PDA

View Full Version : Windows 7 Install Issues on Agility 3 240GB SSD (MBR and UEFI) plus Boot Problems

mastrly33
08-03-2012, 04:19 AM
I have an Agility 3 240GB SSD that I got and would like to install in my ASUS G75VW laptop. Now I'm not tech savvy so please bear with me but I do as much research as I can. I gone through the process of installing a fresh copy of Windows 7 Home edition 64-bit with Service Pack 1 and I can never get it to install properly and for it to not have to boot from the installation disk. I did as much research as I could on this and frankly I just read a lot of bad stuff in how OCZ SSDs frequently have compatibility issues with the more recent ASUS Republic of Gamers series laptops. So I'm turning to here for some help. Here are some things I've done or tried:

* I removed the original HDD so only the SSD is installed.
* I tried installing MBR and both UEFI but to no avail either way.
* I follow the instructions including formatting/deleting and such before installing.
* The BIOS has been flashed to the latest which is version 210.
* The SSD has been flashed to the latest which is version 2.22.
* I installed accordingly under ACHI and IDE but to no avail either way.
* I burned original ISO copies of Windows to install and via USB but still didn't work.
* Laptop works great in factory form (with original HDD)
* I did the 'diskpart' and 'clean' but still didn't work

The install would look like it happened perfectly fine but it would freeze after the first reboot. There were times were it would get past the reboot and actually finalize the installation process and assign the OCZ SSD with a 'windows boot manager' but then it would only load the operating system if the Windows disk is in, which I don't want. Even after a while, I would get the error about 'hardware changed and couldn't detect what was needed to boot'.