PDA

View Full Version : please help big problem in my asus g53sx



beizosayed
06-27-2012, 06:01 PM
can i use my backup after FORMAT because there are problem in hard disk i will change it but i did not have a windows and drive for my asus g53sx laptop can i use a back up and restore my windows what can i do ???

Gorman
06-27-2012, 08:14 PM
Hm, I'm not sure I understand everything that you said; you formatted your HDD and you want to recover, because you don't have a windows disk or a disk drive?

If you formatted the backup partition then you certainly cannot recover from the backup. You should be able to ring up ASUS and they will send you a disk for Windows, otherwise you can download one from Microsoft. As for not having a disk drive (if that is indeed the case), I suggest installing from USB drive or hooking up an external drive.

beizosayed
06-27-2012, 09:11 PM
Hm, I'm not sure I understand everything that you said; you formatted your HDD and you want to recover, because you don't have a windows disk or a disk drive?

If you formatted the backup partition then you certainly cannot recover from the backup. You should be able to ring up ASUS and they will send you a disk for Windows, otherwise you can download one from Microsoft. As for not having a disk drive (if that is indeed the case), I suggest installing from USB drive or hooking up an external drive.

I have a backup in cd i made it by AI Recovery before damaged of hard disk but i do not know if i can use a backup after purchase another hard disk or no ??? thanks and sorry for my bad english

Zygomorphic
06-27-2012, 09:36 PM
ALL G53SX models have at least a DVD+/-RW drive. I think what @beizo is saying is that he has neither the Windows nor the drivers disk. The drivers are all on the ASUS site. The recovery discs you can use, they simply hold everything. Your English is not that bad, so no worries! :)

dstrakele
06-27-2012, 09:38 PM
The main purpose of the DVD's produced by Ai Recovery is to restore the ASUS Factory OS and Bloatware applications to a NEW HDD.

beizosayed
06-27-2012, 10:20 PM
but the new hard disk does not contain windows . can i use a backup without windows in hard disk this is my question and how i can use a backup
after insert cd number one press what Etc.
thanks for all

dstrakele
06-27-2012, 10:38 PM
Take a look at http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?16645-Step-by-Step-Using-ASUS-Recovery-DVDs-to-Restore-G75&country=&status=. It is written for the G75 but applies to your G53SX as well. You will see the same screens.

beizosayed
06-27-2012, 11:42 PM
Take a look at http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?16645-Step-by-Step-Using-ASUS-Recovery-DVDs-to-Restore-G75&country=&status=. It is written for the G75 but applies to your G53SX as well. You will see the same screens.

ok can you help me what is different between esc and f9 what can i do when i press f9 and what can i do when i press esc and when i press f9 there are many choices i do not know any thing about it

dstrakele
06-28-2012, 12:22 AM
Pressing. F9 at the ASUS splash screen starts the ASUS Factory Restore process from the hidden ASUS Factory partition on the HDD. A new HDD obviously does not have this hidden partition, so you would receive an error that it is missing.

By pressing ESC at the ASUS splash screen, you will display the boot options menu, allowing you to select the DVD Drive as the boot device to run the Ai Recovery DVD's to install the ASUS Factory hidden partition to the NEW HDD and run the installation scripts to install Windows 7, all the device drivers, and all the ASUS Bloatware apps, so your laptop appears just as it did when you first started it right out of the box.

What is the size of your NEW HDD? That may help determine which of the 3 Recovery opitions to choose. If it is a small, say a 120 GB SSD or HDD, I would recommend choosing option #2 "Recover Windows to entire HD". If it was a larger 500 GB HDD, I would recommend option #3 "Recover Windows to entire HD with 2 partitions". This would result in the smallest OS partition, allowing a quicker backup of the Windows System Image when you run Windows Backup and Restore to backup your system.

