PDA

View Full Version : I got the G75V notebook, I can upgrade it to the VW specs right?



sevron
07-13-2012, 10:03 PM
I can upgrade the G75V to the VW specs right? I bought it from BestBuy today not thinking it was a lower end model -_-.

It's only got 8gb of RAM in it, can I bring that up to the 12gb the VW has or am I screwed? And I am putting a Crucial M4 SSD in here as well.

Shawnnepc
07-13-2012, 10:22 PM
Yes you can

sevron
07-13-2012, 10:26 PM
Ok, thanks. What's the maximum memory you can put in it though and what kind? DDR3 1600?

And where are the drivers for the laptop at? I could only find the G75VW on the site, or are they the same ones for the G75V?

Kamil
07-13-2012, 11:10 PM
The maximum memory that can be added without voiding the warranty is 8GB, for a total of 16.

sevron
07-13-2012, 11:22 PM
I opened the back up and didn't see any memory modules in there, am I missing something or they hidden someplace else?

And you're saying I can't double the RAM without voiding the warranty o.o

EDIT: When I install the SSD and install Windows I just need to install all the drivers listed for the G75VW except the BIOS and BIOS-Utils right?

Cecil_2099
07-14-2012, 12:17 AM
I opened the back up and didn't see any memory modules in there, am I missing something or they hidden someplace else?

And you're saying I can't double the RAM without voiding the warranty o.o

EDIT: When I install the SSD and install Windows I just need to install all the drivers listed for the G75VW except the BIOS and BIOS-Utils right?

There are 4 memory slots two of which are under the keyboard and not user-accessible. the other two are empty for you to add up to another 8 gb (2x4gb sticks) if you keep Windows 7 Home.

When installing the SSD if you want a clean install then yes do what you have in mind. Or you can burn a set of factory restore DVDs and use them to restore to the SSD the factory state. This will however put on a 25gb recovery partition on the SSD which you may or may not want.

sevron
07-14-2012, 12:34 AM
I've already made a set of recovery discs just in case I ever want to go back to the reg. HDD or something.

And the recovery discs won't align the SSD correctly will it? It doesn't matter to me, I'll just do it manually, I've only done it like 300 times lol.

And there's no memory limitation in Win7 Home? I thought it was like 12gb or something.

Zygomorphic
07-14-2012, 01:09 AM
Win 7 Home Premium is limited by M$ to 16 GB of RAM. Pro and Ultimate can address an insane amount of RAM: 192 GB or something like that. If you are willing to spend the money to upgrade to 32 GB, then

With regards to aligning the SSD, unless your SSD is over 512 GB, it should not be an advanced format drive. If it is, then just realign it.

sevron
07-14-2012, 01:18 AM
I aligned my other 2 crucial m4's so just figured I'd align this one just to keep everything the same. I did have to format it as a GPT drive though because Windows wouldn't install on it as MBR for some reason. But everything is fine now, just need to figure out which drivers to get from the list of them all.

EDIT: Windows is all installed and omg, that hard drive was really a bottleneck, I've never seen one that slow (5400rpm).

Holy
07-14-2012, 03:00 AM
The maximum memory that can be added without voiding the warranty is 8GB, for a total of 16.

incorrect the max you can add is 16gb (2x 8gb stick)

kiba
07-14-2012, 05:05 AM
they are accessible, it just requires some digging, i replaced all mine with corsair ram.

sevron
07-14-2012, 06:46 AM
I got the drivers installed, all updates installed and whenever I reboot it it's REALLY slow. I'll right click on the desktop and it takes forever to open that menu. I'll open up the start menu and go into something and it'll take forever. It's saying my internet is really slow when the computer right beside me is getting the full 30Mb/s down not 400KB/s down like the laptop is.

Zygomorphic
07-14-2012, 10:10 AM
I aligned my other 2 crucial m4's so just figured I'd align this one just to keep everything the same. I did have to format it as a GPT drive though because Windows wouldn't install on it as MBR for some reason. But everything is fine now, just need to figure out which drivers to get from the list of them all.

EDIT: Windows is all installed and omg, that hard drive was really a bottleneck, I've never seen one that slow (5400rpm).

Yup! 5400 RPM drives are insanely slow. They really haven't improved much in performance in several years. 7200 RPM drives are a little better, but nothing touches the speed of an SSD. If you want performance, they are the only way to go.

sevron
07-14-2012, 06:52 PM
Everything is working ok, but there's one driver that I can't figure out what it is. Device manage is saying it's "PCI Simple Communication Controller", but I've installed every driver on the Asus ROG site and it still won't say it's installed.

And one other thing, why won't my laptop find my android phone? I've got it set to appear to all bluetooth devices, but it never finds any. And the phone can't find the laptop either.

Would this RAM be ok for the G75V? I couldn't tell if they were 204 or 240 pin. And is the rest of the RAM 1600 or 1333?

Jackieoh
07-18-2012, 02:35 AM
I also installed an ssd and did a clean install of windows 7. I am getting the same bluetooth problem. When you open "devices and Printers" in start menu is there a yellow warning sign by the Asus G75V icon? that's what I get. When I double click on the Asus g75v icon I see a warning on Bluetooth server. clicking on that gives me an error message that says "bluetooth server cannot start (Error code 10). that seems to be the problem. now I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling the Atheros and the Intel bluetooth drivers, but have had no luck in getting the bluetooth to work. At least you are not alone. Anybody has found a way to fix this?

Zygomorphic
07-18-2012, 10:22 AM
Here is the RAM you should look at:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=Property&Subcategory=381&Description=&Type=&N=100007609&IsNodeId=1&IsPowerSearch=1&srchInDesc=&MinPrice=&MaxPrice=&PropertyCodeValue=529%3A39102&PropertyCodeValue=3092%3A49472&PropertyCodeValue=3092%3A58227&PropertyCodeValue=3092%3A47511&PropertyCodeValue=3092%3A49433&PropertyCodeValue=3092%3A42172

This will only get 1333, 1600, & 1866 RAM. All of the RAM is 204-pin DDR3, which is the size that the G75 uses.

Shawnnepc
07-18-2012, 03:35 PM
I don't suggest EVER using the recovery media on the SSD upgrade.

It wasn't made to handle SSDs.

I have had instances where TRIM wasn't enabled and it didn't install the drive using the proper controllers .