PDA

View Full Version : OC

iluvatar
06-13-2012, 03:58 PM
Hi,

I have a g53 with a 460m and wanted to try some overclocking. I've never done it before, so I don't really know what to do. I don't want a monster oc, just something to give me a few more fps. I've downloaded msi afterburner and it looks pretty simple to use. Does anyone know what a stable clock is for that card?
Core clock is at 675 and can go up to 880mhz.
Memory is at 1250 and can go to 1625.
How much do i have to increase the frequencies to get a good result?
Also, why does it not display shader frequency in msi?

Will a small oc decrease the lifetime of my gpu? Is it worth doing it?

Sry for so many questions, hopefully someone can shed some light on this :)

brecker
06-13-2012, 11:54 PM
there are lots of tutorials arround the net on how to proceed to oc... basically you raise the clocks little by little and test if the system is stable until you reach an unstable clock, then you raise the voltage a bit and test again, keep raising the clocks and voltage and monitoring the temperature...

a small oc can decrease the lifetime of the gpu... procesors have an stimated lifetime of 5 years... you can expect them to be less if you oc...

if you fail to monitor the temperatures correctly you could fry your gpu... the card probably has three independent sensors, you should read the values of all of them and not the average value...

if you draw more power to oc your machine you will draw more power from the psu, which i'm not sure how much spare it has to be asking for more power...

also you can expect battery to last less while you using your system oced...

i personally don't like having temperatures above 80~85 degrees... my 460m does 70~75 on stock values, ocing it will easily make it gain those extra degrees... so i would also have to tamper with the fan settings to reduce the temperature...