Zygomorphic
06-28-2012, 08:24 AM
+1 rep, @dstrakele! The best choice is to have two partitions if you have a HDD, since you can load all your data onto the E: drive (second partition on first drive, D: is the DVD+/-RW). That way, when you reinstall Windows, all your Data remains intact, and only Windows and programs are erased! Really helpful, at least for me. I don't know that making two partitions would speed up the backup, since I back up my files in addition to my Windows (to look at them)...;)

beizosayed
06-28-2012, 09:54 AM
ok my hdd is 1.5 TB i want it 3 partitions can i do this when i press f9 and restore from dvd or should first press esc and restore windows but how can i partition hdd when i press esc i do not know what i should to do and how partition my new hdd i should partition my hdd before restore windows from backup or first restore then partition and how can i partition my hdd please help me and thanks for all

Zygomorphic
06-28-2012, 10:06 AM
Let the recovery DVDs do their work, then go into Disk Management, select either the Windows or the Data partitions. Right-click, and select "Shrink Volume..." Follow the on-screen prompts. If all goes well, the blue boxes marking the partitions should shrink, and gray space should appear, saying that there is free-space being unused. Right-click on this, and select "New Partition" and follow the prompts. Making the new partition takes a lot less time than shrinking the existing partitions. If you have 1.5 TB, then you have two 750 GB HDD (either that, or let me know where you found that 1.5 TB drive ;) ). The first drive will get the two partitions, the other one will have one.

beizosayed
06-28-2012, 10:15 AM
ok that mean i can partition my hdd after the start of Windows, first restore windows from backup by press esc then partition my hdd afterthe start of Windows

Ratatox
08-11-2012, 11:42 AM
Hello, I'm new here so firstly i just wanted to say welcome to all of you :)

I ended up on this forum because I have a slight problem with my Asus G53SX A1. I bought it of auction (sth like eBay) and although it's still under warranty till end of the year I do not have original Vat invoice so can't do RMA service to repair it :(
SO...I really hope you can help me!
Here's the thing:
As soon as I got it I changed my HD to 2 partitions using Disk Management option. It was fine, had couple of months with no issues. Then it started to 'blue screen' on me, no HD access and so on - fine! I've checked the HD - found one bad sector on C:\Users..sth sth.... I's ben replaced for a good one and had access to my HD again! Yaayyy!! But then it randomly started to re-boot and play up again - FINE: I'll do the System Recovery from my partition X:....
Nope... I press F9, the files load, I have screen with command, tick and cancel option.
I click on tick - "ERROR 0"! Click 'OK' (only available option) and it re-boots the machine.
Going to command screen - it hangs on X:\Windows\System32>

So I've tried to be a smart girl: downloaded Win 7, burned it, reinstalled and it seems fine.... Although my key doesn't match win the Win 7 version so now I'm dowloading the W7 link given on ROG forum :)

So far there is no issue with it... BUT - I really would love to have a 'Factory Reset' option. Is there any way I can re-load/fix/recreate the recovery partition? I have no DVD's with recovery (too silly to do them straigh away :( ) but is there an option to purchase them from Asus or dowlnload them from somewhere? If I find someone with the same laptop would theirs DVD work on my machine? Or shall I just follow all the links in "Drivers,Apps and how-to's" thread, dowload, install and then do Recovery DVDs?

Any help and/or solutions to my problem will be much appreciated! :)
Thanx in advance!

Zygomorphic
08-11-2012, 12:16 PM
Um, the short answer is no. The original hard disk had the recovery image, and without burning the recovery media, the recovery image does not exist. Sorry. You don't want the recovery system anyway, because it puts so much junk-ware on in addition to Windows 7. Doing what you did with the vanilla Win 7 install is the best way. Everything that you may want to add can be downloaded from the ASUS site.

Ratatox
08-11-2012, 12:37 PM
In this case, how can I format HD to remove the hidden partition?
It doesn't work anyway so why take up my precious 8gb of space? ;)

If I format HD, instal W7 and all drivers can I then create Recovery DVDs?
Or just simple 'Recovery Point' on external HD will do?

