PDA

View Full Version : cpu upgrade?



tw3akUrb0x
06-15-2012, 12:00 PM
Hello,

my g73 is getting a grey beard :) I noticed that some online retailers make it available to purchase faster cpu's for g series notebooks.. I am thinking maybe I could upgrade the cpu at the same time install a better grease on both cpu and graphics processor as well as install an intel wi fi card. ??? is the cpu soldered ? is it upgradeable?

Zygomorphic
06-15-2012, 01:11 PM
Which version of the G73? From what I understand, the G73JH is socketed, both in the video card, and the CPU, which means that you can replace and regrease them. All the other ones have custom GPU form factors, but I believe that the CPU is socketed in all cases. If you are wondering, take apart your computer and find out. Regrease it, which will lower the temps, and see if the computer seems faster. If it has been throttling, you will notice a performance jump just from the CPU being able to run at full speed.

If the CPU is socketed, the re-greased performance jump is not enough. and the price is right, definitely consider it, especially if you can get a 300+ MHz CPU speed boost. That is about what PC World said you need to have to notice a jump in performance.

tw3akUrb0x
06-16-2012, 01:02 AM
ok, I've done a bit more research... I have the X-1 version .... 500gig drive .... combo dvd.... no blue ray and low res screen...

what is the hm55 chipset what is the fastest processor I can put in this puppy??? 940QM extreme edition? 2.13???

Zygomorphic
06-16-2012, 04:16 PM
If the notebook has the capability of sinking the heat that a 2.13 GHz i7-940XM can generate (remember, it is a 55 Watt Extreme Edition part), I would say yes that is the best processor you can put in there. However, Intel says the tray price is $1096 :mad:, so I would advise either finding it for a lot less, or else just putting the money towards a brand-new computer, which will have better graphics that make more difference in gaming--I would think. Just my $0.02, considering how much those top-end Intel processors cost--most of the price of a nice new ROG notebook. :(

tw3akUrb0x
06-17-2012, 12:35 AM
the i7 920xm I've found for 300 buckx and I was wondering about ram sodimm ddr3 what is the top speed??? 1333 or 1600?

Zygomorphic
06-17-2012, 12:40 AM
1333 MHz is all that the original i7 series supported. The i3/i5 CPUs of that generation only supported 1066 MHz. Besides, even those who have 1600 MHz say that the difference between it and 1333 is minimal. In your case, it doesn't matter. Just buy 8 GB of DDR3-1333, and you should be all set. Actually, if the 1600 MHz is cheap, and you will move it to your next system, then buy that. The higher speed DDR3 will simply down-clock to the speed of the memory controller (1333 MHz in this case). $300 for a 920XM is not bad at all. :) What CPU do you have in your laptop right now? If you have an i7, you are set, otherwise, there are chipset differences between the i5 and the i7 CPUs. If you have the i5, then you have to find the fastest 1st gen i5 around.

fostert
06-17-2012, 01:04 AM
If the notebook has the capability of sinking the heat that a 2.13 GHz i7-940XM can generate (remember, it is a 55 Watt Extreme Edition part), I would say yes that is the best processor you can put in there. However, Intel says the tray price is $1096 :mad:, so I would advise either finding it for a lot less, or else just putting the money towards a brand-new computer, which will have better graphics that make more difference in gaming--I would think. Just my $0.02, considering how much those top-end Intel processors cost--most of the price of a nice new ROG notebook. :(

I wonder why the price of the top 2nd Gen XM CPUSs hasn't come down drastically yet now that Ivy Bridge has been here for a couple months. E.g. the core i7 2960XM is still listed as ~$1100 but most sites show that a i7 3610QM is just about on par with the 2960...and at 1/3 the tray price. So, who would buy a 2960 when $1100 gets you nearly all the way to a new G75 with a 3610?

tw3akUrb0x
06-17-2012, 04:42 PM
GOT THE I7 1.6 i WILL MAX OUT THIS MACHINE AS i DO PHOTO EDITING AND GIMP USES TONS OF MEMORY.... 16 GIGS SHOULD FIT.

Zygomorphic
06-17-2012, 06:55 PM
Go ahead and try 16 GB, but I don't know if it will work. Yes it will fit, but I don't know if the IMC can handle that much RAM. Still, it would be nice to see. If all those upgrades go as planned, then you will have system that is really, really sweet. Looking forward to seeing the results. I assume that you have the 1080p panel?

@fostert, I think the reason the price has not come down is that the XM chips are the flagships of every line, and so command a $300 price premium over the 1 step below. :mad: The newer chips are not the flagships, so they do not have the highway robbery pricing schemes. However, the top-end chips probably do cost more to make, since they have a higher TDP.

tw3akUrb0x
06-18-2012, 11:13 AM
one upgrade at a time, I'm just not making much money right now the only way I can have a decent machine is one upgrade at a time. it's the x-1 version which is low res and 500 gig / combo dvd

fostert
06-18-2012, 03:55 PM
@fostert, I think the reason the price has not come down is that the XM chips are the flagships of every line, and so command a $300 price premium over the 1 step below. :mad: The newer chips are not the flagships, so they do not have the highway robbery pricing schemes. However, the top-end chips probably do cost more to make, since they have a higher TDP.
Well I wish they would...since I don't game a new CPU would be the only thing I would want in an upgrade, so it would be ideal to drop in a new one and keep the 560M graphics the same.

I hope ASUS releases a new G74 BIOS someday to recognize the ivy bridge chips...then I would drop one of those in. The socket is the same as the sandys and from everything I've read simply putting one in woudl work fine, provided one has a new BIOS to support the Ivys. But I guess it wouldn't make sense for ASUS t odo that...they'd rather you buy a G75. Still, it might be my next great risk!

aMgDrew
06-18-2012, 04:11 PM
Ivy share share socket with Sandy, so does the chipset has part in any of these?