PDA

View Full Version : Joining the Republic (questions about the G75)

DigiOps
08-03-2012, 11:41 PM
Hey all!

Well, I'm all but decided on the G75. I'm pretty excited to finally get a new computer after four (plus) years and even more so to finally have a PC capable of gaming especially with the upcoming release of Fall of Cybertron, Hawken, and many others. :D

As excited as I am, I do still have some questions...

I'm a student (working towards a degree in computer science and becoming a certified programmer) and I have copious amounts of music and movies. I'm always making something new in Blender and I'm hitting the books on various programming languages. I like storage space and lots of it. The model I'm ordering is the G75vw-ts72. As the model number reveals, this particular machine is coming from Tiger Direct and comes with one HDD. I read that older G series laptops that have the two hard drive bays only have one bracket for the pre-installed drive and an add-on has to be purchased in order to install the second hard drive. Is this true for G75s shipped with one hard drive pre-installed? I'd like to order mine at the same time as another 750GB drive. Will I be able to install it on day one or do I need to get anything else to get the hard drive in securely?

My TV's capabilities aren't being fully taken advantage of. I know I can hook it up through HDMI and set Windows to do nothing with the lid closed. How about resolution on a larger TV? Are there any other settings I'll have to fiddle with to get the output looking right on it? Mind you its not a deal breaker or anything if I have to play around with it. :)

As I said before, I'm a student so I'm gonna need a backpack for this bad boy that can also hold my text books comfortably. I've been looking at the shuttle backpack. It's advertised as a 17"-er so the G75 is gonna be a tight fit in the sleeve. With that beast could the backpack still provide ample room for a few text books?