PDA

View Full Version : Can he handle it ?



Berte
08-04-2012, 08:40 AM
hello I am planning to buy a new G75VW-DS73-3D and i want to know if i can upgrade the memory up to 32GB 1600 MHz.
Ill use it as my workstation for running multi OS , App dev, Graphic Design and many high stuff. if it's possible please give me a link to where i can buy the memory and a faster Hard Drive compatible with the G75 online.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/ASUS-G75VW-DS73-3D-2-70-3-70GHz-i7-3820QM-32GB-1-75TB-Blu-Ray-3GB-NVidia-670M-3D-/280894682768?pt=Laptops_Nov05&hash=item4166a0b690

c_man
08-04-2012, 09:05 AM
Even if "he" can, you will most likely void warranty. There are 4 modules. 2 are hidden. 16 Gb will have to do if you want to use G75. I don't think there is someone who got past this "limit".

There is an option to try 2x8 Gb modules + the 2x4 Gb it already has. Might work.

Berte
08-04-2012, 09:18 AM
Even if "he" can, you will most likely void warranty. There are 4 modules. 2 are hidden. 16 Gb will have to do if you want to use G75. I don't think there is someone who got past this "limit".

There is an option to try 2x8 Gb modules + the 2x4 Gb it already has. Might work.

So you mean every G75 has a 2 hidden modules ? in that case if it's a 16Gb 1600Mhz i can add 2 additional Ram (2X 8GB 1600Mhz) to make it 32GB 1600Mhz ?

c_man
08-04-2012, 09:21 AM
That is if it will have from factory 2x8 and not 4x4. I don't think it will have 8 Gb modules.

Berte
08-04-2012, 09:24 AM
Tell me should i buy this one ? http://www.ebay.com/itm/ASUS-G75VW-DS73-3D-2-70-3-70GHz-i7-3820QM-32GB-1-75TB-Blu-Ray-3GB-NVidia-670M-3D-/280894682768?pt=Laptops_Nov05&hash=item4166a0b690

c_man
08-04-2012, 09:46 AM
That is the top of the line I think.

Why would you ask me? Is it 32 GB (4 x 8GB) DDR3 1333MHz? It does not matter that much.

Zygomorphic
08-04-2012, 10:15 AM
Newegg is a great retailer to buy from, the prices are good and the shipping is fast. 16 GB is likely to be 4x4 GB, not 2x8 GB, but you would have to ask the seller. To prevent lying, ask him to post pics from memtest86+ (which works on x64 too :)).