PDA

View Full Version : New G75 owner - Antivirus/Malware choices

ChoaticRobotic
07-01-2012, 09:36 PM
Hello,

I'm new to ROG Forum, been lurking for a few weeks. I've had a macbook pro for 6 years and I'm now switching to a G75. Being a mac user has not made me ignorant to Windows, I actually use Windows a lot for school (I want to be a Game Dev). But at school the computers run deep freeze, so I have no experience with antivirus software. So what do you use? Should I buy software or is the free stuff just as good? Would you recommend using more than one, like two or three?

Thanks!

soulctcher
07-01-2012, 09:47 PM
There are a number of choices out there, but one thing is certain, you'll want a combination of products. Personally, I use Avast and MalwareBytes on my machines...have for years. They're both free and do the job well. Others will have their preferences as well, and I'm sure they're just as valid.

desailly
07-01-2012, 09:48 PM
i use a free avira antivirus ... it has occasional pop ups but its still free and nevertheless pretty good to use IMHO

MaXimus711
07-01-2012, 09:48 PM
I bought BitDefender Internet Security 2013 2 years license from a local store for only 25 USD :) very light and excellent protection

john_from_ohio
07-01-2012, 10:11 PM
Like soulcatcher noted ... at this time the windows environment is so nasty that you probably want a combination of products.

I also like Malware Bytes Anti Malware for my 2nd product and it integrates well with my 1st choice Norton Internet Security ( NIS ) 2012 which has both antivirus/firewall etc.

Do some looking around at the reputable places that review these products and check out the ratings/etc.

Have a tested and proven backup solution in place "just in case" all the protection efforts prove ineffective!

*** Just to note ... when having more than 1 product some combinations do not work well if at all together.

MPelissari
07-01-2012, 10:32 PM