PDA

View Full Version : GTS 360M G60JX



Jonny Q Ball
03-13-2011, 10:06 PM
Hi I recently found out I can replace the cpu to an I7, I am wondering if I can change the graphics card also? I currently have a GTS 360M and it wont support directX11.

nathanr504
08-24-2011, 12:27 AM
basically no. I wouldn't say it's impossible though. I once found a website selling dedicated video cards for laptops but at riduculous prices and then you'll get into compatibility and hardware issues. The website had the gts360 card for $400 if I remember right..They were all used too..

vl.shevchuk
08-27-2011, 07:55 PM
The second moment why the graphic card change is technically complicated and expansive is the fact that in Asus laptops graphic card connectors are fused to motherboard. So why the graphic card replacement in Asus laptops demands the complete laptop disassembly with separation of motherboard from laptop and then using the professional soldering iron on the base of hot air. So you have to pay twice: for the new graphic card and for the work of specialist. Even this huge wasting money don't guarantee that new graphic card would be recognized by BIOS of the laptop (because all the G60Jx laptops have the only graphic card - GTS360M).
If you changed processor from Core i5 to Core i7 (inside Arrandale line) and installed more memory (from 4 to 8 Gb) - it's maximum what you can do for upgrading your laptop. This change remains inside the G60Jx line, so it is completely supported by BIOS (G60Jx models with such type of processor and RAM exist and thus are recognizable by BIOS).
Also you can try to add the second harddrive, but this operation is also risky - the BIOS of G60Jx is not the same as of G60J, and it doesn't contain the dual HDD support.
Also it's technically hard to change the original RAM blocks connector from one-block to dual-block (as it is in G60Vx and G60J) and, what is more important - make it to work correctly. Even if you personally know such high qualified specialist in laptop repairing, this operation would cost you a lot of money.

grungeboy2
09-17-2011, 04:38 AM
The second moment why the graphic card change is technically complicated and expansive is the fact that in Asus laptops graphic card connectors are fused to motherboard. So why the graphic card replacement in Asus laptops demands the complete laptop disassembly with separation of motherboard from laptop and then using the professional soldering iron on the base of hot air. So you have to pay twice: for the new graphic card and for the work of specialist. Even this huge wasting money don't guarantee that new graphic card would be recognized by BIOS of the laptop (because all the G60Jx laptops have the only graphic card - GTS360M).
If you changed processor from Core i5 to Core i7 (inside Arrandale line) and installed more memory (from 4 to 8 Gb) - it's maximum what you can do for upgrading your laptop. This change remains inside the G60Jx line, so it is completely supported by BIOS (G60Jx models with such type of processor and RAM exist and thus are recognizable by BIOS).
Also you can try to add the second harddrive, but this operation is also risky - the BIOS of G60Jx is not the same as of G60J, and it doesn't contain the dual HDD support.
Also it's technically hard to change the original RAM blocks connector from one-block to dual-block (as it is in G60Vx and G60J) and, what is more important - make it to work correctly. Even if you personally know such high qualified specialist in laptop repairing, this operation would cost you a lot of money.


sorry man this post is garbage.

you can change the video card, THEY ARE NOT FUSED TO THE BOARD, otherwise they wouldn't be removable. Asus uses a MXM format (similar to AGP or PCI-E) but MXM formats use 1, 2, and 3. if a given card was a MXM 2.0 card, then the only thing that will work is a 1 or a 2. if it's a 3, then a 2 or a 1 would usually work. what asus does special is to turn the port 180 degrees. this means that you can only use a Asus video card in your laptop, ie, whatever you get has to come out of another Asus. if the one you get doesn't match up with the heat pipes you have, you're done, unless you can fab one up yourself.

the MXM cards are expensive. when you bought that laptop the two single biggest parts that you bought were the video card and the screen. if you're going to change it, it turns into a 'why did you buy a laptop with that video card'.

they can be swapped, for example if you could find a GTX 280m or something, you might have something pretty cool, but if it's gonna cost a arm and a leg then it's not worth it.

G60's are just like the G51, and they are pretty customizable. i modded mine with a 3-inch hole saw and a speaker grate. you can use two hard drives. i'm a computer tech and i've never seen a company disable the ability to use two hard drives. it should be noted that i'm using my factory 320GB and i installed a 160GB that came from a busted macbook, it was a apple branded toshiba and as soon as i was able to get it formatted, after i worked around the odd little bios issue, it worked great. the bios issue had something to do with a bug in the bios, where you would install the drive, turn on the computer, it would show in bios, but not show in the os, and when you went to the bios again, it would not be present. this was fixed by going into the bios, selecting restore user defaults, select save and exit, then repeat, after the second time everything worked perfectly, and i haven't had any trouble from it since.

in the case of the RX05 best buy version of a G51, they don't support quad cores, yet will still boot with them, as if it's a dual core. i'm sure this was done to keep people from buying the cheaper best buy models and stuffing a quad in it, conversely it could be that the board is minus some chip that would support the quad cores. supposedly 8GB of RAM is unsupported as well but i've seen people use it.

i'm going to try to buy a Intel E8435 or similar chip because it's a cheaper alternative to a T9900. give it long enough and someone will come in here and tell me it's a mac chip that goes in a desktop mac, hence the Exxxx, and that it won't work in a G51. that doesn't mean it won't work just fine (it's the same chip as a T9900 but intel made em for apple).

DaemonCantor
09-17-2011, 03:15 PM
It's a Mac chip that goes into a Mac Laptop...hows that?...if you really look at the hardware between Apple and your run of the mill Intel Windows box you will find that it's only a TPM (Trusted Platform Module) chip that's different they both use the same hardware....It's at the Software Level they are different. but that doesn't mean much ether...