PDA

View Full Version : GPU Tweak gives me a black screen when I apply any change



psytropic
07-06-2012, 04:26 AM
Just like the title I tried 2.06 and 2.0.83 and each will not allow me to change anything on my TOP Radeon 5850. If I even downclock the screen goes black when I hit apply. Running Cat 12.6 right now.

I can o/c like a beast on AMD overdrive but that makes my second monitor flicker. In games, on youtube and playing movies in WMP. The hardware acceleration disabling fixes the flicker oon desktop apps but not in games.

I have read and read and read about this problem and was hoping GPU tweak would be the answer.

MrRyaz
08-14-2012, 09:07 PM
when it black screens does it recover? or is a reboot requires? because it black screens for a second or two for me aswell but then its fine

psytropic
08-30-2012, 01:58 AM
It will just sit, as for the newest version 2192 that will not even run, just gives me that "Close the Program" prompt. I am going to try the new 2201

psytropic
08-30-2012, 02:08 AM
That's a no go on 2201 as well.

HiVizMan
09-01-2012, 12:11 PM
What graphic cards are you trying to overclock, and do you have Auto updates enabled in OS?

psytropic
09-01-2012, 08:07 PM
What graphic cards are you trying to overclock, and do you have Auto updates enabled in OS?
Automatic Updates are enabled. This is an ASUS TOP version EAH5850. Running latest Cats 12.8 (Also happens on 12.1, 12.3 and 12.6).

The program will not run, and the older versions just freeze my system with a blank screen. I run a dual monitor system if that helps.

lenehan
09-02-2012, 03:09 AM
Do you have any 3rd party monitoring software running? Close the other monitoring software and run the program to see if still crash. Cheers.

psytropic
09-03-2012, 10:57 PM
I only have the Vision Control Center and the AMD Overdrive program installed (stand alone not the one included in VCC)

lenehan
09-04-2012, 05:18 AM
Please try to remove the AMD Overdrive application and Vision Control Center . And check if everthing is ok. Cheers.