PDA

View Full Version : G75 New Owner Questions: Partitions & Recommended Preparation Steps Before Use

ValenB5
06-22-2012, 01:34 AM
I'm a new owner of the Asus G75VW-DS72. I'm also a major noob & I have a few questions about the partitions on the 256GB SSD & the 750GB HDD:

1) Both the SSD & HDD came partitioned from the factory. They are partitioned into 2 partitions each, equaling a total of 4 partitions. What are the pros & cons of these partitions?

2) Do you recommend removing the partitions?

3) If yes, how is this accomplished?

4) What steps/procedures (e.g: Windows security updates, installing Internet security software, etc.) do you recommend for preparing this new laptop for use?

Cecil_2099
06-22-2012, 05:10 AM
1) Everyone's got a different opinion about partitions. I personally don't use partitions on a regular basis so I'm not a good resource for that, but from what I've heard (at least for a traditional HDD) disk fragmentation is reduced because the partition sizes places a sort of physical limit for that data writes on the actual physical hard drive platter. With an SDD disk fragmentation is a non-issue (in fact you should never degrag an SSD as that will reduce the operational life of the drive). If you like to have things very segregated then partitions are useful in that you have whole separate "drives" to store your data. The downside is that you may run out of space on one "drive" faster than you originally planned when you set up the partitions.

2) I prefer to remove the partitions and have the SSD as a single partition and the HDD as a single partition. This gives me the most room on my main boot drive (the SSD) for programs etc, and then I use the HDD as my data drive where I point browsers to have their downloads and temp files stored. Please note that the system comes with a hidden restore partition so make sure you DON'T remove it. It's about 25 GB in size.