PDA

View Full Version : ASUS G73JH and 8GB Memory Modules



killerwhale
06-24-2012, 09:58 PM
Hi, guys,
I have an Asus G73JH laptop with 4 memory slots and an i7-720QM processor. Could someone confirm that I can use 8GB memory modules? I know I can install 4 x 4GB modules but can I actually use 8Gb ones?
Thanx.

Zygomorphic
06-25-2012, 02:02 AM
No. The IMC in the original i-series processors do not support 8 GB modules. If you need that much RAM, I would advise buying a desktop, or a newer ROG notebook that will allow you to run 32 GB of RAM. The G53/G74 and onward (G55/G75) can handle that much RAM. Honestly, though, why do you need that much?

killerwhale
06-25-2012, 02:23 AM
Hi, Zygomorphic,
Thanks for your reply. In fact, I don't need 32GB of RAM. I need at least 16 GB (several VMs plus Hauptwerk application that eats up 4 GB of RAM at once). I was thinking of buying 2 x 8GB modules and leaving 2 x 2GB modules that are already there. Moreover, it would save me the trouble of disassembling the laptop to access the fourth RAM slot.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820220621 Here, in the reviews section someone reports using 32GB on their G73JH. But I wonder whether it's true...

Zygomorphic
06-25-2012, 10:17 AM
Try to figure out if they have the G73JH. A lot of people get confused about which exact version they have, since the style is almost identical. If he does, then I would try it. $100 experiment is not that bad, and depending on where you buy it from, you might be able to return it for a refund. Definitely something to consider. I assume then, that you have 4x2 (8) GB. I had 2x4 GB and went to 4x4 GB (G53), and it makes some difference, but not a lot. Only VM's really make use of the extra RAM (nice when you can run dual processor 4 GB RAM VM's in VirtualBox). :cool: