean recovering from the 3 recovery DVDs. The process ran smoothly and completed, but after restarting and removing the installation disc, the laptop informed me I had no bootable disks. I went into the BIOS to check it out, and it lists the new drive under SATA properties, but not as a boot option. There is a way to create a boot option, but I am unsure of the command with all of the efi stuff. (It's been a while since I built a computer)

Putting the original HDD back in boots fine, and the BIOS boot option lists it as Windows startup or thereabouts. Still no listing for the SSD though when it is inserted.

I'm running the recovery process for a 3rd time now, but not having much hope.

Do I need to create a boot option for the new drive in te BIOS? It does not seem like it should be this difficult.

Sorry for any spelling errors as I am having to post from my phone!

john_from_ohio
06-02-2012, 02:42 PM
My Intel 520 SSD was completely clean doing a complete recovery from the recovery DVDs ... it does take a very long time and it goes thru a bunch of boots that look like the "last time" ... so make sure that you let it go all the way completely thru.

I don't recall exactly but when doing the restore I think it asks if you want to completely reformat the replacement disk ( or something similar ) so make sure you say yes to that.

There is a part of the BIOS ( F2 on restart ) where it selects boot order etc so double check that to make sure that something there is not interfering ...

Cecil_2099
06-02-2012, 02:55 PM
The recovery DVD process first creates the recovery partition on the drive, restarts, then prompts the user to choose 1 of 3 options on how to restore the install (entire drive, first partition, two partitions). After the user selects that option then you have about another 45min-1hr of the program automatically restarting the computer multiple times. Best thing you can do is start the process and let it run until it stops restarting. Eventually you'll get to the point where it looks like it did when you first unboxed it and powered it on the first time. If you interrupt the process before then, you mess it up.

Taking out the 5400rpm drive prior to starting the restore process also helps ensure the restore goes smoothly.

rlwhite86
06-02-2012, 03:19 PM
Thanks for the responses,

I do not touch the computer during installation, and I have the 1tb drive removed. The recovery DVDs load fine, I get prompted about a full recovery and wiping the drive. That all works fine. When the installer is done, it asks you to hit ok and restarts the computer. This is where I start having problems.

When restarting, I get a message saying that windows did not start properly, and to go to recovery mode. I select recovery mode, and it takes me to a ramdisk (I think) option as the only one. After that, it goes back to the first recovery menu, leaving it in an endless loop. If I try to restart the computer, I get the message saying there is no boot disk.

I've done this countless times on other computers, I'm just not sure what the issue is. The BIOS does not even give me the SSD as a startup option, although it is listed under SATA properties.

My only other thought would be to reburn the recovery discs. But I'm not sure that's the problem

Holy
06-02-2012, 05:12 PM
what format is the ssd? not sure if its relivent or not.

rlwhite86
06-02-2012, 05:13 PM
Update-

Just reburned the recovery discs. Reinstalled, and had the same issue. At the first reboot after it copies from the DVD, I get the windows prompt that asks you to insert the recovery disc to repair. At this point, you can hit enter and it take you to the recovery option screen. The only one available is the "ramdisc options". Selecting that takes you back to the first screen.

A reboot takes you to a black screen saying no startup disk.

Only other thing I can think of would be a retail windows DVD to repair the hdd with the recovery partition and see if that will make it start the rest of the recovery process.

Any help would be appreciated. I'm at a loss.

Holy
06-02-2012, 05:18 PM
yes it would most likely work i used a retail disk to reinstall onto my patriot pyro 120gb. and it works perfectly. its worth a try.

rlwhite86
06-02-2012, 07:15 PM
I guess that will be my last option. Where do you go about getting all of the drivers if I go that route?

m3rcer
06-02-2012, 07:29 PM
I guess that will be my last option. Where do you go about getting all of the drivers if I go that route?

I basically ran into the same problems you had, but I did the system image onto my external usb drive instead. The recovery disc didn't want to boot, so I used my old Home Premium upgrade disk and eventually succumbed to doing a clean install. Time wasted including downloading and installing the drivers, but now I'm very happy. 12 second boot!