I'm not complete moron when it comes to computers but some things still are pretty hard to grasp ;)

And last thing: is there an Asus software which can help me finding drivers or do I have to get them from Asus website? The reason I ask is because I've downloaded all drivers with my new W7 and I still have 'PCI SImple Communications Controller' with no driver and haven't even got a clue what it is :D

Carson
08-11-2012, 01:40 PM
I was in the neighborhood so I figured I'd stop by to help out.

1) If you want to format your harddrive to get rid of the recovery partition, you can so during the process of re-installing windows. When the screen comes up to select which partition you want to install windows on, simply select each partition and click 'delete'. This will format your entire hard drive. Then select the unallocated space and select 'next' to install windows.

2) You should be able to create recovery CDs at any point using ASUS AI Recovery Utility. (Located under 'utilities' on the download page for your laptop.

3) Try downloading the 'Intel Management Engine Interface' driver under the 'others' tab on your drivers and download page. That should be the appropriate driver. I tried to give a link, but that didn't work out for me. To further answer your question, your laptop should have come with a CD called "Asus InstAll". You put it in on a fresh install and it installed all your drivers and all the bloatware that your laptop originally came with. I wouldn't recommend using it, and you cannot download it from the website.

If you are going to reinstall, you will need to think about a couple of things first.

1) I'd recommend downloading a program called Produkey (http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/product_cd_key_viewer.html). This program finds your Microsoft Office and Windows product keys for you so that you can use them again after reinstall.

2) Do you have a way of installing Windows? You obviously don't have your recovery CDs, and your recovery partition doesn't work. I'm assuming your laptop came with Windows 7 which would mean that you own a license. That being said, it is NOT illegal for you to download an 'untouched' ISO of Windows 7. You have a license key for it. You 'should' be able to use the product key on the bottom of your laptop, but just to be safe I would recommend using Produkey

3) Do you have Microsoft Office installed? Sometimes reinstalling Office can be a pain. Especially if you lost your installation file or your product key. You can download Office from the website as long as you have your product key. 2007 (https://www2.downloadoffice2010.microsoft.com/o12/registerkey.aspx?culture=en-GB&ref=o12) and 2010 (https://www2.downloadoffice2010.microsoft.com/usa/registerkey.aspx?culture=en-US&ref=pkc&country_id=US).

(Worth noting that you may have to call Microsoft in order to license your Office install again. Just tell them you formatted your computer and that you've only ever installed it on one computer.)

4) After you install your OS and download all your drivers and make the recovery CD (if that's what you want to do), I'd recommend a website called Ninite (http://ninite.com/). It's a super convenient website that allows you to download multiple programs at the same time. It deselects all options to install toolbars, submit additional information online, etc. It is fantastic for a fresh install.

Hope this helps.
Carson

EDIT: Produkey has recently been getting detected by antiviruses (MSE, at least) as a keygen. It's not. It scans your Windows\system32\config folder and extracts your product keys from that.

Ratatox
08-11-2012, 01:52 PM
Wow! That's a great post!
I'll burn the Win7 with SP1 now and try your way of deleting the hidden partition. My Win7 Key didn't work because I had W7 with no SP1 (that's what microsoft help told me - wrong version for the key). I'll keep you posted if I get stuck (hope not).
Thank you!

Carson
08-11-2012, 02:05 PM
Did you try to activate it again after installed SP1?

Either way, you're on the right track.
If you get stuck then I am sure someone here will be willing to help you out. They seem to be good about that around here.

Zygomorphic
08-11-2012, 08:10 PM
Did you try to activate it again after installed SP1?

Either way, you're on the right track.
If you get stuck then I am sure someone here will be willing to help you out. They seem to be good about that around here.

Don't pat yourself on the back to much mate! Your original post is awesome +1 rep. It was clearly written and well thought out. Stick around please and be the "someone here willing to help you out". That would be awesome, welcome to the community!

Ratatox
08-12-2012, 10:09 AM
Just wanted to say big Thank You!
You guys helped me a lot! My lappy is up and runnig and Windows finally loads in less than a minute :P

I've done all backups and so on and even got my head around activating Win7 over the phone! Yay! All good :)

Thanx again X