PDA

View Full Version : How to show temp in fahrenheit



hobogoblin
08-08-2012, 04:59 PM
I'm going nuts looking through all the setting but I can't get it to show the temp in Fahrenheit, will only show in Celsius.

Any help would be grateful.

HiVizMan
08-08-2012, 05:27 PM
Welcome to the metric age. :)


What motherboard or application are you using or wanting to use. If you want to monitor in OS use a third party application and those you can set the temperature scale to either F or C.

hobogoblin
08-08-2012, 05:47 PM
Welcome to the metric age. :)


What motherboard or application are you using or wanting to use. If you want to monitor in OS use a third party application and those you can set the temperature scale to either F or C.

I'm using the Asus GPU Tweak & Monitor software that came with my Sabertooth z77 motherboard.

xeromist
08-08-2012, 06:25 PM
System temps are always measured in Celsius. As HVM noted there are a few applications which will allow you to see temps in F but there's really no point since the best reason to check temps is comparison (factory spec, other people, evaluating cooling products, etc) and all of that information is published in C. Do yourself the favor of thinking of hardware temps in C or you will constantly have to convert back & forth to communicate with the rest of the world.

If just for kicks you want to know what a temp is relative to another F measurement you can plug it into google for a quick one-off answer. "30c to f" for example (and the reverse works as well).

hobogoblin
08-08-2012, 06:36 PM
Thanks. Can someone tell me if 40 C is a good temp then?

xeromist
08-08-2012, 06:42 PM
That depends on what that temp is for and what kind of cooling is being used but for a stock mid range CPU at idle with air cooling that would be a good temp.

If you tell us about your system and whether that is an idle or load temp plus your ambient room temperature we could tell you more confidently.