PDA

View Full Version : Something that looks like a Water Wave going down my screen when I play games...

Toma
07-10-2012, 08:36 PM
Ok so I hope this makes sense... I will do my best lol... I just purchased my laptop from Frys electronics and I downloaded the most recent video card driver from asus official website. I put my NVIDIA card settings on High Quality and when I try playing any game, it looks like this little wave goes down my screen (it starts from the top of the screen and goes downwards) . Its not extremely noticeable but eventually it drives me crazy because it is continuously happening and it never stops. I think it happens even while watching movies.

I was thinking it has something to do with Vsync or the hz on the screen but I am no expert, please help!

Thanks guys!

Angrybrit
07-10-2012, 08:47 PM
Upgrade your display drivers and come back to us if it's already at latest version please ensure it's not your monitor...

Toma
07-10-2012, 08:58 PM
Upgrade your display drivers and come back to us if it's already at latest version please ensure it's not your monitor...

Are you talking about the VGA drivers? (http://www.asus.com/Notebooks/Gaming_Powerhouse/G75VW/#download)
Version V8.17.12.9644
Description nVidia Graphics Driver
File Size
191,95 (MBytes) 2012.04.26 update

I downloaded that one and installed it.

Is the display driver different or is that what you are talking about?

Thanks!

cl-scott
07-10-2012, 09:13 PM
I would say you are onto something with the vsync idea. If it is kind of a jagged line going diagonally down the screen, that definitely sounds like a vsync issue. So while the latest drivers from nVidia's website are downloading, you can check the nVidia control panel and make sure that the vsync is always enabled, see if that improves anything.