And here's where to get all the drivers: http://support.asus.com/download.aspx?SLanguage=en&m=G75VW&p=3&s=388&os=30&hashedid=gkyI9iViQxXxueTd


One more thing - If you got the bestbuy version of the G75, the lan port and wireless are the Atheros drivers not the Intel. That'll save you a few minutes.

Holy
06-02-2012, 08:31 PM
lol i have yest to see a default build without the Atheros cards.

m3rcer
06-02-2012, 09:13 PM
lol i have yest to see a default build without the Atheros cards.

If that's so, why did Asus bother posting up the Intel drivers? This G75 is my first ROG beast, so it's all I know. ::shrug::

Holy
06-02-2012, 10:01 PM
chances are the models with the thunderbolt port will have em. idk thats just whats ive seen.

mhossa81
06-03-2012, 04:27 PM
dont know if this will help ya but i had the exact same issue and this morning i found that from the factory they put the old 5400 pre isntalled drive in the secondary spot. I moved the ssd to the other drive spot and the damn thing booted up properly and i also put it in sata in the bios also before installing w. the recovery disk. I think its the right port if the laptop is fliped upside down and ur installing it. Hopefully that helps man cause this problem drove me nutz for 2 days. was about to return the laptop back to bestbuy for an exchange.

rlwhite86
06-03-2012, 08:03 PM
dont know if this will help ya but i had the exact same issue and this morning i found that from the factory they put the old 5400 pre isntalled drive in the secondary spot. I moved the ssd to the other drive spot and the damn thing booted up properly and i also put it in sata in the bios also before installing w. the recovery disk. I think its the right port if the laptop is fliped upside down and ur installing it. Hopefully that helps man cause this problem drove me nutz for 2 days. was about to return the laptop back to bestbuy for an exchange.

Thanks, I will try this and see if it works. Glad I'm not the only one having problems.

m3rcer
06-03-2012, 09:04 PM
dont know if this will help ya but i had the exact same issue and this morning i found that from the factory they put the old 5400 pre isntalled drive in the secondary spot. I moved the ssd to the other drive spot and the damn thing booted up properly and i also put it in sata in the bios also before installing w. the recovery disk. I think its the right port if the laptop is fliped upside down and ur installing it. Hopefully that helps man cause this problem drove me nutz for 2 days. was about to return the laptop back to bestbuy for an exchange.

Hmm... I shoulda thought about trying that.

john_from_ohio
06-03-2012, 11:17 PM
dont know if this will help ya but i had the exact same issue and this morning i found that from the factory they put the old 5400 pre isntalled drive in the secondary spot. I moved the ssd to the other drive spot and the damn thing booted up properly and i also put it in sata in the bios also before installing w. the recovery disk. I think its the right port if the laptop is fliped upside down and ur installing it. Hopefully that helps man cause this problem drove me nutz for 2 days. was about to return the laptop back to bestbuy for an exchange.

You can also boot into the BIOS ( F2 on restart ) and change the boot order/priority there ...

rlwhite86
06-04-2012, 12:35 AM
Update - still having issues

Thanks for all of the responses guys.

I tried to clean install with a Windows 7 disc, and I get the "No drivers for CD/DVD device - insert disc or locate drivers" problem. I have already downloaded all of the driver's from ASUS's website, but i'm not sure which to use for this problem. None I have tried seem to help.

I've tried to install the retail Win7 from a DVD and from a USB drive, and get the same problem both ways.

Also, I have the SSD in the right side (when upside down). The original HDD will boot from either slot - left or right.

I reformatted the SSD with diskpart and it now shows as a boot option in the BIOS, but I also have not run the recovery discs onto it again. I think running those will cause the same problem as before, where it no longer shows up in the boot options.

TLDR - either I need the DVDRAM drivers for the clean install, or a way to make the SSD show up as a boot option after the recovery

rlwhite86
06-04-2012, 12:37 AM
dont know if this will help ya but i had the exact same issue and this morning i found that from the factory they put the old 5400 pre isntalled drive in the secondary spot. I moved the ssd to the other drive spot and the damn thing booted up properly and i also put it in sata in the bios also before installing w. the recovery disk. I think its the right port if the laptop is fliped upside down and ur installing it. Hopefully that helps man cause this problem drove me nutz for 2 days. was about to return the laptop back to bestbuy for an exchange.

