PDA

View Full Version : G55 boot up speed for windows 7 64 bit on hdd 1tb rpm 5400



lexlex
07-16-2012, 02:41 AM
Hi everyone,

I just got my new g55 but the down side is its 1tb of 5400rpm. Everything is good except for the boot up of OS which is fast enough but not up to my expectation.

Can g55 5400/7200 owners here share with me their boot up speed in secs? I'm curious with the difference between 2 rpm.

Also I been reading a lot of upgrading and install OS in the ssd? Does it means removing the existing
Hdd and replace with a ssd? Will it void warranty ? Im not good in hardware knowledge, hopefully someone can enlighten me with details on ssd upgrade.

I will post my boot up time later in the day when i'm back home.

Thanks!

UltimaRage
07-16-2012, 07:03 AM
The 1 TB drive is extremely fast for a 5400 RPM drive.

There is an empty drive bay for another HDD, so most people put in an SSD and then use the 1 TB drive for storage.

TechMaxed
07-16-2012, 08:55 AM
The 1 TB drive is extremely fast for a 5400 RPM drive.

There is an empty drive bay for another HDD, so most people put in an SSD and then use the 1 TB drive for storage.

But unfortunately G55 doesnt have 2 HDD bays...unless the optical drive is replaced with a caddy..

Zygomorphic
07-16-2012, 09:46 AM
Mine (G53SX) sits around 30 secs to log-in (after post and GRUB) and another 15-20 once the password is entered. All told, it is under a minute with a Seagate hybrid drive. Fast!!! :)

dmoon723
07-16-2012, 02:43 PM
My machine came with the same 5400rpm 1TB drive. It took ~60 seconds from pushing the power button to loading Google.com

I just installed a 128GB SSD this morning, and the same thing only took 25 seconds. Not to mention EVERYTHING is snappier than ever. Totally worth the investment.

lexlex
07-16-2012, 04:06 PM
My machine came with the same 5400rpm 1TB drive. It took ~60 seconds from pushing the power button to loading Google.com

I just installed a 128GB SSD this morning, and the same thing only took 25 seconds. Not to mention EVERYTHING is snappier than ever. Totally worth the investment.


Mine took about 1 min and 20 secs for windows to stop loading before i click google.com. Is there any way i can improve my boot up time. Does installing SSD void the warranty>? What brand ssd are you using?

dmoon723
07-17-2012, 12:20 AM
Mine took about 1 min and 20 secs for windows to stop loading before i click google.com. Is there any way i can improve my boot up time. Does installing SSD void the warranty>? What brand ssd are you using?Installing a SSD does not void the warranty. They would not make it so easily accessible if it did. I'm using a Crucial M4, they're reasonably priced, and definitely worth it.

satinblack
07-17-2012, 12:37 AM
I am using a Corsair Series 3 120GB SSD for my OS and the 1TB 5400 RPM HDD for data storage. (Replaced my optical drive with a HDD caddy). Would have gotten the Intel 520 series instead if not because I bought the corsair for $60. The load time and response is lightning fast paired up with 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866 Mhz RAM. Planning to add in a 40GB Msata cache next.

And no it does not void your warranty.

Zygomorphic
07-17-2012, 12:49 AM
Adding the mSata cache will void the warranty, however, just thought I would add that!

satinblack
07-17-2012, 12:57 AM
Adding the mSata cache will void the warranty, however, just thought I would add that!
That's true but not if you were to bring it to Asus to install it for you. Although they would charge $30 to fix it for you. Worth it I guess ?

Zygomorphic
07-17-2012, 01:42 AM
That's true but not if you were to bring it to Asus to install it for you. Although they would charge $30 to fix it for you. Worth it I guess ?
I would say so, if $30 is all it costs.