PDA

View Full Version : G75 vs G55

Eynnl
07-01-2012, 03:21 PM
Hello members, newbie here to both the forum and ASUS. Hope I am posting in the correct area.

I am looking to purchase either of these models and would like your input. I have been reading and have noticed a lot of bad feedback on the G75 series, is the G55 better? Also can either of these be upgraded later..processors..memory?
Recently I came across a deal on this web site ..
http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_12605_00332592000P#specs
Looking at the specs, there are differences, I called and they really we not able to address my concerns which worries me.
Example;
Processor Speed: 2.1 to 3 GHz ...but the CPU is a 3610QM no mention of turbo boost, but it does have the 2 different speeds there again wrong numbers. Looks like they copied and pasted from another site. From what I am also reading, does the PC really use 3Gigs for video?
Has anyone purchased their rig from here, Why did you choose say your G75 over your G55, pros and cons?

I have an Alienware now and while they do have good support, it spends more time in for repairs then anythng else I have had before. I'm not a gamer but like the speed and graphics, nothing worse then shuttering on videos, crappy pixels while surfing and I do use some graphics but just love a good PC? Thanks for any help in advance.

chrsplmr
07-01-2012, 03:49 PM
The basic difference between these two models is size. G75=17", G55=15"
The G75 has either 660 or 670gpu ... while the G55 has the 660
The G75 also has a 3d version while all are 3d ready with an external monitor.

While you may see what appears to be 'issues' with these ... RMA happens with all manufacturers.
Asus sold over 4Million of these units in the first quarter alone ... do the math ...
Personally this is the First I have ever seen or heard of Sears selling a G ...
Welcome to ROG.c.

sing_css
07-01-2012, 03:55 PM