Oh, and how do you put it in SATA? I changed the EFI option to disabled - is that the same thing?

john_from_ohio
06-04-2012, 12:42 AM
I changed the EFI option to disabled - is that the same thing?

What all have you done to the original BIOS settings? Changing the EFI to disabled is probably a really really bad idea.

When I installed my SSD I did not change anything "significant" ... might have had to alter boot priority at times ... dont recall exactly.

If I were you at this point I would set all the BIOS settings back to original default values and start over ... follow the nice guide that Cecil just wrote up.

Good luck!

rlwhite86
06-04-2012, 01:04 AM
What all have you done to the original BIOS settings? Changing the EFI to disabled is probably a really really bad idea.

When I installed my SSD I did not change anything "significant" ... might have had to alter boot priority at times ... dont recall exactly.

If I were you at this point I would set all the BIOS settings back to original default values and start over ... follow the nice guide that Cecil just wrote up.

Good luck!

I haven't changed much, just tried a few different things once I started having difficulties with the boot options.

I've tried the EFI settings, legacy devices, changing the SATA mode, and creating my own boot path (I didn't get far with that since I do not know the commands).

The really frustrating part is the factory restore discs not working properly. They boot right up, create their partitions in the drive, then the SSD disappears from the BIOS boot list.

EDIT: Oh, and I checked out Cecil's guide - I appreciate him putting it together. the problem is between steps 12 and 13. After restarting, I get an error message stating that windows is unable to start - it never takes me to the recovery walkthrough to finish the process.

I tried using a Win7 DVD to repair it, but it tells me that the version of Windows on the system is different, and that it cannot repair it.

john_from_ohio
06-04-2012, 01:25 AM
The really frustrating part is the factory restore discs not working properly. They boot right up, create their partitions in the drive, then the SSD disappears from the BIOS boot list.

Have you tried it with a different SSD? Not suggesting that one proceed to Best Buy, buy something ... test it out ... and perhaps return it ... but ... wink wink ...

Cecil_2099
06-04-2012, 04:29 AM
rlwhite86: Can you take photos of your BIOS screens and post them here to help troubleshoot? It might be your BIOS settings, or something with the SSD. I may have missed it in an earlier post, but do you still have the drive that came with the G75 intact (you didn't format it yet right)?

rlwhite86
06-04-2012, 04:42 PM
I've taken pictures of the BIOS screen and will still post if needed... but I think I may have gotten a solution.

A friend of mine had a printed (from MS, not an ISO) win7 DVD and an external sony DVD drive. I was able to use that to get to the win7 install process (with no complaints about a missing DVD drive driver this time). I'm in the process of clean installing that way and will update you guys on how it goes.

In the process I may have found the issue with the Recovery Discs. Looking at the partition table during the windows 7 install, the recovery discs had created 5 (!) partitions on the SSD:

1: EFI (200MB)
2: MSR (126MB)
3: OS (44GB)
4: Data (44GB)
5: Recovery (25GB)

Half of them were also created as GPT partitions which windows was unable to remove/format without rebooting and using diskpart. I've never seen a recovery disc make 5 partitions before, so I thought that was strange.

In any case, hopefully this install will work and let me get this project behind me. Thanks for all of your help and advice.

Cecil_2099
06-04-2012, 06:07 PM
Interesting. My recovery discs created 4 partitions (same as yours except for #2). I ended up merging the Data partition with the OS partition.

Judging from another thread, looks like you aren't the only person to have a problem with an OCZ SSD.

rlwhite86
06-04-2012, 11:11 PM
Whelp, finally fixed it. If you're having similar issues, here's how:

Don't buy an OCZ SSD.

The Win7 retail install would never reboot. Had my IT guy try it another 4 times. I went by BB and picked up a Intel 520 120GB SSD, and i'm looking at a fresh install after 1 attempt.

Last OCZ product I will buy - this one's getting RMA'd. It's a shame too because they used to make a quality product.

Cecil_2099
06-04-2012, 11:17 PM
Glad to hear it's been resolved, albeit not the best outcome...