PDA

View Full Version : RAM Upgrade



satinblack
07-11-2012, 08:31 AM
Got a question to ask, just gotten my hand on the G55VW and I am planning to upgrade the RAM to Corsair Vengeance 16GB 1866 Mhz, however I remember reading at Xoticpc that the Asus bios only supports 1333Mhz Ram.

I am planning to take out the OEM ram and install the corsair RAM on all four slots.

Would you be able to advise if I need to upgrade the bios in order for me to make full use of the 1866 Mhz speed or does the system will auto optimize the timings ?

Advise is much appreciated.

electric0ant
07-11-2012, 09:37 AM
I'm pretty sure its 1600mhz ram. and only 2 is accessible from the bottom panel. to access the other two slots you have to pretty much disassemble most of the laptop.

Zygomorphic
07-11-2012, 10:10 AM
The system should run at 1866 speeds, at least 8 GB will. 16 GB, I do not know. Actually, the default RAM in your notebook is 1600 MHz. @electric0ant, you are correct, accessing all four slots is tedious and difficult. Be careful @satinblack. Good luck!

satinblack
07-11-2012, 10:39 AM
Hahaha, thanks for the advice guys. Luckily I won't be upgrading the RAM. Getting it done by a professional, just wanted to check on the compatibility before proceeding.

TechMaxed
07-11-2012, 10:42 AM
The system should run at 1866 speeds, at least 8 GB will. 16 GB, I do not know. Actually, the default RAM in your notebook is 1600 MHz. @electric0ant, you are correct, accessing all four slots is tedious and difficult. Be careful @satinblack. Good luck!

Are you sure that rams are able to run at 1866mhz speed in the G55...??? (curious)

Zygomorphic
07-11-2012, 01:24 PM
Well, one of the ASUS reps ran an older G-series (G73JW) at 1866 speeds some time ago, so what with improved mobos and such, it is almost certain to be compatible. ASUS disables the internal Intel graphics, which is what usually limits the memory speeds. I know that ASUS did it with 8 GB, so I would assume that 16 GB will work, but I will not guarantee it. To be honest though, ASUS reps basically said it was not worth the money, since the benchmark jumps were usually slight at best. They said that it might help with lower latency eliminating micro-stuttering, but true bandwidth increase does not increase the gaming performance much. That said, I have heard that with integrated graphics higher speed RAM can make a huge difference, especially at higher resolutions and textures, because the Intel graphics share the memory bandwidth, so any increase can help the graphics run faster when it is bandwidth limited (often the case at high resolutions and large textures).

TechMaxed
07-11-2012, 01:50 PM
Thanks for that nice piece of info bro....:)

john_from_ohio
07-11-2012, 02:46 PM
just gotten my hand on the G55VW and I am planning to upgrade the RAM to Corsair Vengeance 16GB 1866 Mhz

Check out your current installed ram carefully for timings etc.

If you put in sticks that do not match timings/specs you may end up putting in faster ram which gets forced to running all your memory slower due to forced timing compatibility matches.

Zygomorphic
07-11-2012, 09:39 PM
Use CPU-Z, ASUS put an ROG skin on it. It will read the timings in the memory so that you can match them. Best (only) tool I've tried.

satinblack
07-12-2012, 02:11 AM
Check out your current installed ram carefully for timings etc.

If you put in sticks that do not match timings/specs you may end up putting in faster ram which gets forced to running all your memory slower due to forced timing compatibility matches.

Thanks for the advise, well I not that worried about it. Will be taking out the stock ram and then replace all 4 slots with the 4GB x4 Corsair Vengeance 1866Mhz ram.

Zygomorphic
07-12-2012, 08:10 AM
Thanks for the advise, well I not that worried about it. Will be taking out the stock ram and then replace all 4 slots with the 4GB x4 Corsair Vengeance 1866Mhz ram.

Let me know how it goes, I look forward to knowing the results. Any chance you find 2000 MHz RAM? :)

CarDoe
07-16-2012, 02:45 AM
Can i know What the G55vw Stock Ram Brand?:D

Zygomorphic
07-16-2012, 09:54 AM
Probably Spectek like the G53, but that's a guess. Anyone else know?

Apophis
07-16-2012, 11:14 PM
I just thought I should add that I upgraded my ASUS G55VW-ES71 with a Corsair 1600MHz DDR3 2x4GB RAM. My system now has 16GB total RAM at 1600MHz. I just added the memory to the empty slots accessible by the removable panel.

Zygomorphic
07-17-2012, 12:51 AM
Sweet! 16 GB is what I have. Are they matched RAM (try memtest86+) to see what everything is as well as bandwidth, CAS latency, etc.

satinblack
07-17-2012, 12:55 AM
or does the Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1866 Mhz x2 makes you drool as well ? hahaha

Zygomorphic
07-17-2012, 01:45 AM
Gloater!!! lol :p Just trying to rub in your better lappy than mine. Does my dual 2.5 HDD + DVD+/-RW laptop make you drool? ... Plus 560M (128-bit).

satinblack
07-17-2012, 03:12 AM
Gloater!!! lol :p Just trying to rub in your better lappy than mine. Does my dual 2.5 HDD + DVD+/-RW laptop make you drool? ... Plus 560M (128-bit).

hahaha, unfortunately it does a little bit. If only they had G75 in stock, I would have gotten that instead. But seriously you should upgrade your RAM to corsair vengeance, worth every penny on the upgrade.